We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but funny smell of damp.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Avenue Baker Street
Ranked #105 of 574 London B&B and Inns
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good location but funny smell of damp.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I booked the hotel for location only. When I arrived I was shown to a building across the road separate from the main hotel. It really is a building with rooms rather than a hotel.
The small room I had was in the basement and it was nicely fitted out, but there was an overpowering smell of damp in the bathroom.
I would certainly stay again for a room but would make sure it wasn't below ground.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    113
    50
    27
    13
See reviews for
22
89
33
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

High spec room nicely appointed with everything you could need hidden away in every nook and cranny. Just enough room to walk around the bed. Welcome bottle of water and good tea and coffee making facilities. Super shower but it didn't drain well although the staff were very pleasant when we reported the fault. couldn't get the telephone to work to ring reception. The porters were very helpful constantly fetching and carrying bags across the road and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They held on to our luggage whilst we were out and about and gave us room to change on our return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes
Level Contributor
139 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed on first floor in main building,some rooms across street.Hotel is very convieniently placed less than five minutes walk from Baker Street tube station and Regent's Park.No lift but staff carry cases upstairs.Room small but modern,clean and well eqipped including a microwave,safe, tea,coffee and a free bottle of water.Small empty fridge also in room.Bathroom with shower also modern and clean.Breakfast was included in the price of £152 per night,but unfortunately hot food was not available until later due to problems with gas??{perhaps chef was late? }Fair selection of cold food on offer.Reception staff pleasant and helpful.Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from busy road at front of hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerCleethorpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danish T, Guest Relations Manager at Park Avenue Baker Street, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us.

We are pleased to hear that your overall stay with us was comfortable and extremely disappointed that you had to miss the hot breakfast due to the fault in the kitchen in the early hours. Please accept our sincere apologies. Please be assured that every effort has been made to avoid these circumstances in future.

We look forward to have you again to be able to demonstrate our quality service to you.

Kind Regards
Danish T
Park Avenue Baker Street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Park Avenue Baker Street hotel for a night whilst visiting London. The room was very nice and really modern with large tv and monsoon shower! Only 5 mins walk from Baker Street tube and we also walked to London zoo in about 20 mins. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynney500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
418 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed for one night and I got a good price. The hotel is centrally situated, it is easy to get to places across London. My room was clean and functional, WIFI was free which was welcome.
Here are some points which may put you off the place: (1) the hotel is distributed across a number of houses in the street. My room (No 9) was situated in a building across the road from the main reception. Entry was via your room key. If you are worried about security this may be a turn off, I prefer to walk past a reception desk which monitors entry into the building. (2) the rooms on the groundfloor are at street level, there are barriers in front of the windows but you have to go to sleep with the curtains closed. (3) Gloucester Place is quite a busy road - if you prefer to sleep with your window open, you'll get the noise from the street until the early hours of the morning (4) there was no lift - which was not a problem for me (I was on the groundfloor) - but it may be a problem if you have mobility problems (or a heavy suit case).
I didn't try their breakfast and I didn't make use of any facilities, UI used it for a one night stopover which met my requirements.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ACL3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here this week (13th-14th May 2014) for 1 night.

This is probably a standard London hotel, and really amongst the average ones I have been to. Here is a summary of the good and bad points:

Good:
- Location: 7 minute walk to Baker street station, which is ideally placed as it links the Bakerloo, Jubilee, Circle and Metropolitan lines. This means that pretty much everything is easily accessible without numerous tube changes.
- Cleanliness: the hotel is quite clean, I certainly had no issues with it
- Bed: comfortable and large enough to sleep two very easily.

Bad:
- We were on the third floor, so this meant around 70-80 stair walk each time we wanted to get to the room.
- The building we stayed in was across the road from the main reception area. This was not really problematic except for when checking in - we had to carry the cases across the road.


Overall:
- I would recommend this place since it comes in at the lower end of my London hotel budget (£140 per night) if you get a good deal. I booked through booking.com - although possible to get it cheaper elsewhere too.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on a lower floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We arrived quite late for our stop over.
We checked in at reception and had to be taken across the road to our room but not a big deal.
When we got into the room it was quite small but ok and cleanish.
The bathroom was well equipted and had lovely toiletries but the shower cubicle was not the cleanest
Plenty of canned drinks and water which were complimentary which is a nice touch also
View was very poor just a brick wall

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Dorset Square Hotel
Dorset Square Hotel
#335 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Marylebone
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#656 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#405 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel London
Nottingham Place Hotel London
#625 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Marylebone
Travelodge London Central Marylebone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Avenue Baker Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Avenue Baker Street

Property: Park Avenue Baker Street
Address: 173 Gloucester Place, London NW1 6DX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 574 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Avenue Baker Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Avenue Baker Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing