We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea in a court house!!”
Review of Courthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courthouse Hotel
Ranked #575 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Kent, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea in a court house!!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My son bought my wife and I afternonn tea at The Courthouse Hotel.
This was an excellent choice.
The staff could not have being more attentive. We were both very impressed with the service we received.
A really lovely Afternoon tea
I cannot recommend it highly enough,
If you get the same level of treatment you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaffer118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    463
    286
    170
    123
See reviews for
209
619
67
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a one night stay at the Courthouse Hotel. Although the location was superb, the staffs attitude and general unhelpfulness, was only exacerbated by the exorbitant prices in the bar, lack of tea/coffee facilities in the room. A complete lack of atmosphere in every area of the hotel. No offer of a newspaper in the morning, and for one night at £275, we would never stay there again. After staying at the Savoy, and the Hoxton this one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janet j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A very disappointing experience, looks are decieving! Very worn tired furniture, furnishings especially the carpet should just be burnt. The bed sagging and uncomfortable. A smell from the bathroom like no 5 star hotel should ever ever have in it anywhere - moldy sink and a floor drain that looked not unlike someone had thrown up in it not so long ago...lightbulbs blown etc etc Having read past reviews of this hotel afterward (note to self "read tripadvisor") and reading that the hotel is discribed as a "learning" hotel its pretty obvious no learning is going on...
On the plus side it is a great location and the staff were friendly and helpful - definitley book somewhere else

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Juliette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here for one night over a warm weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were upgraded on arrival to a larger room, overlooking the main road and the beautiful front of Liberty's. Couldn't fault the room at all, bar the slightly noisy air conditioning. Lovely bathroom, great shower and facilities. Very comfortable bed and widescreen TV. Perfect location for restaurants in Soho and Mayfair, lots of pretty little bars and pubs in the side streets. We really enjoyed the large foyer bar area with comfortable sofas to have a night cap too, and bar prices very reasonable. Check in and out was easy with very polite receptionists. Would go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmakmoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just spent a glorious weekend in London with a special friend and staying here was the perfect place to be! The room was incredible - spacious, well-decorated, clean and welcoming. Fantastic bathroom with a Jacuzzi bath....even though we didn't use it!! The room had everything you could wish for and the beds were huge and very, very comfy!!
All the staff from the moment we checked in early were amazing - friendly, polite, helpful and made it a perfect start to our weekend.
Great location too for exploring London - Carnaby Street opposite (but noise was not an issue) and within easy reach of Theatre Land and anywhere else you may want to visit!
We didn't use the restaurants as we planned to eat out, but they did look amazing! The bar in the lobby was incredibly reasonably priced compared to the pubs just outside, with good wine and friendly staff.
The only downside was that the roof top terrace bar was shut - we had really booked the hotel to go use that on the evening - we were gutted!! But in all seriousness, the rest of the hotel made up for that. We are looking forward to coming back and using the roof terrace bar though! We'd better start saving up!!
Overall, the perfect place for a perfect weekend - would 100% recommend it (try to get room 124 - was superb!!!).
Can we please have Room 124 when we return???? lol

Room Tip: Ask for room 124 - was perfect in every way!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveKi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
439 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had been given our ‘Virgin Experience’, 'Japanese Afternoon Tea' for two at the Courthouse Hotel as a present. When you think of a Japanese afternoon tea you might reasonably expect some sort of tea ceremony served by costumed staff in a Japanese tea room with instruction in eastern ‘tea etiquette’.
Sadly the reality at the Courthouse was more ‘Yo Sushi’ with a pot of ‘teabag’ tea served by (albeit charming) eastern European waiters in an old court room decorated with a few random eastern artefacts.
The setting is quirky being the old court room that once witnessed the trials of Oscar Wilde, Mick Jagger and John Lennon so that was interesting but hardly Japanese.
The ‘tea’ itself but nothing special.
Overall disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlintone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great location of this hotel for theatre-land and West End. The entrance doors to the hotel open automatically, so no struggling with luggage through doors. The hotel had kindly upgraded us when we arrived. The hotel bar has a lot of character from being the Magistrates Court. We were in room 459 which is a lovely spacious room, away from the lifts and was nice and quiet at the back of the hotel. We liked the size of the massive bed; the bathroom is clean and beautifully tiled; there are three options for showering/bathing - take a bath, fixed head shower, shower head with hose. The bathroom mirror in the window design is unusual and original. Bath robes and slippers are provided and also a decent hairdryer which was good. The bathroom toiletries are very nice. Very efficient check-in and check-out. Overall we had a lovely stay and would definitely stay here again. Looking forward to a return visit.
Drawbacks were:
The carpet could do with a bit of spot cleaning. The side of the bed nearest the window was like sleeping in a trough as the mattress was gone on that side and the bed headboard was strangely worn. Putting the bathroom light on during the night wakes up anyone sleeping in the bedroom, as the light shines through the window between the bathroom and the bedroom. A few other small things were: the clock radio was set to the wrong time (we think the battery was running out) and I couldn't figure out how to reset it. If we'd been staying longer I would have asked. A new plug socket in the bathroom doesn't quite sit right on the wall and has a gap at the top which is a shame as the bathroom is beautifully tiled. Could have done with a coat hook in the bathroom to hang the bathrobes on. We had room service and the base of our side table had not been dusted, but these are all small points, we would still stay at this hotel again as we really liked it.

Room Tip: Room 459 is a lovely big room that is nice and quiet at the back of the hotel, but the side of the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Comiccuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Sanctum Soho Hotel
#520 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Mayfair
No. 5 Maddox Street
No. 5 Maddox Street
#370 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#353 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#134 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courthouse Hotel

Property: Courthouse Hotel
Address: 19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Spa Hotel in London
#346 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Courthouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courthouse hotel is a 5 star luxury hotel ideally located in bustling Central London. Our hotel is situated where stylish Mayfair, fashionable Soho and the West End meet and is within walking distance of London's finest shopping streets, tourist attractions and theatreland. A stone's throw away from the famous Liberty London department store, this contemporary design hotel is situated in an old Grade II Listed Magistrates Court, retaining much of its original historical features but with a modern twist. With 116 spacious bedrooms & suites, a trendy cocktail bar, award winning restaurants, gorgeous spa, fitness centre and divine roof terrace, Courthouse Hotel is renowned for intuitive service and comprehensive facilities. Our West End restaurants and bar offer an English buffet breakfast, lunch in our brasserie, a dining experience in Silk which draws on historical references and cocktails created by our Mixologist in the bar. In the summer, exclusively book and enjoy a private BBQ on our roof terrace with views of the London skyline. To complete the full experience, Sanook Spa has all the facilities to help you relax, revitalize and refresh after a busy shopping trip or high-powered meeting. Courthouse Hotel offers a variety of meeting and party rooms for both social & business events. Make your special occasion truly unforgettable at the unique Courthouse Hotel London, where style meets sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courthouse Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel Courthouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing