We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent overnighter”
Review of Morton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morton Hotel
Ranked #102 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cupar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent overnighter”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed here when on a business trip. It's one minute walk from Russell Square tube so really easy to get to and right in central London. Reception staff were friendly and efficient. I had asked for a quiet room (knowing it was on a busy street) and was not disappointed - I was on 5th floor at the back so no great view but lovely and quiet. Bedroom was tastefully decorated and had beautiful bathroom with enormous walk in shower. Lots of nice toiletries and robe provided. Air con was quiet and much appreciated as the weather was warm and room became quite warm too. (I didn't want to open window). Breakfast was continental style and all fresh and tasty. Good coffee and excellent polite staff. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want quiet room ask for top floor and/or at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieD610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, General Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review

It’s so nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the room and bathroom so comfortable during your business trip. We were also pleased to note that our staff were professional and friendly and that you enjoyed our continental breakfast and coffee.

We look forward to accommodating you in the future should you choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Daniela Engler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    92
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
59
169
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Morton Hotel far exceeded our expectations. Situated only a few minutes from the Tube it is a very centrally placed Hotel for the Theatre and Sightseeing. The Staff were really friendly and very helpful, and the rooms exceptionally clean and spacious.The only downside however, was the Afternoon Tea - not I'm afraid worth the £15 a head price-tag - but aside from that we would certainly stay there again

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors or at the back are quieter, away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rough-pelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, General Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for writing your review.

We’re pleased that our hotel has gone beyond your expectations, with the location, the facilities and the staff all meeting your satisfaction. If you have any suggestions in regards to the afternoon tea, please send us an email or mention it to our staff upon your next stay with us as we always aim to improve.

We very much look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards

Daniela Engler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Morton Hotel was everything I hoped it would be. The hotel was very quaint and the rooms were very clean. The staff were awesome...always friendly and very helpful with everything including pointing us in the right direction for siteseeing, whether we took a taxi or the tube. The picaddilly line was around the corner and made it convenient to travel to Buckingham Palace & the airport.

The breakfast was delicious and plentiful! I would definitely return to the Morton Hotel when travelling in London. I would also recommend to others to stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, General Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write your review.

We were so pleased to note that our hotel lived up to expectations and that you found our staff so helpful and friendly. We hope you managed to do all the sightseeing that you came to do while visiting London.

Again, we’re happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and very thankful for your review, we look forward to accommodating you in the future if you are traveling to London.

Kind regards

Daniela Engler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Morton Hotel exceeded our expectations. the hospitality blew our minds. As a small anecdote: It was my daughter's birthday and she got surprised with a very beautiful birthday card and a delicious cake in our room.
Hotel is situated right around the corner from the Russell Square tube (Piccadilly line) and was easy to get to.
The room interior is very pleasant with traditional english accents. The bathroom is so specious and the shower had an excellent pressure. Small kitchenette is well stocked with a great tea variety and biscuits (to my hungry daughter's delight).
Overall the experience staying in Morton Hotel was fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prato70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, General Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us at the Morton.

We’re happy that you found the birthday cake and card a delight, also that our hotel has met above your expectations. All at the Morton would like to wish your daughter a happy belated birthday!

Looking forward to seeing you in the future for another birthday.

Kind regards

Daniela Engler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frydek-Mistek, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one night before X-mass and frankly speaking I was very satisfied.

Positive
- Very good location (next to Russell Square)
- Nice and warm design
- Good price for this location and hotel quality
- Clean and comfortable rooms
- Continental however very good breakfast
- Pleasant and friendly staff

Negative
- Nothing important

I will back, I'm sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielJanecek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, General Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for the nice review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our superb location.

Your comments about the design, the cleanliness, and the politeness of our staff were welcomed with delight.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back for another great stay.

Kind regards

Daniela Engler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

From the street it's not the most obvious hotel, it has a small entrance, with a lift down to reception. So when we first arrived I wasn't sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised to find a nicely decorated room, with a spacious bathroom; which had a bath big enough for two tall people. We were on the 1st floor and our room faced on to a very uninteresting "court yard", so we had no view, but the upside was a quiet nights sleep, we couldn't hear any road traffic.
The room had everything we needed; large comfortable bed; sky and large TV; free Wifi; fridge and kettle. The only annoying thing was I couldn't seem to turn off the air conditioning which was a little loud. As it was quite late, I couldn't be bothered to contact reception for help, and my partner couldn't have noticed as he fell asleep straight away.
For us the location was good, 10 minute walk to an excellent coffee shop and it took us 20 minutes to walk to Shaftesbury Avenue to the theatre.

Room Tip: If you not a fan of city noise, ask for an internal room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, General Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us.

We have recently renovated our Morton Hotel and we were delighted to note that you found the room comfortable and the bathroom spacious and that you were pleasantly surprised with our nicely decorated rooms and room amenities.

With regards to the air conditioning, our receptionists would have been more than happy to help, please do not hesitate to contact the desk for assistance should we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

We hope to be able to welcome you back and in the interim assure you of our best intentions at all times.

Yours sincerely

Daniela Engler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel was a hundred metres from the Russell Square tube station. Decor was stylish and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was small but adequate and the bathroom was a decent size and nicely decorated. Sadly, it was impossible to sleep in our first floor room as it overlooked a busy junction and the noise from the traffic was unrelenting, despite the double glazing. Given the cost of a double room, it really should have had secondary glazing - it is the least that customers should expect.The following morning I had to buy earplugs. The variety of food on offer at breakfast was standard however the quality was poor. Better value to be had elsewhere in London.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonnyblink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#91 of 1,067 in London
1,730 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#69 of 1,067 in London
1,490 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#54 of 1,067 in London
3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#129 of 1,067 in London
1,201 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#123 of 1,067 in London
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morton Hotel

Property: Morton Hotel
Address: 2 Woburn Place, London WC1H 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Morton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morton hotel has 34 rooms all lovingly furnished with individual charm, to create a comfortable space with a relaxing ambience. Choose between our decorative twin/double bedrooms or our unique one and two bedroom apartments all comprising of sizeable en-suites with shower or bath tub, heated towel rails and under floor heating.All rooms are fitted with 42" flat screen TV and Sky, in room safe, air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi access, iPod docking station, telephone, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms are serviced daily and our Reception is available 24 hours. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing