We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail!”
Review of Morton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morton Hotel
Ranked #69 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

In life, it's always the little things that count. Be they the really annoying little habits that drive us crackers or, in the case of The Morton Hotel, the little details that have gone into virtually every aspect of this new boutique style hotel in London.

The Morton is a quiet and peaceful oasis of tranquility set in a fantastic location in Bloomsbury. Just 10 minutes from Euston and Kings Cross and only 15 minutes from the heart of Covent Garden.

We arrived on a very early train at 8am so walked to the hotel hoping to drop off our cases and begin our day in the City. To our amazement however, our room was ready so we checked in and unpacked 6 hours earlier than we had anticipated.

From the moment we entered the hotel it became apparent that the owners here are trying to do things differently. The understated minimalist entrance leads you to a lift which, initially, can only move in one direction - down and to reception. A simple and friendly check in gives you a key card and access to the higher floors of the hotel.

Our room, on the top floor was one of the nicest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in and it's in the guest areas that you can really pick up on the attention to details. From the smooth, warm faux wooden floors to the thick crisp cotton sheets it is obvious that no expense has been spared. The rooms have large flat screen tv's on the walls and a complete Sky TV package. There's also a small clock radio cube and plenty of plug sockets for chargers and straighteners etc!!! Our room didn't have a bath but a large open plan walk in shower unit with a rain shower head which meant that I really didn't want to get out once i had got in!!! However, when I did finally prise myself out, I was able to wrap myself in large, soft bath sheets that discretely bore the hotels monogram. That monogram carries the brand throughout and can be seen on the wallpaper, staff uniforms and as etchings on the glass doors. The hotel has drawn its main inspiration from authors with book references through out and the random collections of framed pictures and book covers on the walls definitely adds to the hotels quiet and quirky atmosphere.

The Morton doesn't offer a restaurant but does have a room service menu and serves a continental breakfast in the mornings ( we stayed room only so I can't comment on the food)

As for negatives, there are a couple but let's not forget that the hotel has only been open for 3 months and it would be insane not to expect a few teething problems;

We had pre-paid for our room so didn't need to provide a credit card at check in. This then meant a rather confusing process for ordering drinks in the bar. Rather than charging them to the room and paying the bill upon checkout. We had to prepay a sum of money that we thought would cover any extras that we wanted to charge to the room and then we had to ask for the balance to be refunded to our card at checkout. I'm sure though, that in time, the hotel will adopt the tried and tested method we're all accustomed to!!

Similarly the reception/bar area has plenty of tables and comfy chairs and is a lovely place to while away the time. However, for a hotel with such strong literary references throughout, it's a crying shame that they haven't thought of adding a bookshelf, a daily paper or magazine or two for guests to flick through!

All in all, my criticisms are pretty trivial and didn't spoil a lovely relaxing break and provided a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of London. The hotel were also happy to store our luggage all day until we were ready to head to Euston. Unlike many hotels, they do charge 50p per item but in the grand scheme of things £1 was a small price to pay to know that we could pop back to the hotel on our way to the station and didn't need to haul our cases around London all day!

In summary, the Morton is a hidden gem but my guess is that it won't stay hidden for long so take advantage and visit sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kazzy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share such positive comments. Rewarding feedback is always welcome, and more importantly incentivises us to maintain our standards.

Please accept our apologies for any confusion caused at check-in when pre-authorising your card for the room charges. As your booking had been pre-paid through a third party agent, we were not holding any of your payment details, hence we needed the pre-authorisation to cover any sundries.

We have also noted your comments regarding the breakfast and are currently reviewing our breakfast options including the idea of offering our guests English Breakfast at one of our neighbouring sister hotels, all of which are between 3 and 5 minutes on foot from the Morton Hotel.

Ultimately, following your suggestion, the Library has recently been equipped with books for our Guests to flick through and explore the history of the beautiful Bloomsbury area and its rich cultural heritage.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you again for your constructive post.

Kind regards,

Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Morton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

This hotel is a hidden gem right opposite Russell Square. Myself and 7 of my girlfriends shared a combination of bedrooms and 2 bedroom apartments. A lot of thought has gone into the layout and configuration of these rooms. They are fab, equipped with everything you need. The decor is stunning, staff very friendly and helpful. We caused them a bit of extra work due to one of our group becoming ill, which they absolutely took in their stride. Thank you Morton Hotel.

Room Tip: Families can choose a two bedroom apartment which has a lounge area I between and a kitchenette, or...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I am pleased to hear that our staff were able to assist you with your requirements and that you all enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you all back again.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Have visited the Imperial Hotel nearby before but on a slightly more generous budget this time, we saw this place, only just opened.
What a find!! Stunningly restored property in which we had conjoined apartments which proved a hit with both us and the kids. All mod cons, inc kitchen and several wall-mounted flat screen TVs, luxury beds and huge amount of space, all for less than 200 quid per night. The basement reception area is lovely in itself, staff were discreet but friendly. Considering its prime location, an absolute bargain!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fazzatastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and your stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you all back in the near furture.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here on their advance booking deal, which made a mid-week stay reasonably priced for a hotel of this quality in the area. Our Bloomsbury room wasn't huge, but really nicely done and an excellent shower room, while the entire hotel is newly and stylishly presented. Windows which opened as well as A/C. Free wifi. For a quiet night, ask for a room at the back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you are bothered by street noise.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EllenT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The hotel was everything it sets out to be - a convenient, comfortable experience with excellent, personal service, with flair and a touch of luxury, and value for money (although I found the continental breakfast a bit sparse). The location isn't only convenient, it's expressed in the beautifully restored house that reveals its roots in the Bloomsbury of Virginia Woolf.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is an outstanding boutique hotel in the heart of Russell Square. Very chic and all brand new, great staff and great location. V comfy beds. Would def recommend to business men and tourists alike. We arrived late but room service wasn't a problem. We were given a fine bottle of wine in our room as a gift. The hotel was fully booked but we still felt we were the only guests - nice private breakfast. Would def book again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alice m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights during the August Bank Holiday. We were amazed at how close the Hotel was to Russell Square tube stop and how accessible it was to many London attractions. Most of them were easily walkable. The Hotel is in a nice, failry quiet area, yet near many restaurants.

On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and even given a beautiful bouquet of flowers and box of expensive chocolates as an anniversary gift from the Hotel. Our room was lovely and luckily cleaned every day during our stay.

Breakfast in the lounge always felt cosy and intimate due to the setting and the fact that there were rarely other guests. We were also attended to extremely well by the enthusiastic breakfast staff. The staff are an absolute credit to the Hotel and made us feel comfortable and special.

I would stay here again and recommend this Hotel to anyone looking for a classy and romantic break.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sh3lldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#78 of 1,072 in London
1,782 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#128 of 1,072 in London
1,240 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,072 in London
3,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#64 of 1,072 in London
1,612 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#307 of 1,072 in London
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morton Hotel

Address: 2 Woburn Place, London WC1H 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £155 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morton hotel has 34 rooms all lovingly furnished with individual charm, to create a comfortable space with a relaxing ambience. Choose between our decorative twin/double bedrooms or our unique one and two bedroom apartments all comprising of sizeable en-suites with shower or bath tub, heated towel rails and under floor heating.All rooms are fitted with 42" flat screen TV and Sky, in room safe, air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi access, iPod docking station, telephone, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms are serviced daily and our Reception is available 24 hours. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing