We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour of Bath and Stonehenge”

Ye Olde England Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$120.52*
and up
Private Sherlock Holmes Walking Tour in London
More Info
US$133.91*
and up
Private 3-hour Harry Potter Walking Tour of London
More Info
US$120.52*
and up
Private Tour: Jack the Ripper Day Time Walking Tour in London
Ranked #133 of 716 Tours in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private guided tours to cultural and historic sights throughout London and Southeast England. We offer a number of pre-set tours but can offer a bespoke tour for no extra charge. We will collect you from your hotel and provide drinks & light refreshments. All costs for the day are included (except for shop or restaurant bought services) & you will be returned to your hotel at the end of your trip.
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Since we didn't want to try navigating a car around England we decided to hire a tour guide. Our hotel concierge recommended Stephen Liddell of Ye Olde England Tours. He picked us up right on time and spent the entire day showing us around. We really wanted to see Bath and Stonehenge which were both fantastic. Stephen also took us to Lacock for a quick tour and Chilten for dinner at a pub. It is obvious that Stephen loves history and was able to share lots of facts with us. Since we were in the car a good part of the day going between sites, we had a lovely conversation and he answered our questions on English politics, school system, the monarcy, etc, All in all it was a fun day and well worth the money spent to let someone else do the driving as well as being very knowledgeable.

1  Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YeOldeEnglandTours, Owner at Ye Olde England Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2014

Thank-you for your kind review. It was a wonderful day out wasn't it? I am so glad that you both had a good time time out at Bath and Stonehenge. Lacock is always a interesting place to visit especially in the nice weather that we had. It was lovely to meet you both and I hope the wedding went well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stephen Liddell was exactly the tour guide we needed to enhance our July 2014 tour of the British Isles. Over a three-day period, he transported us, while touring along the way. We covered a lot of ground in those three days and he did a great job of making certain we were able to get to each one of these places with enough time to enjoy the experiences. The largest chunk of our trip was spent on a 10-day Celebrity cruise of the British Isles (also wonderful and recommended!), but Stephen also helped us with that, by transporting us to and from the port, which was in Harwich, a 2+ hour drive from London. On our arrival day, he picked us up at Heathrow early in the morning, drove us to St. Albans and Sutton Hoo for quick visits, and got us to our ship in plenty of time before we sailed. My favorite day with Stephen was right after the cruise, when he picked us up at the port early in the morning and we had tour stops at Hampton Court Palace and Highclere Castle. Wonderful history in both beautiful places! A refreshing picnic lunch on the grounds of Highclere was just what we needed to keep us going through our busy afternoon. Afterward, he dropped us at the door of our hotel in Windsor. Bright and early the next morning, Stephen picked us up again and we ventured to Bath, Stonehenge, and Lacock Village. Another delicious picnic at Stonehenge held us through another full day of touring, before heading back to our Windsor hotel. It was a lovely trip all around and we are thankful to Stephen for helping us simplify our plans by providing both transportation to/from our cruise and the knowledgeable guidance we needed to make our stops with him most educational and fun. He knows the history of the area and has many stories to tell about it! His fees are fair and much more reasonable than many other guides I looked into. Also, he has been very patient with us over the months of planning this trip, as we tweaked and made changes fairly regularly. His positive, friendly attitude will make him your friend, as well as your tour guide. Thanks, Stephen, for a fabulous trip!

1  Thank sdrellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YeOldeEnglandTours, Owner at Ye Olde England Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

One of the best aspects of this job is that I get to meet some amazingly wonderful people. It was such a pleasure to take you both around southern England during those 3 days, especially with such incredible weather. I'm so glad that I helped give you a dream holiday. I will always remember our days out too, particularly to Hampton Court and Highclere Castle. Downton Abbey will never be the same again! Many thanks for your great comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have just had a great 4 hours tour with Stephen. It was meant to be a Sherlock-Tour, which we booked for our youngsters (as they are fans of the modern Sherlock). During the trip we asked Stephen to mix it a little bit with historic infos to London to the important areas we anyway passed on our tour. That was a real great mix for our youngsters and the oldies, Stephen gave us lots of infos and everybody was very happy and satisfied.
We highly recommend Stephen and we will for sure contact him for another tour, when we are back in London.
Thanks a lot!

1  Thank Nina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YeOldeEnglandTours, Owner at Ye Olde England Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

It was a real pleasure to take you and your lovely family on a walking tour of London. I'm so glad that you had such a good time. Your kind comments a greatly appreciated. Hope to see you all again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stephen Liddell was a thorough professional from the time of conception of our trip to its completion. He came highly recommended to me from another friend of mine who had used his services on their trip to London for ten days. I was not disappointed about the recommendation and would gladly do so for others looking for Guide services in London and around in the future.

Stephen had planned our trip for three days to the city based on our interests and was also flexible. We were a family of five touring London for three days. He did the walking tour of the main sights in the city, the Tower Bridge, Tower of London and the Windsor Castle with short side trip to Bakers (Sherlock), and the Wembley stadium. He would arrive at our hotel for pickup and take us around with his cheerful disposition and eagerness and willingness in his attitude to share and help with his vast repertoire of knowledge about the English history.

He was also very kind enough to provide outline for a couple other cities in our itinerary which proved to be useful and came in handy. My teenage son particularly wished we had him provide his expertise while we were visiting other cities in Europe. That pretty much says it all !!
.

3  Thank SathyaSri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YeOldeEnglandTours, Owner at Ye Olde England Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Sathya, it was such a pleasure to be your guide for those 3 days and I'm pleased my guide to Paris was a help too. You have such a nice family and you were all a lot of fun to show around London and Windsor. Thank-you for your kind words and it was really nice to meet you. Thanks also for your gifts, a very unexpected surprise and something my wife and I have been using almost every day since. Do say Hi to everyone for me!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Highly recommended! stephen liddell has become a friend after travelling with him for only a day ,his knowledge was extremely useful and upto our expectations ,i was travelling with my family and all of us thought he was of great help and not only that he is a great human being so... Thank you stephen

Thank rajvlru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YeOldeEnglandTours, Owner at Ye Olde England Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Raja! thanks for your kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you and show you around the London streets, inside some of the sights and also our day out in Windsor too. It's always nice to make a new friend and I have already put your photography tips to good use! Hope to see you again one day in the U.K. or India!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ye Olde England Tours also viewed

 

Been to Ye Olde England Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing