We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“afternoon tea”
Review of Courthouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courthouse Hotel
Ranked #576 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“afternoon tea”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

we went here for a champagne lunch, the hotel looked very nice and the food was excellent the service was very good , we stayed about an hour so not much to say about the rest of the hotel the outside was in a tree line road with lots of shops and bars by it so they would be lots to do .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    464
    287
    171
    123
See reviews for
209
622
67
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a one night stop over in London before travelling into the country and we had booked a show in West End, so the location was absolutely perfect. The hotel was within walking distance of Buckinham Palace, Palace of Westminster and Trafalgar Square as well as being only a short walk from the theatres. Upon arrival we were met by a porter who took our bags and brought us into the hotel. The lobby was nicely furnished and the room was adequate although the bathroom was a little dirty. We paid $535 for a Superior Room and we were informed at reception that we had been given an upgrade. However, even though the room cost so much, we still had to pay for WiFi in the room which was a major sticking point. All in all, a very convenient place to stay, with comfortable furnishings, but just not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadyn36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is my third stay at the Courthouse and by far the worst. You can't beat the location, as it is down the street from my office and in the middle of a bustling area. The staff is great, but maintenance is highly lacking. There were large stains all over the carpet. As someone else noted, random couches are in the hallways. The hook for the shower head was broken. The shower sputtered water all over the bathroom and created a mini-flood each morning. We were on the side facing an alley and there was trash clanging every night. Also wired internet was available for a (high) cost. When I called to ask about wifi, I was told that I would need to wait until Maintenance came in the next morning so they could bring a router to my room.

If I had found another hotel that could accommodate me and my family on short notice, I would have gladly moved. We stayed for a few days at a value hotel in another part of town and it was much friendlier and more comfortable. It also cost in dollars what this place cost in GBP under a corporate rate!

I will not be returning, for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyVacation15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, and a great location for a London stay. When I stayed at this hotel there was some building work being carried out, disruption was however kept to a minimum. I upgraded to a suite which was extremely nice, very impressed with the building and thr shower was good. breakfast is small but well presented. The staff are helpful and friendly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simmokj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

When we initially found the hotel we were surprised by how centralised it was within London which for us was an added bonus. We were 1hour 30 mins early for our check in and was really hoping to drop our bags off, luckily the receptionist handed us the keys and said our room was ready which was a great result. We were told that our room had been upgraded- extra result. Unfortunately as we went upstairs you could instantly see the faults, or should I say un expected surprises. The carpets were either frayed/ripped and also looked dirty, as we walked down the corridor we were excited to see our 'upgraded' room. The room was very brown and leather looking, once again inadequate carpets, a mini bar with a door that wouldn't shut properly, a chair with spikes poking out which i must add went straight into my hip ripping a small hole into my dress. Our view was basically a backstreet dead end, garages and constant noise that sounded like smashing glass that went on throughout until early hours of the morning. We failed to understand how this was an upgrade and couldn't work out how bad it would have been in the original room we had booked. The bed was two single mattresses put together which is one of my pet peeves and there was a lack of suitable pillows (one huge brown thing and a couple thick & heavy white pillows) Nothing that compared to our previous stay in London at another hotel. The wardrobes lacked hangers and the little things such as a pen would have been handy (they provide paper but no pen). The shower was confusing, there was a normal shower head in it's usual place and then a shower head on the lower left hand side at knee length and then a huge tap back against the wall, so all in all there wasn't much room to stand unless you get prodded by taps or extra shower heads which ideally weren't required. The wifi wasn't included in the room (very rare you have to pay on top now a days, should have been included). In all honesty me and my partner aren't fussed about the nitty gritty aspects of a hotel however when we paid £200 for a nice night in London we sort of expect better quality- the pictures on their website are far, far too flattering of the hotel itself; it's somewhat misleading. The breakfast we were very excited about and unfortunately we missed our alarm and so we headed down at around 9ish. To our surprise it wasn't a 'cook fresh breakfast' they had heaters with cooked food in (your standard fry up). The bacon was hard and layers of grease on (may I add that it was cold), the mushroom were watery and cold and lacked flavour bar loads * loads of salt, there were no fried eggs only scrambled, sausages were piled in their hundreds even though there was around 3 occupied tables, beans were warm and the hash browns were cold and chewy. I must add that from 9 & 10:30 which is when we were sat int he rbeakfast room, not once did they replace the cooked food, all they did was replace the heated burners which kept the food 'hot'. The standards were very low on this occassion and we couldn't comprehend why they couldn't cook the breakfasts as and when guests required them. This was not what we expected and if we had a choice we would have not paid for it. Scary to think they charge in excesss of £20 per person for their 'cooked' breakfasts. The cold items were 'OK', warm OJ & milk, mountains of un touched fruit, bread was okay- very standard and the toaster either undercooked it or singed the crusts. Cups of tea were average also. One thing I will compliment is the staff, they were always on hand to collect un used items or dirty plates etc and also very welcoming. The receptionist definitely was always there at point of call and very polite. We used the concierge also which was very hand and didn't cost- added bonus. Overall we will not be using this hotel again, I think some issues need to be seriously looked at in regards to standards of their food and also health and safety of the rooms. It's fortunate that we had a great time in London and didn't let the room get us down.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

If you are interested in shopping, this is in a wonderful area. The hotel, however was a disappointment. There were couches in the hallways which also were covered with sawdust. Our room faced the street and it was one of the worst nights of sleep I have had. The staff was friendly enough but some had such heavily accented English I couldn't understand them. Carnaby Street is right across the road from the hotel and the crowds late into the night were loud, followed by street cleaners and garbage pickup. I didn't need the wake up service to catch my flight. Wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mstewol01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhyl, north wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We enjoyed a very nice stay at the courthouse hotel this past weekend,very quick check in as the room was ready early,very courteous staff,
Room facilities were good aswell,enjoyed the bar area,very quirky with the jail cells converted into seating areas,
All in all a very nice stay and would visit again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Sanctum Soho Hotel
Sanctum Soho Hotel
#513 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Mayfair
No. 5 Maddox Street
No. 5 Maddox Street
#376 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#348 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#135 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courthouse Hotel

Property: Courthouse Hotel
Address: 19-21 Great Marlborough Street, London W1F 7HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Spa Hotel in London
#346 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Courthouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courthouse hotel is a 5 star luxury hotel ideally located in bustling Central London. Our hotel is situated where stylish Mayfair, fashionable Soho and the West End meet and is within walking distance of London's finest shopping streets, tourist attractions and theatreland. A stone's throw away from the famous Liberty London department store, this contemporary design hotel is situated in an old Grade II Listed Magistrates Court, retaining much of its original historical features but with a modern twist. With 116 spacious bedrooms & suites, a trendy cocktail bar, award winning restaurants, gorgeous spa, fitness centre and divine roof terrace, Courthouse Hotel is renowned for intuitive service and comprehensive facilities. Our West End restaurants and bar offer an English buffet breakfast, lunch in our brasserie, a dining experience in Silk which draws on historical references and cocktails created by our Mixologist in the bar. In the summer, exclusively book and enjoy a private BBQ on our roof terrace with views of the London skyline. To complete the full experience, Sanook Spa has all the facilities to help you relax, revitalize and refresh after a busy shopping trip or high-powered meeting. Courthouse Hotel offers a variety of meeting and party rooms for both social & business events. Make your special occasion truly unforgettable at the unique Courthouse Hotel London, where style meets sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courthouse Doubletree By Hilton Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel London
Doubletree Hotel Courthouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing