We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a convenient location”
Review of Morton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morton Hotel
Ranked #62 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed in one of the Bloomsbury rooms for three nights. We were very impressed with the look of the hotel and the amenities. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable with modern decor throughout and an excellent shower.

The staff were very welcoming, attentive and polite.

We really couldn't fault the hotel at all and were very pleased we chose to stay at the Morton, would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed on a higher floor away from the main road and it was very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

Spent the first and last part of our stay in the UK at this hotel. No complaints and the hotel was a bargain by London standards.

Breakfast was continental: coffee, banana, cold cuts and some french patries and I was off and running.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrivateMan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are delighted that you liked the Morton Hotel, and that you found it enjoyable on both your stays.

It is a pleasure to acknowledge that the continental breakfast granted you enough energy to tackle your day.

We very much hope to be able to welcome you back to our Morton Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Just come back from a girlie weekend in London, with 6 Ladies! The Morton was perfect for us as we booked one of their mini apartments so we could all gather in there before and after going out !! really good size, very clean and safe.
The staff couldn't do enough for us, very helpful, even going out in the rain to hail us a cab !!
Would recommend to anyone and would stay here again myself.
Loved the decor as well !!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollywellsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a gratifying review.

We happily take on board that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and that the Charleston Apartment made you and your party feel comfortable and safe at all times.

Equally, your comments about the ambience, the cleanliness, and the politeness of our staff were welcomed with delight. We cannot thank our staff enough for reflecting at all times the character of the Morton Hotel and ensuring our guests are looked after properly.

Thank you for recommending the Morton Hotel.

We look forward to being your hosts on your next visit to London.

Best regards,

Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel provided clean, comfortable, well appointed rooms and excellent friendly staff to provide good service.

I have and will recommend this hotel to friends and family travelling to London.

The location is excellent and easily reached from Russell Square underground station (direct from Heathrow Airport).

Room Tip: Select a room on the 4th floor to dampen the street noise. Order extra milk capsules for the tea co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maurice999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for highlighting your comments to our attention.

We are glad that you were satisfied with the Morton Hotel's cleanliness, ambience and rooms' decor, and that its location was congenial to your needs.

Equally, our staff were delighted to hear they came across as helpful and efficient, and able to provide good assistance.

Thank you again for recommending the Morton Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to grant you yet another enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards,

Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We were there on 27-29 Dec 2013 and the hotel has lived up to the reviews here. We took the online promo for a Bloomsbury room and requested for a twin bedroom which we are grateful that the request was remembered. We arrived at Euston station and decided to take a walk to the hotel. It was extremely easy to find as it was just a straight walk from the train station for about 10 minutes. The setting is lovely from the reception to the bedroom. However, they do not have a concierge so the moment you enter the lobby, you have to take the lift to the basement where the reception cum bar is. You may leave your luggage at the lobby foyer but advisable not to as anyone can enter that area during the day. The elevators and rooms are activated by the room key so the hotel is private and pretty secure. We arrived before the check in time and they were very willing to check for us whether the room is available. We were expecting a smallish room from the pictures in the reviews here but we managed to get the last room down the corridor (room 45) which was very spacious and clean. The toilet was immaculate and the towels were plush and warm. The room comes with basic toiletries, tea coffee facilities and an empty mini fridge for cold beverages and snack which can be bought at the grocery store just opposite the tube station. We did not take the breakfast as it was so convenient to walk around the corner to the tube station and take a tube to covent garden or Leicester square. It is definitely a gem in the heart of London and we will most definitely stay here again for our next visit to London.

Room Tip: the room right at the end of the corridor tend to be bigger and more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank escapadesearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

We are happy to notice that the reviews on TripAdvisor reflect the quality we are striving to maintain throughout the hotel, and that our Guests confirm we are succeeding in such a challenging enterprise.

From the rooms to the public areas, the Morton Hotel was designed to feature a warm, unique atmosphere throughout. Specifically, the Library is meant to offer a homely welcome to greet our Guests, as well as a cosy space to feel pampered and unwind.

We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to London, when we will hopefully have the chance to host you for breakfast, and grant you a great start to the day as well as another enjoyable stay at the Morton.

Kind regards,

Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Found this hotel on a special offer after failed search of web,am so glad I found it.
Location was fab , right next to Russell Sq tube which was on Piccadilly line which covered all the places we needed to be this trip.
From the moment we arrived we could tell it was a little Gem, staff were amazing without being over the top. Hotel is gorgeous and very well kept and room was superb with fab view over the Park. Rooms superbly decorated and very Boutique .
We had afternoon tea at Harrods on the Tuesday ( xmas pressie from friends) and had forgotten that with our deal we also received afternoon tea at Morton's which we took on the Thursday ..and have to say we found this nicer than the Harrods afternoon tea ! Breakfast served as continental and the staff were attentive and food was lovely .
When we return to London we will definitely stay at Morton's and would recommend this hotel to anyone !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moominmama72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your glowing review.

The Morton Hotel is indeed ideally situated, and we are glad you found it ideal to enjoy your sightseeing days.

Equally, we are delighted that the hotel's atmosphere made you feel at ease from the moment you arrived, and that the courtesy of our staff, in addition to the hotel and room features, made your stay memorable and worthy of such a positive review.

Ultimately, we can only be flattered that you found our afternoon tea at the Morton of a higher standard than Harrods. Certainly, being a smaller establishment, the Guests at the Morton can be looked after thoroughly and attentively, and our staff strive to guarantee a personalised, warm experience for each and everyone of our guests.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Morton in the very near future.

Best regards,

Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed in a 1-bedroom apartment,two parents and teenage daughter, for nine nights. There are many great things about the Morton:

- Location:
2-3 minute walk to the Russell Square tube station on the Picadilly line (straight shot from LHR, too), a Telesco (mini grocery store for those who aren't familiar), and Pret a Manger. Five minute walk to a shopping center with restaurants, shops, and a nice grocery store Waitrose, lots of neighborhood pubs/restaurants all around, 10-minute walk to British Museum, just a bit farther to Covent Garden/West End... We could see the New Year's Eve fireworks at the London Eye from the kitchen window!

- Lovely rooms:
The kitchenette was perfect. Kettle for hot water, fridge, microwave, stove. All the dishes, cooking equipment, etc. Nice to have a separate room to hang out when others are sleeping, with a nice large flat screen TV in there, as well as in the bedroom. Never had so many TV channels! Bathrooms were fantastic, with awesome huge fluffy bath towels on a towel warmer!! Safe in the wardrobe. Only thing we didn't like so much: the pillows! They were foam... not very comfy (to us). We had a street-side room with nice view of the square and while we did hear street noise, it was only the first couple of nights and then we were used to it.

- Friendly staff:
Both the reception and the cleaning staff were very nice, and helpful.
The adapter plugs we brought didn't fit the wall sockets, and we were able to "rent" two of them from reception for £5 each and received our money back when we returned them at the end of our stay.

- Security:
Our key card got us in the front door, and to our floor with the elevator. Love that.

We paid a similar amount as we would have for a nice hotel without an extra room/kitchen, so we were pleased with that.

I highly recommend The Morton Hotel!

Room Tip: Inside for quiet; outside for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gigi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive review.

We welcomed your words with great enthusiasm, and were glad you took full advantage of the Morton Hotel's ideal location and surroundings and were able to watch London's New Year's Eve fireworks from the comfort of the Charleston Apartment.

Equally, we are delighted to acknowledge that the room layout and the accessories in the kitchen made you feel comfortable, and that the room partition gave you extra ease during the stay, as well as the bathroom and the sundries featured in it. With regards to the pillows this is the first comment of this nature we have received and we will ensure our housekeeping department have alternative pillows available on request.

Additionally, our Guests' security is of paramount importance to us, and we happily acknowledge that the systems in place made you feel safe whilst being functional at the same time.

Our staff were flattered to read such positive words about their work and their constant effort to be as professional as they can. Your recommendations about the Morton Hotel were a further confirmation that their dedication and attentiveness allow us to maintain our high standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Guest Liaison Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#80 of 1,077 in London
1,814 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#134 of 1,077 in London
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#68 of 1,077 in London
1,674 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#30 of 1,077 in London
1,037 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#354 of 1,077 in London
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morton Hotel

Address: 2 Woburn Place, London WC1H 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £172 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morton hotel has 34 rooms all lovingly furnished with individual charm, to create a comfortable space with a relaxing ambience. Choose between our decorative twin/double bedrooms or our unique one and two bedroom apartments all comprising of sizeable en-suites with shower or bath tub, heated towel rails and under floor heating.All rooms are fitted with 42" flat screen TV and Sky, in room safe, air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi access, iPod docking station, telephone, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms are serviced daily and our Reception is available 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Morton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing