We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even the staff say the service isn't 5 star!”
Review of Courthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courthouse Hotel
Ranked #574 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Even the staff say the service isn't 5 star!”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

I recently attended a function at this hotel which is in a great location but the quality of service is dire. With the exception of a couple of excellent waiters, the attitude and general lack of courtesy and service here was quite shocking. There are far too many better choices in London. Even the porter when I left told me he thought their service was poor...

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    463
    287
    170
    123
See reviews for
209
620
67
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I'm not gonna wast touch of my time on that place!
Superb building run and managed by the wrong peoples perhaps.......
Furnitures quality..........0
Bedroom cleaning........0
Bathroom style.............0
Reception service........0 not even able to organise a taxi in London???
And what the story of always having a bloody truck in the front of the building??

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LudoEpicur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Rzeszow, Poland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I'm not sure whether they actually have 5 stars or not, it doesn't say anywhere, but hotel is really nice, excellent location, with good breakfast. Comfortable beds, spacious rooms, pretty much everything what you might need from the hotel was ok. Internet connection is available, but highly priced, a bit of a shame.

We had series of problems, all of them related to the staff. Specifically, we had 4 rooms for 6 people, all specified by the reservation, who should have what room. Pretty much all of that was messed up during checkin, a man named Mustafa, who managed to completely mixed all of the rooms. Apparently he didn't even read the reservation, nor comments. Also ignored completely the fact that we wanted some rooms for smokers.
That caused all sort of problems, we had wrong names for the rooms, so even when one of the door cards had to be exchanged, hotel couldn't match name to the room. That caused another series of problems during checkout, as we needed specific invoices and we had to call reception manager who finally was listening to what we needed. We had series of problems, all of them related to the staff. Specifically, we had 4 rooms for 6 people, all specified by the reservation, who should have what room. Pretty much all of that was messed up during check-in, a man named Mustafa, who managed to completely mixed all of the rooms. Apparently he didn't even read the reservation, nor comments. Also ignored completely the fact that we wanted some rooms for smokers.
That caused all sort of problems, we had wrong names assigned to the rooms, so even when one of the door cards had to be exchanged, hotel couldn't match name to the room. That caused even more problems during checkout, as we needed specific invoices and we had to call reception manager who finally was listening what we needed. All of that was completely unnecessary and easily could be avoided just by better staff training.

Room Tip: Just make sure you are getting a room which you reserved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel was so close to the London Palladium - literally steps away on Great Marlborough Street - that we spent time looking for it as couldn't believe it would be so close! Carnaby Street, Oxford Street and masses of lovely coffe/cake houses, restaurants etc are on the doorstep so felt that this was an incredibly good location for what we needed this trip. Just round the corner from the tube.

On entering we were immediately greeted, quickly checked in and up to our room (415). The foyer was attractive but the signing for the rooms was not too good. My heart sank when I saw we were next to the lift but as we were only staying for one night decided it wouldn't matter. In fact we didn't hear any noise at all from the lift.

The rooms themselves are quite compact but in London very little time would be spent in the room anyway. There was everything we needed and the 3 different areas - including the bathroom-were spotless. Great water pressure to the shower, large tub, big fluffy towels and robes in the wardrobe.

The hotel has only lost marks for a couple of things:

no where to hang a robe or towel whilst in the bathroom,
no reading lamps by the bed - if one person wanted to read all the bedroom lights were on
nowhere to plug the hairdryer in and look in a mirror whilst doing your hair unless you sat on the floor in front of a full lenght mirror just inside the door - which I did!

We had problems with the bed as the mattress was so hard but this is always personal preference and, once asleep, stayed asleep.

Lovely virgin bloody mary in the bar - with the celery and not a problem to get as much ice as we needed for our room. Good suggestions for Sunday brunch from the concierge - who wants to pay £24.95 in the hotel?!

Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 days. Hotel itself is an above average hotel (not outstanding!) but the location is great. Very close to metro, and shopping area. Also very safe in the evening. I stayed in a deluxe room, rooms do not have a view (unless you stay in a suit) and are not quite big but if you're looking for a hotel with perfect location, there you are.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imtravellingsoiexist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I had booked expecting a 5 star hotel, but I was very disappointed. The staff were generally rude, not attentive and arrogant, and seemed to be happy to ignore guests (except in the breakfast room, where they were pretty good), there was no offer to help with my luggage on arrival or departure. The room seemed fairly clean, except from the bathroom, where the surround around the basin needed a real good scrub to remove the stains from previous guests, and the carpet under the desk which was in desperate need of replacement / repair.
The breakfast selection of hot food was pretty poor, with the bacon and sausage sitting in there own fat and the scrambled eggs were disgusting (they didn't even look right). I ordered the "traditional roast beef" from room service, when it turned up it was a few bits of fatty steak cut up, with stir fried veg and undercooked potato's and yorkshire pudding; I was obviously very disappointed but the person delivering the food didn't seem to care (he wouldn't even bring the food into the room, must be a dump and run policy).
I could not understand why the queen size bed had two single mattresses on it, it was incredibly uncomfortable especially for a couple to share.
My room was not made up until late afternoon which I also found inconvenient as we were waiting for fresh towels when we returned during the day to change.
I was constantly disturbed through the night by noise in the alleyway and the intermittently noisy AC system.
Whilst I was getting ready to leave (at 1050) I was disturbed by a hotel employee banging on the door asking if I would be much longer before I left; this really annoyed me as check out time was 12PM and the room was still mine.
The trip was pretty much ruined by the quality of this hotel, we always stay in 5 star hotels and had we known that this was so far beyond this mark we would have booked elsewhere. They do however still seem to be happy to charge 5 star prices for there 3 star product. The only real positive I have is the location for shopping.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
335 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel is perfectly located for shopping (although I hate shopping) and the shows and, of course, great restaurants. On arrival, however, the location gave me initial concerns as to the possible noise levels and disturbed sleep that might ensue, being so close to bars/theatres but, thankfully, my fears were unfounded and this simply was not the case. We had a front of hotel suite overlooking Liberty's and Carnaby Street and lit up like a Christmas tree but once ensconced in the comfortable and roomy bedroom, curtains drawn, we were not disturbed by neither light nor noise levels from the streets and bars below. The sound proofing is excellent.
The hotel has been converted from a former Magistrates Court and much to their credit, they have retained a lot of the character and features (including the converted cell seating in the bar area and the courtroom dining room where we took breakfast). This adds to the ambience and features of this well run hotel.
From check-in to check-out the reception, bar and waiting staff were all fantastic. Polite, courteous and cheerful they go about their business efficiently and effectively giving the overall impression that they are happy in their work and they are a credit to the hotel making our short stay pleasant.
The rooms, are spacious, clean and well designed as are the public spaces and the bar (servicing excellent cocktails and a fantastic club sandwich).
We are looking forward to another and this lovely hotel and it has definitely made it onto our list of places to stay on one of our frequent visits to London.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazz111_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Sanctum Soho Hotel
#512 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Mayfair
No. 5 Maddox Street
No. 5 Maddox Street
#377 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#348 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#125 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courthouse Hotel

Property: Courthouse Hotel
Address: 19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Spa Hotel in London
#344 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Courthouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courthouse hotel is a 5 star luxury hotel ideally located in bustling Central London. Our hotel is situated where stylish Mayfair, fashionable Soho and the West End meet and is within walking distance of London's finest shopping streets, tourist attractions and theatreland. A stone's throw away from the famous Liberty London department store, this contemporary design hotel is situated in an old Grade II Listed Magistrates Court, retaining much of its original historical features but with a modern twist. With 116 spacious bedrooms & suites, a trendy cocktail bar, award winning restaurants, gorgeous spa, fitness centre and divine roof terrace, Courthouse Hotel is renowned for intuitive service and comprehensive facilities. Our West End restaurants and bar offer an English buffet breakfast, lunch in our brasserie, a dining experience in Silk which draws on historical references and cocktails created by our Mixologist in the bar. In the summer, exclusively book and enjoy a private BBQ on our roof terrace with views of the London skyline. To complete the full experience, Sanook Spa has all the facilities to help you relax, revitalize and refresh after a busy shopping trip or high-powered meeting. Courthouse Hotel offers a variety of meeting and party rooms for both social & business events. Make your special occasion truly unforgettable at the unique Courthouse Hotel London, where style meets sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Courthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courthouse Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel Courthouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing