We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Morton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morton Hotel
Ranked #104 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Just returned from a wonderful 2 nights stay at the Morton!

With lots of attention to detail the hotel was tastefully themed around the famous Bloomsbury group of english writers, philosophers and artists.
My bedroom was very tastefully appointed (nice wallpaper) and comfortable. And the bed was super comfy! Nice toiletries, bathrobes and lots of fluffy towels from a heated rack in the spacious bathroom. There’s a huge flat screen tv, a small fridge as well complimentary wifi, tea/coffee and biscuits!
A very nice continental breakfast (lovely croissants) is offered in the library, which also serves as the hotel’s bar and registration.

Staff at the Morton was very friendly and attentive - well done! I will defiantly stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank the_peoplemover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and photos about the Morton Hotel.

We are glad to acknowledge that you appreciated the Morton Hotel's decor and theme, we take great pride in being located in an area whose roots are deeply influenced by the Bloomsbury Set. Equally, we are pleased to take on board that you found your room was attractive and functional and that you enjoyed all its accessories as well as your breakfast and the Library.

Our staff were delighted to receive your commending words and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Morton Hotel to ensure you have another lovely stay with us.

Kind regards,

Guest Liaison Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    92
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
59
169
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed here from 29th-01st of December; here's all you need to know.

Location: Fantastic. Minutes away from the tube station, very close to some of London's biggest landmarks, it doesn't get better for the price really. However, due to the central location you will be hearing road noise day and night, making it slightly more difficult to get a good kip if you're not used to it.

Staff: Friendly, attentive and interested in you and your visit.

Room: We stayed in a bloomsbury bedroom. It was big enough for two and the bathroom was fantastic, heated towel rails and a walk-in shower which was plenty hot and powerful. The televisions all have Sky which is a nice addition, the bed is very comfortable and the design - faultless. Plenty of character.

Food: If you're having breakfast here, be don't expect a massive selection. On offer, you'll find pastries, cold meats (ham and salami) and cereal. They also have juices, toast, jams, tea/coffee and cheese. We also saw some prawn cocktail and tuna mayo, but only in very small pots. It's not big, it's not grand but what is there is very nice.

Style/design: very nice, very plush. The carpets are thick, the decor is gorgeous and the library is very welcoming.

I'd stay here again for sure. This hotel is fantastic for short breaks but I'd probably look for something more kitted out for a longer stay in London.

We also had afternoon which was also very nice, a selection sandwiches, scones and flapjacks/brownies with earl grey (£15 each).

Wi-Fi is free.

Very good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickTaylor333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review and positive comments about the Morton Hotel, its location, decor and stylish, comfortable rooms. We are pleased to see that the great thought given to the comfort of our guests is appreciated. Our staff are always interested in receiving guest feedback so your comments will be passed on.

The Morton is centrally located and there can be a certain level of noise associated with this, all our windows are double glazed and guests are not normally affected. A quieter room at the back of the hotel can be requested when staying with us again.

We take on board your comments about the continental breakfast and will continue to review the selection following feedback from our Guests, we aim to give our guests the best start to the day.

It is lovely to know that our newly introduced Afternoon Tea selection was received well.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Morton Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Guests Liaison Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Morton last night for a 'shopping and show' weekend away. We arrived at the hotel early and were able to leave our bags so we could head out shopping. First impressions of the hotel were very good, literally only a minutes walk from Russell Square tube station, everything was spotlessly clean and presented well. On returning to the hotel for check in, we were impressed with the friendly efficient staff and were promptly in our room (25), a lovely kingside bed, 42" tv, full tea and coffee facilities, fridge, hair dryer, digital radio and robes.
Breakfast was continental with cereals, fruits, yogurts, meats, cheeses, pastries, juices and tea as coffee - all of good quality. Certainly enough to fill up on ready for another day of shopping.
The hotel is well located if you are seeing a show, about 10 minute walk to the West End and about 20 minutes to Oxford Street.
Would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I booked this hotel relying heavily on the reviews here.

Yes, the hotel was lovely, the bed comfortable, the welcome friendly the room as I had asked for near a lift. Beautiful room, superb decor.

My stay was for one night only for a business trip. I was rather startled as I was dressing for breakfast when the room cleaner (male) knocked on my door, then entered and backed out again. I went to the door and he said he wished to clean the room.

I pointed out I had till 11 to vacate when I received a muttered apology That is the second time recently that a similar incident has occurred in a London Hotel.

Breakfast was a huge disappointment. I went and was invited to be seated. Other parties, mainly of men were offered beverages and shown where everything was on the buffet. I detected discrimination against the lone female traveler.

Had I known I would not have prepaid breakfast.

I had to almost demand coffee and breakfast service and left feeling disappointed and upset. Won't be staying again as whilst the hotel wasn't expensive neither was it cheap.

The traffic noise was fairly loud which I had expected after reading other reviews.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsChrisW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

We were delighted to note that you thought the hotel was beautiful, the bed comfortable and that you received a warm welcome.

Equally, we were concerned by your other comments. We do have "Do Not Disturb" signs in all our rooms to ensure our guests are not disturbed and following your comments our front desk will point this out to our guests during the check in process. We have spoken to the team who are devastated by the idea they could have made you feel discriminated against, they work hard to ensure the comfort of our guests at all times and we can assure you they would never discriminate against anyone.

Assuring you of our best intentions at all times.

Best wishes,

Guest Liaison Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Quiet hotel with excellent staff in great London location, very close to Picadilly Line. Rooms have all been recently renovated. Good value for money in expensive London.

Despite being on busy street, rooms are quiet at night. Nice continental breakfast available (at extra charge) but also lots of other options available in the area

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CCNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about the Morton Hotel.

We are happy to notice that our sound insulation system is guaranteeing our Guests enjoy a tranquil night's sleep even in such a central location.

Equally, our staff felt very motivated by your pleasing remarks, and welcomed your observations about the breakfast and the excellent value The Morton offers in such a central location.

We look forward to your next visit to the Morton Hotel.

Kind regards,

Guest Liaison Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, hidden affordable gem of a boutique hotel, on the corner of Russell Square, so great for transport links, both rail and Heathrow. We stayed in The Charleston Apartment, which is ideal for a mixed family or friends group. They do only offer continental breakfast, but it was fresh and plentiful, great coffee! Staff were courteous and very helpful, a calm oasis in Central London. My mom loved the voice in the lift!!! We highly recommend this hotel and we will DEFINITELY stay again!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Angelichick62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about the Morton Hotel.

We are delighted to take on board your positive review and that you enjoyed your stay in the Charleston Apartment.
Your comments about the breakfast are also very gratifying, our staff strive to offer freshly prepared food and drinks to ensure our Guests have a great start to their day.
Equally, our personnel were pleased to hear they came across as polite and obliging, guaranteeing a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere.

We hope to be able to welcome you and your family back soon.

Kind regards,

Guest Liaison Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from 3 nights here, and can highly recommend it. Not much to look at from the outside, but once inside the doors, you will be greeted by very friendly and courteous staff. Check in was quick, and although we were early our room was ready for us. Nice room with a fridge, tea making facilities. A huge flat screen tv, with a full Sky programme including movies. Large bathroom with lovely monogrammed towels and luxury toiletries. Bathrobes in the room. Very quiet, with no outside noise and did not hear other guests. Great location, just a minute from Russell Square tube station. 15 minute walk to Covent Garden, 5 mins to British Museum. The only disappointment was the breakfast, it was continental and although it was of high quality, there was very limited choice. I would definitely stay here again

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank IHAVEBEENTHERE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions.

Our staff were delighted to receive your positive comments about their politeness and efficiency, and felt motivated to keep improving their standards.
We truly appreciate it when our Guests praise the room's layout and the facilities throughout. Our team were pleased that you had a restful sleep and appreciated the sound insulation in your room meaning it was quiet despite the Morton Hotel's very central location.
Equally, we have taken on board your observations about the breakfast and following your comments have implemented some changes aimed at offering a more varied selection which we hope you will enjoy on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Morton Hotel in the near future.

kind regards,

Guest Liaison Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#91 of 1,067 in London
1,730 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#70 of 1,067 in London
1,491 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#54 of 1,067 in London
3,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#129 of 1,067 in London
1,201 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#123 of 1,067 in London
2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morton Hotel

Property: Morton Hotel
Address: 2 Woburn Place, London WC1H 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Morton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morton hotel has 34 rooms all lovingly furnished with individual charm, to create a comfortable space with a relaxing ambience. Choose between our decorative twin/double bedrooms or our unique one and two bedroom apartments all comprising of sizeable en-suites with shower or bath tub, heated towel rails and under floor heating.All rooms are fitted with 42" flat screen TV and Sky, in room safe, air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi access, iPod docking station, telephone, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms are serviced daily and our Reception is available 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Morton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing