We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absorbing walk in the city which inspired Orwell”

George Orwell's London - A Walking Tour
Ranked #243 of 673 Tours in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our tour begins at Great Portland Street Tube Station and takes us through well-known parts of the West End, before finishing at Rathbone Place (close to Oxford Street). The tour lasts approximately two and a half hours, and includes a free copy of Orwell's classic Politics and the English Language.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“absorbing walk in the city which inspired Orwell”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Diarmaid is a lovely fellow who knows the material. the walk was informative and interesting. As an Orwell fan, learning about Blair's life in london ties in with many dots in his novels and essays. A must-do for any Orwell fan

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We all need a pocket Diarmaid to guide us round London.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Thank you Diarmaid! it was the best tour I had ever been on. How lovely to meet fellow Orwell fans, and to be able to talk about his works and his personal life. It's fun to hear short, but apt passages from the author's books, read aloud by Diarmaid in the street, whilst standing opposite buildings in Orwell's life which inspired him.
Well, our knowledgeable tour guide has now inspired me to re read '1984'. I loved the idea of being led to the writer's favourite pub at the end of the relaxed, but informative tour. I would say that this tour is good for adults who have read and enjoyed quite a few of Orwell's books, but especially '1984'. I am looking forward to reading my little Orwell book which was included in the price of the tour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Footsore2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

A wonderful informative tour given by someone who clearly loves and understands Orwell completely. Interesting asides, anecdotes and discussions of the great man's work made for a riveting and lovely and thoroughly engaging experience

Helpful?
2 Thank citybreakjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful way to see the West End”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

My word, Diarmaid really knows his stuff! Fascinating insights about London the city and Orwell the man, finishing up in one of his favourite watering holes for a drink with our tour guide.

Diarmaid encourages questions and is incredibly knowledgeable about Orwell, his work, and his politics. Particularly interesting were the sources of inspiration for 1984 lurking in perfectly innocent London locations, and Orwell's strong opinions on pubs and pub life.

A wonderful way to spend a morning, and to get your bearings around the West End. Oh, and there's a free book too!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“George Orwell walk 9 February 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Brilliant! A good walk and so informative about Orwell. Also met some really friendly people with similar interests. And the walk finished with a chat in the pub.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George Orwell's London - A Walking Tour also viewed

 

Been to George Orwell's London - A Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing