We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible breakfast and over priced”

The Royal Quarter Cafe
Ranked #7,370 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Cafe, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Westminster
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible breakfast and over priced”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Undercooked bacon, lukewarm and insipid. The baked beans were awful, the egg was burned on the outside but the yolk was cold. For two breakfasts and two coffees over £30. If you are passing walk a bit further to the little cafes around the corner.Yuk

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Millycoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    95
    62
    40
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Convenient good food”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stopped in to grab something quick on our way to see the changing of the guard at Buckingham Palace. Carried out coffee and pastries. The scone I had was the best I had while visiting London. My daughter hated her latte.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went one morning for breakfast. Service was good enough, although I was shown to a table that still had the remains of someone else's breakfast on the floor. Get the dustpan and brush out!

Had Eggs Benedict which was cooked OK (eggs were still runny) but it was cold. Don't use cold ham direct from the fridge - warm it up under the grill first!

Too expensive for what it is.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caldini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went on a farewell group outing only to be highly disappointed by the whole experience. The bread was very dry and my cucumber sandwich consisted of a 1 cm slice, this was including the rind. We went for the High Tea with Champagne. Some of our group were served cloudy champagne and on questioning the quality of the product, we were told that this was organic. Going back to the Tea, the scones were not fully cooked in the middle and therefore inedible. We received no apology from the staff and left feeling that we had a bad experience. I have had High Tea before and would not consider going back to this Café.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Service wasn't good food worse”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Staying in London for 4 days decided to grab a bite to eat at this cafe. The food was shocking didn't eat it. They need to up their game

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3ofusAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Quarter Cafe also viewed

London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to The Royal Quarter Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing