We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive, but some things are worth paying for :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Courthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courthouse Hotel
Ranked #573 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expensive, but some things are worth paying for :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I loved this hotel. It's beautiful, staff are great, food is fab & it's history is intriguing! Specially if your a Stones fan :) You put your foot out the door & onto Carnaby street, your also facing Liberty's. So smack into shopping central. Lots of bars & restaurants on your doorstep & because of this, no need for taxi's or the sweltering underground. I love London, and for me this is London at it's best.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retro_luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    457
    281
    168
    121
See reviews for
207
609
66
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cyprus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Excellent location, you can walk to every major point in Soho/West end within 10 minutes. Our room automatically upgraded to a 'King' because it was our anniversary, was comfortable and quiet but there was a faint and peculiar smell every time you entered it, which I believe is because of a fault with the bathroom ventilation system, as I found the same smell in the public restrooms on the ground floor. Breakfast was good, but there were no fried eggs on display and the kitchen is behind closed doors so it's impossible to have rapport with the chef and order what you want, unless you speak to one of the waiters. Our room had an opening sash window with easy outside access that couldn't be locked! I would probably use it again but only for the location.

Room Tip: If you are celebrating something then mention it as you might get a free room upgrade. Rooms towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katchamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Location is perfect for central London. Convenient to the underground, shopping and restaurants. Next to a Marks & Spencer which is perfect for a quick snack or lunch. Loved the hotel. Got upgraded so had a lovely room with a nice view and big bathroom. Good continental breakfast which was included in our stay. Wifi connection was bad and we had trouble with it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaraH00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton,england
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

close to carnaby street,and oxford street and all the main shopping,very good breakfast and the rooms are not bad either,bit expensive but what do you expect for central london.
recommend to anybodyand would use again.
stayed 1 night in march,try it for yourself.

Room Tip: first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Horkesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I stayed here on my own for 1 night for a hen do. It was great. No queue on check-in, given a room on the 1st floor by the lifts. I spent the afternoon shopping and the location is perfect: pretty much opposite Liberty and 30 secs away from
Regent Street. Selfridges was a 10 min walk too. Upon my return I ordered room service and my meal was delivered 10 mins later by a very courteous member of staff. £16 for a cheeseburger and chips and a diet coke. Bed was comfy as well. I had breakfast in the Waiting Room which was not included, but cost £10 for eggs benedict which was wonderful. Totally recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

The good:
Location - Close to Oxford and Regent Streets, Carnaby Street right out the front door, and Oxford Circus tube very close by.
Quiet - Despite the location, very quiet, and I could sleep with my window open at night.
Staff - Quite pleasant and helpful.

The average:
Room - Had all the basics, but not many extras. TV got only a few channels and they were all fuzzy. Bathroom was typical British with a half wall for the shower, so it was easy to get water all over the bathroom.

The bad:
Odor - Room smelled bad, particularly one of the closets. Had the staff up several times to spray air freshener, but nobody ever tried to solve the problem permanently.
Internet - 15 pounds per day for Internet, and you can only use it with one device at a time (if you can figure out how to log off). Lost the connection many times. If you don't need to be working in your room, bring your device to Starbucks across the street and enjoy their free wireless (from BT OpenZone) along with your beverage.
Bath/Shower (combo) - Tub sloped and was slippery with nothing sturdy to hang onto while getting in and out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XOColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

This is a hotel that wins on location (especially for the London Palladium) as it's very central and easy to get to (Victoria Line willing). The first room we were given was small and very poorly furnished. The wardrobes surrounded the head of the bed, there were no bed lights and what could have been used for a bedside area was the other side of a panel of wood. We were given a room change without any fuss and this made me wonder why we were given the shoddy room in the first place. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel has a fascinating history. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask to see room first if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Sanctum Soho Hotel
#522 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Mayfair
No. 5 Maddox Street
No. 5 Maddox Street
#410 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#348 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#147 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courthouse Hotel

Property: Courthouse Hotel
Address: 19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Spa Hotel in London
#345 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Courthouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courthouse hotel is a 5 star luxury hotel ideally located in bustling Central London. Our hotel is situated where stylish Mayfair, fashionable Soho and the West End meet and is within walking distance of London's finest shopping streets, tourist attractions and theatreland. A stone's throw away from the famous Liberty London department store, this contemporary design hotel is situated in an old Grade II Listed Magistrates Court, retaining much of its original historical features but with a modern twist. With 116 spacious bedrooms & suites, a trendy cocktail bar, award winning restaurants, gorgeous spa, fitness centre and divine roof terrace, Courthouse Hotel is renowned for intuitive service and comprehensive facilities. Our West End restaurants and bar offer an English buffet breakfast, lunch in our brasserie, a dining experience in Silk which draws on historical references and cocktails created by our Mixologist in the bar. In the summer, exclusively book and enjoy a private BBQ on our roof terrace with views of the London skyline. To complete the full experience, Sanook Spa has all the facilities to help you relax, revitalize and refresh after a busy shopping trip or high-powered meeting. Courthouse Hotel offers a variety of meeting and party rooms for both social & business events. Make your special occasion truly unforgettable at the unique Courthouse Hotel London, where style meets sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courthouse Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel Courthouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing