We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, beautiful hotel”
Review of Morton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morton Hotel
Ranked #115 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We've just returned from one night at this hotel and cant rate it highly enough. Our room was on the top floor and was very spacious and beautifully decorated, the bathrooms are huge! Very comfy bed, great bathroom amenities, large LCD TV with full sky channels, comp wif.
We've stayed in many other London hotels which cost a lot more and are nowhere near as nice as this little gem! The location is fantastic and a few steps away from Russell garden tube.

Breakfast is fantastic and beautifully presented in the library bar area which has a very chic/trendy feel.

The gentlemen working at reception were fantastic and extremely helpful, we didn't have time to enjoy our afternoon tea so they kindly boxed it up for us and let us take it for our train journey. We will most definitely be returning soon.

Room Tip: We were on top floor facing street but the street noise was minimal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDP008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela E, General Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review.

We are thrilled to know that your stay with us at Morton Hotel was a pleasant one and that you enjoyed our room and amenities.

We appreciate your feedback regarding service and have passed this on to the reception team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Daniela Engler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We've visited London more than 15 times over the past 30 years and stayed at many hotels, ranging from genteelly shabby (the defunct 22 Jermyn Street ) to pricey upper-crust (Dukes Hotel, the Waldorf). The Morton is an excellent value that falls in the middle of that range, and has elements that compare well with more expensive hotels.

It has been completely refurbished recently, so all the furnishings, finishes and fittings are new and attractive. The decor is simple but attractive, and a Bloomsbury Group theme has been successfully executed, from the book-laden lighting fixture in the entry to the Bloomsbury celebrity silhouettes on each room door.

The big surprise for us was the size of the room. We're used to small rooms in London hotels, but this one was quite spacious. It had plenty of closet space, and a large modern bathroom as well. The bed was comfortable, the linens crisp. All the linens are monogrammed with the hotel log, a nice touch. Since we were spending a week here, the space was greatly appreciated.

The continental breakfast (which is a real bargain when compared with London cafe prices) is surprisingly diverse. The spread included cold meats and cheeses, yogurt, multiple choices of cold cereals, small breakfast parfaits, fresh fruit, croissants, danish, crumpets, even what looked like pancakes that could be toasted. There was juice, milk, coffee and tea. Jams, marmalade, honey, Marmite, peanut butter, Nutella and other toppings were available. The breakfast room/ bar/ reception is attractively furnished with couches, wing chairs and assorted tables.

Staff is friendly and accommodating.

Location is good. It is less than one block from the Russell Square tube stop, which is on the Piccadilly line, so convenient to many major attractions. It is a short walk from the British Museum, and perhaps a 20 minute walk from West End theaters. There are plenty of restaurants, pubs and cafes nearby, and a Tesco Express across the street from the tube stop.

London is an expensive city, and we shopped long and hard before choosing the Morton. It was a gamble, not having stayed in it before, but it was less expensive than all of our usual choices, and as it turns out, it was more spacious than any of them, more recently refurbished and with a more accommodating staff.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela E, General Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write such an informative and opinionated review about our hotel, and also to thank you for choosing us to accommodate you during your most recent trip to London.

We were delighted to note that you appreciated the interior design of the hotel, the size of the rooms and the choice at breakfast as well as the hotel’s location and value. It is good to read such a detailed review that will help other holiday makers decide where to stay when they come to London. It is also rewarding for our staff to read that you found them helpful and accommodating and they also thank you for your positive feedback.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Daniela Engler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Morton Hotel was a very nice surprise. Trendy and chic furniture, really comfortable beds and very professional and proactive receptionists.Location is perfect, just facing Russell Square and 15 minutes walking to Covent Garden and West End.
Reception is in the basement, in the restaurant/bar counter but the efficient staff make a very easy and quick check in/out. I was expecting English Breakfast but, as they mention in the web site, it is a Continental one. No many choices but it is correct.Coffee is very nice.
I have to describe it as a boutique hotel, paying attention to the small details carefully, something really difficult to find in such a big city as London. I will come back for sure :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asia2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, General Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in London, and also for taking the time to write your review.

We were delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the facilities comfortable, location perfect and service professional and proactive.

From everyone at the Morton, we look forward to seeing you check-in again with us in the coming future.

Wishing you safe travels

Daniela Engler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights from 12th May. Friendly welcome by Reception staff who apologised that room was not ready (we were early) so left luggage & checked in later. Hotel was fresh and welcoming & the Bloomsbury room we had was elegantly furnished with a nice sized bathroom. Location is great with Russell Square tube station around the corner and all West End attractions within a 20 minute walk. Choice at breakfast was good, held in the Library which is pleasant but one small gripe is that the seating is rather low to eat comfortably maybe a couple small cafe tables would help. Would definitely stay again when next in London

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DavidL-Ingliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, General Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about the hotel.

We at the Morton are happy to read that you enjoyed the style and charm of both the hotel and the staff, also that you found your stay with us pleasing and suitable in such a city as London.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Daniela Engler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

nice and handy for the tube and euston station a 10 mins walk away,this is a real nice small hotel which has been updated but has charm and character our bedroom was on the front so there was some noise but it didnot bother us,the staff were all charming and the breakfast area/lounge has been done with style and taste such a nice change from bland hotels that are around the contiental breakfast was tasty to .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, General Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about the hotel.

We at the Morton are happy to read that you enjoyed the style and charm of both the hotel and the staff, also that you found your stay with us pleasing and suitable in such a city as London.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Daniela Engler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed here when on a business trip. It's one minute walk from Russell Square tube so really easy to get to and right in central London. Reception staff were friendly and efficient. I had asked for a quiet room (knowing it was on a busy street) and was not disappointed - I was on 5th floor at the back so no great view but lovely and quiet. Bedroom was tastefully decorated and had beautiful bathroom with enormous walk in shower. Lots of nice toiletries and robe provided. Air con was quiet and much appreciated as the weather was warm and room became quite warm too. (I didn't want to open window). Breakfast was continental style and all fresh and tasty. Good coffee and excellent polite staff. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want quiet room ask for top floor and/or at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieD610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, General Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review

It’s so nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the room and bathroom so comfortable during your business trip. We were also pleased to note that our staff were professional and friendly and that you enjoyed our continental breakfast and coffee.

We look forward to accommodating you in the future should you choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Daniela Engler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Morton Hotel far exceeded our expectations. Situated only a few minutes from the Tube it is a very centrally placed Hotel for the Theatre and Sightseeing. The Staff were really friendly and very helpful, and the rooms exceptionally clean and spacious.The only downside however, was the Afternoon Tea - not I'm afraid worth the £15 a head price-tag - but aside from that we would certainly stay there again

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors or at the back are quieter, away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rough-pelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, General Manager at Morton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest

Firstly I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for writing your review.

We’re pleased that our hotel has gone beyond your expectations, with the location, the facilities and the staff all meeting your satisfaction. If you have any suggestions in regards to the afternoon tea, please send us an email or mention it to our staff upon your next stay with us as we always aim to improve.

We very much look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards

Daniela Engler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#80 of 1,081 in London
1,847 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#401 of 1,081 in London
2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#365 of 1,081 in London
844 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#70 of 1,081 in London
3,467 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morton Hotel

Address: 2 Woburn Place, London WC1H 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £168 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morton hotel has 34 rooms all lovingly furnished with individual charm, to create a comfortable space with a relaxing ambience. Choose between our decorative twin/double bedrooms or our unique one and two bedroom apartments all comprising of sizeable en-suites with shower or bath tub, heated towel rails and under floor heating.All rooms are fitted with 42" flat screen TV and Sky, in room safe, air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi access, iPod docking station, telephone, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms are serviced daily and our Reception is available 24 hours. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing