We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very convenient place to stay”
Review of Courthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courthouse Hotel
Ranked #634 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 days. Hotel itself is an above average hotel (not outstanding!) but the location is great. Very close to metro, and shopping area. Also very safe in the evening. I stayed in a deluxe room, rooms do not have a view (unless you stay in a suit) and are not quite big but if you're looking for a hotel with perfect location, there you are.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imtravellingsoiexist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

I had booked expecting a 5 star hotel, but I was very disappointed. The staff were generally rude, not attentive and arrogant, and seemed to be happy to ignore guests (except in the breakfast room, where they were pretty good), there was no offer to help with my luggage on arrival or departure. The room seemed fairly clean, except from the bathroom, where the surround around the basin needed a real good scrub to remove the stains from previous guests, and the carpet under the desk which was in desperate need of replacement / repair.
The breakfast selection of hot food was pretty poor, with the bacon and sausage sitting in there own fat and the scrambled eggs were disgusting (they didn't even look right). I ordered the "traditional roast beef" from room service, when it turned up it was a few bits of fatty steak cut up, with stir fried veg and undercooked potato's and yorkshire pudding; I was obviously very disappointed but the person delivering the food didn't seem to care (he wouldn't even bring the food into the room, must be a dump and run policy).
I could not understand why the queen size bed had two single mattresses on it, it was incredibly uncomfortable especially for a couple to share.
My room was not made up until late afternoon which I also found inconvenient as we were waiting for fresh towels when we returned during the day to change.
I was constantly disturbed through the night by noise in the alleyway and the intermittently noisy AC system.
Whilst I was getting ready to leave (at 1050) I was disturbed by a hotel employee banging on the door asking if I would be much longer before I left; this really annoyed me as check out time was 12PM and the room was still mine.
The trip was pretty much ruined by the quality of this hotel, we always stay in 5 star hotels and had we known that this was so far beyond this mark we would have booked elsewhere. They do however still seem to be happy to charge 5 star prices for there 3 star product. The only real positive I have is the location for shopping.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel is perfectly located for shopping (although I hate shopping) and the shows and, of course, great restaurants. On arrival, however, the location gave me initial concerns as to the possible noise levels and disturbed sleep that might ensue, being so close to bars/theatres but, thankfully, my fears were unfounded and this simply was not the case. We had a front of hotel suite overlooking Liberty's and Carnaby Street and lit up like a Christmas tree but once ensconced in the comfortable and roomy bedroom, curtains drawn, we were not disturbed by neither light nor noise levels from the streets and bars below. The sound proofing is excellent.
The hotel has been converted from a former Magistrates Court and much to their credit, they have retained a lot of the character and features (including the converted cell seating in the bar area and the courtroom dining room where we took breakfast). This adds to the ambience and features of this well run hotel.
From check-in to check-out the reception, bar and waiting staff were all fantastic. Polite, courteous and cheerful they go about their business efficiently and effectively giving the overall impression that they are happy in their work and they are a credit to the hotel making our short stay pleasant.
The rooms, are spacious, clean and well designed as are the public spaces and the bar (servicing excellent cocktails and a fantastic club sandwich).
We are looking forward to another and this lovely hotel and it has definitely made it onto our list of places to stay on one of our frequent visits to London.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazz111_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My family and I have been visiting this hotel for 6 years, and have just spent a much anticipated long weekend at the Courthouse, where the service, cleanliness and general hospitality has always been exceptional and made a real difference to our experience.
I cannot describe therefore how thoroughly disappointed i am with my most recent visit. Some things have not changed, breakfast room staff helpful and friendly, everything else has from the absolutely dire approach to housekeeping to the lack of care and general courtesy of the bar staff. Every day I called housekeeping because they had not provided the basics, coffee, milk or towels being the general theme, dressing gowns threadbare, my 8 year old nephew makes the bed better, removal of hand towels and none replaced, in the communal toilets in the lobby I did not go in once when the bins weren't overflowing and loo rolls stacked on the floor rather than in the holder, bulbs gone in my room and communal areas, tables not wiped, I could go on. I am really surprised that the standards have slipped so badly having previously given really positive feedback about this hotel. I have gone from recommending it to friends and colleagues to now suggesting it is avoided. Location remains fantastic, but the standards alongside hospitality have slipped far from 5 star. It's sad that people save their hard earned money to have a pre Xmas treat only to be this disappointed. Advice to the Courthouse? Sort it out because I was not the only return guest who commented on this.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 410sarahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Really enjoyed our two nighter here...great service from the staff...location is the big one however right opposite carnaby street yet quiet and chilled.

What was left for Breakfast at 10am was a little Patchy and it could be improved on. Went for room service on second morning and it was fab.

My only gripe was the room service lady opening the door and walking in at 9.15am on our last morning...not great really!

All in all a great stay

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A very different hotel with three 'cells' in the bar. Good rooms of a good size in a terrific location within walking distance of most of the main attractions. Carnaby Street is right opposite this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keen-holidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A really lovely hotel. The rooms are great, the food is good and the staff are very helpful. The location is also excellent, just at the back of the Palladium. All good, especially the cocktails. Being a woman, i love comfort and a good nights rest - i got both....yea!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Sanctum Soho Hotel
#529 of 1,075 in London
595 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#37 of 1,075 in London
2,287 reviews
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#603 of 1,075 in London
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
No. 5 Maddox Street
No. 5 Maddox Street
#302 of 1,075 in London
175 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#51 of 1,075 in London
1,326 reviews
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#156 of 1,075 in London
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courthouse Hotel

Address: 19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Spa Hotel in London
#363 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £184 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Courthouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courthouse hotel is a 5 star luxury hotel ideally located in bustling Central London. Our hotel is situated where stylish Mayfair, fashionable Soho and the West End meet and is within walking distance of London's finest shopping streets, tourist attractions and theatreland. A stone's throw away from the famous Liberty London department store, this contemporary design hotel is situated in an old Grade II Listed Magistrates Court, retaining much of its original historical features but with a modern twist. With 116 spacious bedrooms & suites, a trendy cocktail bar, award winning restaurants, gorgeous spa, fitness centre and divine roof terrace, Courthouse Hotel is renowned for intuitive service and comprehensive facilities. Our West End restaurants and bar offer an English buffet breakfast, lunch in our brasserie, a dining experience in Silk which draws on historical references and cocktails created by our Mixologist in the bar. In the summer, exclusively book and enjoy a private BBQ on our roof terrace with views of the London skyline. To complete the full experience, Sanook Spa has all the facilities to help you relax, revitalize and refresh after a busy shopping trip or high-powered meeting. Courthouse Hotel offers a variety of meeting and party rooms for both social & business events. Make your special occasion truly unforgettable at the unique Courthouse Hotel London, where style meets sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courthouse Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel Courthouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing