We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a refreshing change!”
Review of Morton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morton Hotel
Ranked #115 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Given the large number of over-rated, tired and under-invested London hotels (including many "four star" ones), what a pleasant and refreshing change this one made.
I am easily put off by unprepossessing looking hotels sited above for example shops or, in this case, a bank - and for Reception/check-in, one needs to take the life down to the basement area.
However, this is an immaculately refurbished and refitted hotel in the boutique style, very individual and all done with great taste and very high quality furnishings and fittings - a feeling of being brand new whilst still very characterful. We received a great welcome, friendly and efficient; the room (a Bloomsbury category room) was really excellent - spacious, comfortable, beautifully fitted out and with an immaculate bathroom, complete with great amenities. The basement reception area combines a bar and lounge area, all very well executed - this is where the continental breakfast is taken and that, too, was very good. Another big positive - any extras such as room service or bar drinks/sandwiches are priced fairly by London standards - not the usual, appalling prices where one feels truly ripped off.
Highly recommend this hotel for its immaculate quality interior, fresh newness, good service and value extras, all supported by a friendly welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, General Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the feedback and for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We were happy to learn that you liked the Morton Hotels very distinctive characteristics. We aimed to achieve a secluded, intimate environment in which our guests would feel welcome from check-in, and that would be distinguishable for its uniqueness and comforts.
We wish you all the best in your future travels, and will be looking forward to seeing you stay with us again in the near future.
Best regards,
Daniela Engler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

We really liked this hotel, good location (close to the British Museum and British Library), very pleasant and friendly staff and a lovely spotlessly clean room with a fantastic modern bathroom (would appreciate a magnifying mirror though). Large comfortable bed. The room was on the main road and it was noisy during the night, don't know if they have rooms off the main road but it would be worth asking and we would do this if we stayed here again. However overall we really liked this hotel and we would definitely stay here again.....

Room Tip: Request a room off the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.
We are pleased to inform you that the Morton Hotel has rooms facing the rear of the hotel away from the main road. We normally advise our guests to request a quiet room when placing the booking, since these have limited availability.
Equally, we are glad to acknowledge that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room to be comfortable, and the location of the hotel to be convenient and close to London’s main attractions. With regards to the magnifying mirror, please be assured that your suggestion will be taken into future consideration. Thank you for drawing this to our attention.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Daniela Engler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

WE stayed here as my son had bought the hotel booking for my wife's birthday after a night at the Traveloge Waterloo. It is easy to be disparaging about the Traveloge chain, but it has its place. The contrast with the Morton was extreme. Just going into the bathroom of the Morton was amazing. The fillings , the space, the toiletries, the towels, just showed what you were paying for.I just wish I could always afford to stay at the Morton. Champagne, chocolates and breakfast in the deal - Exceptional.

Room Tip: Only a single visit, so no knowledge about other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian_20120301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, General Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a gratifying review.

We are delighted to acknowledge that the room layout and the accessories in the bathroom made you feel pampered. It is very gratifying to note that the attention to detail is appreciated and is ensuring our Guests can have a relaxed and enjoyable stay at the Morton.

We happily take on board that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us!

We do hope to welcome you back to the Morton Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Daniela Engler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed in a one bedroom Charleston Apartment at the Morton in November 2013 for a couple of days while on a course. Having only stayed in London once before (and had a bad experience with that hotel), I did a lot of research before choosing the Morton. It turned out to be a great choice.

The staff at reception were friendly and welcoming, very efficient when checking in and out. The decor is lovely and fresh. Fantastic location on Russell Square, within walking distance of so many sights. The apartment was at the front of the building (I think maybe they all are?), so it had a view over the park from all the windows which was lovely. There was noise from the street during the day but it was much quieter at night and didn't disturb sleep.

The apartment itself was a great space, and very good value for money bearing in mind the location! A lovely large bathroom, with a full-size bath and good shower. The bed was very comfortable, and there was plenty of wardrobe space. The kitchen area was quite small, but had everything that was needed to do self catering (also, there are a couple of supermarkets just down the road for shopping). The sitting room was great for relaxing and eating in. Everything was impeccably clean and tidy. Would definitely look to book the Morton again on future visits to London.

Room Tip: Charleston apartment was at the front of the building, on the fourth floor so had great views of Rus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CiaraL719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, General Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing your feedback.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Charleston Apartments and can inform you that all our apartments are located at the front of the hotel (1 per floor), with the exception of our one small apartment which is located at the side of the hotel.

Once again, we at the Morton were very pleased to read your feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future!

Best regards,

Daniela Engler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at the Morton Hotel for a weekend break, the hotel was selected because of it's location to the Theatre District. What a gem this hotel proved to be, recently refurbished to a very high standard. It was so much nicer to stay in a small boutique hotel with friendly staff and tasteful furnishings rather than a 'chain' for a special weekend treat. The afternoon tea and continental breakfast were lovely. Russell Street tube is nearby but we chose to walk to Covent Garden, the theatre and over to Camden Market. Have a look at the hotel website the photos give a very accurate indication of what to expect. We will most certainly be staying here again.
Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy-May76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, General Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in writing this feedback.

We appreciate your comments regarding the breakfast, afternoon tea and the service received from our staff. Our priority is to keep our guests happy and grant they feel comfortable for the duration of their stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again and making your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Kind regards,

Daniel Engler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Within walking distance of Euston we spent one night here and we will certainly use this hotel again.
The staff were excellent and the rooms and bathrooms were very clean.
The Charleston Apartments are ideal for two couples and very good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the hotel are quieter, as the windows are only single glazed and front rooms ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, General Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write us this positive feedback.

It gives us not only great sense of pride but also motivation to ensure we continue to keep our guests satisfied and hopefully see them returning to the Morton hotel.

Kind regards,

Daniela Engler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

As with pretty much all the other reviews, the room was extremely well appointed, everything in the right place and thoughtfully designed, albeit quite small. The decor and high ceilings gave a feeling of space and being here for just the one night meant that size wasn't that important.

Not enough hotel rooms have radios and the DAB one in ours was fab. Just the thing to help us get in the mood for a Saturday night out.

The shower was one of the nicest showers I've had the pleasure of standing under and contrary to the road noise, I managed to have a great night sleep. I did bring my earplugs though, so I was blissfully unaware of the noise outside. I also recommend providing these on the tray in the bathroom. Everything else is on there after all!

Although we didn't go in, the 'library' for drinks and breakfast looked beautiful. Bare brick walls and elegant furniture. Very calming. The reception area is in the same room and the staff are slick and polite.

If I were to give this a 5, there are a couple of additions I would have liked:

- cooked breakfast options. (Although I do recognise that if this hotel does not have a kitchen as such, it would be impossible). Incidentally, we found a fabulous organic cafe on Tottenham Court Road called Le Pain Quotidien and had a great breakfast there.

- Earplugs (small change, but vital!)

- Complimentary water in the room

Would I stay again? Too right I would. And I guess that says it all really.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sussextraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, General Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your feedback, we do appreciate it.

With regards to the street noise we can provide the earplugs upon arrival on request.

We also appreciate your comments about ambience in the Library and professionalism of our staff, it really gives a good feeling of satisfaction.

As you have recognised our kitchen does not allow us to offer diverse array of food for breakfast. But we are constantly looking to improve our offers at breakfast and we believe that during your next stay we will positively surprise you!

We look forward to welcoming you again and making your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Kind regards,

Daniela Engler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#80 of 1,081 in London
1,847 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#401 of 1,081 in London
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#365 of 1,081 in London
844 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#70 of 1,081 in London
3,467 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morton Hotel

Address: 2 Woburn Place, London WC1H 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £168 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morton hotel has 34 rooms all lovingly furnished with individual charm, to create a comfortable space with a relaxing ambience. Choose between our decorative twin/double bedrooms or our unique one and two bedroom apartments all comprising of sizeable en-suites with shower or bath tub, heated towel rails and under floor heating.All rooms are fitted with 42" flat screen TV and Sky, in room safe, air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi access, iPod docking station, telephone, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms are serviced daily and our Reception is available 24 hours. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing