We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel but failures in basic service. Hugely disappointed”
Review of Morton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morton Hotel
Ranked #61 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I booked this hotel relying heavily on the reviews here.

Yes, the hotel was lovely, the bed comfortable, the welcome friendly the room as I had asked for near a lift. Beautiful room, superb decor.

My stay was for one night only for a business trip. I was rather startled as I was dressing for breakfast when the room cleaner (male) knocked on my door, then entered and backed out again. I went to the door and he said he wished to clean the room.

I pointed out I had till 11 to vacate when I received a muttered apology That is the second time recently that a similar incident has occurred in a London Hotel.

Breakfast was a huge disappointment. I went and was invited to be seated. Other parties, mainly of men were offered beverages and shown where everything was on the buffet. I detected discrimination against the lone female traveler.

Had I known I would not have prepaid breakfast.

I had to almost demand coffee and breakfast service and left feeling disappointed and upset. Won't be staying again as whilst the hotel wasn't expensive neither was it cheap.

The traffic noise was fairly loud which I had expected after reading other reviews.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsChrisW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

We were delighted to note that you thought the hotel was beautiful, the bed comfortable and that you received a warm welcome.

Equally, we were concerned by your other comments. We do have "Do Not Disturb" signs in all our rooms to ensure our guests are not disturbed and following your comments our front desk will point this out to our guests during the check in process. We have spoken to the team who are devastated by the idea they could have made you feel discriminated against, they work hard to ensure the comfort of our guests at all times and we can assure you they would never discriminate against anyone.

Assuring you of our best intentions at all times.

Best wishes,

Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Morton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Quiet hotel with excellent staff in great London location, very close to Picadilly Line. Rooms have all been recently renovated. Good value for money in expensive London.

Despite being on busy street, rooms are quiet at night. Nice continental breakfast available (at extra charge) but also lots of other options available in the area

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CCNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about the Morton Hotel.

We are happy to notice that our sound insulation system is guaranteeing our Guests enjoy a tranquil night's sleep even in such a central location.

Equally, our staff felt very motivated by your pleasing remarks, and welcomed your observations about the breakfast and the excellent value The Morton offers in such a central location.

We look forward to your next visit to the Morton Hotel.

Kind regards,

Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Lovely hotel, hidden affordable gem of a boutique hotel, on the corner of Russell Square, so great for transport links, both rail and Heathrow. We stayed in The Charleston Apartment, which is ideal for a mixed family or friends group. They do only offer continental breakfast, but it was fresh and plentiful, great coffee! Staff were courteous and very helpful, a calm oasis in Central London. My mom loved the voice in the lift!!! We highly recommend this hotel and we will DEFINITELY stay again!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Angelichick62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about the Morton Hotel.

We are delighted to take on board your positive review and that you enjoyed your stay in the Charleston Apartment.
Your comments about the breakfast are also very gratifying, our staff strive to offer freshly prepared food and drinks to ensure our Guests have a great start to their day.
Equally, our personnel were pleased to hear they came across as polite and obliging, guaranteeing a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere.

We hope to be able to welcome you and your family back soon.

Kind regards,

Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I have just returned from 3 nights here, and can highly recommend it. Not much to look at from the outside, but once inside the doors, you will be greeted by very friendly and courteous staff. Check in was quick, and although we were early our room was ready for us. Nice room with a fridge, tea making facilities. A huge flat screen tv, with a full Sky programme including movies. Large bathroom with lovely monogrammed towels and luxury toiletries. Bathrobes in the room. Very quiet, with no outside noise and did not hear other guests. Great location, just a minute from Russell Square tube station. 15 minute walk to Covent Garden, 5 mins to British Museum. The only disappointment was the breakfast, it was continental and although it was of high quality, there was very limited choice. I would definitely stay here again

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank IHAVEBEENTHERE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions.

Our staff were delighted to receive your positive comments about their politeness and efficiency, and felt motivated to keep improving their standards.
We truly appreciate it when our Guests praise the room's layout and the facilities throughout. Our team were pleased that you had a restful sleep and appreciated the sound insulation in your room meaning it was quiet despite the Morton Hotel's very central location.
Equally, we have taken on board your observations about the breakfast and following your comments have implemented some changes aimed at offering a more varied selection which we hope you will enjoy on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Morton Hotel in the near future.

kind regards,

Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed in the Charleston Apartment for a couple of nights in October 2013. The room was beautiful and very cosy, however mine was very cold in the mornings, despite I had set the heating thermostat to the warmest temperature possible. My friend didn't have this problem. The room looked out on the street and the park. The street was pretty noisy, one night I woke up to some men driving around Russell Square keeping a 'car horn concert' and dancing on the road. It wasn't even the weekend.
The bathroom was spacious and the kitchen was nice and had all the cutlery possibly needed. There was a television in every room. The wifi was very good and fast.

The staff was very friendly and I enjoyed staying here. The value was good, although the breakfast was very pricey, considering there wasn't much to choose from. The location was great.

The hotel was small and the elevator was very slow, I suggest using the stairs instead. I'm guessing this is a pretty new hotel, since the taxi drivers didn't seem to really know it. I'm sure that will be changed in a couple of years.

I would stay here again for the good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lumiloun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

We are glad that you found the Charleston Apartment was welcoming and equipped with all the necessary tools, as well as a TV in each room and a strong WiFi signal. It is also very rewarding for our staff to note that their courteous approach made your stay enjoyable.
Equally, we were concerned to note that you felt the room temperature was not adequate. We do provide extra-heating facilities, and we are in the process of improving our Directory to inform our Guests of all the services and extras we supply.
The Morton Hotel is ideally located in central London which can be associated with a certain level of noise, we apologise if you were disturbed by this, all our windows are double glazed and our guests are not normally effected. Equally, please request a quiet room at the back of the hotel when staying with us again.
We have taken on board your comments about the breakfast, please be assured that a wider selection is now being offered.

We are pleased that you would stay with at the Morton Hotel again and very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

What a charming place to spend a couple of nights! So refreshing to stay in a family owned hotel, and to see the creativity throughout. The theme which celebrates the famous Bloomsbury set is really charming, and shows the dedication to attention to detail. Lovely bed linen, super-comfy bed and the bathroom was perfect- the heated floor is a real bonus! Nice toiletries, too! The many pieces of artwork had me a little envious....all in all, spot on. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanRenstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to drawer your comments to our attention.

We appreciate that you liked the Hotel's style and our enthusiasm for the cultural hub that Bloomsbury has always represented. We were also pleased to note that the room made you feel comfortable and that you enjoyed the under floor heating and all the extra touches throughout the hotel.

We are delighted that you will stay with us again and very much look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards,

Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at the Morton for five nights. Its a pleasure to be in a hotel where the decor is great and the staff very friendly. The room we had was overlooking the outside of the hotel (we requested this prior to arrival) and traffic noise was minimal if any. The room had a great walk in shower and good toiletries available. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided and replenished daily. An electronic room safe and an 'unstocked' mini bar came in very handy. The bed was comfortable and the linen of good quality. Only minor 'negative' was that few clothes hangers were provided - enough perhaps for a two night stay but certainly not enough for a five night one where one tends to have more clothing! Adequate drawer space is provided. The enhanced continental breakfast which was included in our room rate was more than adequate and served in a very nice way.

Room Tip: We were on floor 3 and the higher the floor the better
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJCaruana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are delighted to acknowledge that you enjoyed the hotel's atmosphere, views and all the room facilities including the comfortable bed and linen. Following your comments regarding the hangers we have ordered extra coat hangers to be put in the rooms, extra hangers are also available on request. We are also pleased that the staff attended you courteously, they welcome your comments and feel motivated to maintain the standards. Your opinion about the breakfast was very much appreciated, we have made some changes following our Guests' suggestions and are happy that these changes have received such a positive response.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#77 of 1,072 in London
1,782 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#128 of 1,072 in London
1,240 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,072 in London
3,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#66 of 1,072 in London
1,612 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#304 of 1,072 in London
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morton Hotel

Address: 2 Woburn Place, London WC1H 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £155 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morton hotel has 34 rooms all lovingly furnished with individual charm, to create a comfortable space with a relaxing ambience. Choose between our decorative twin/double bedrooms or our unique one and two bedroom apartments all comprising of sizeable en-suites with shower or bath tub, heated towel rails and under floor heating.All rooms are fitted with 42" flat screen TV and Sky, in room safe, air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi access, iPod docking station, telephone, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms are serviced daily and our Reception is available 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Morton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing