We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel, great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morton Hotel
Ranked #77 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is among my favorite hotels I've ever stayed in. My husband, brother, sister, and I booked the two bedroom "Charleston Apartment" for five nights and had a stellar experience. Both rooms were LARGE--plenty or space to move around and unpack. I didn't sense much difference between the two rooms other than the fact that the master had a tub in the bathroom. Both rooms were clean, well decorated, and generally pleasant. I also give a big thumbs-up for the bathrobes--I always think this is a nice touch. It felt like a high-end boutique hotel. Though this isn't clear on the website, each bedroom in the apartment DOES have it's own bathroom. Both bathrooms had a blow dryer and were quite spacious.

The small kitchen (well-appointed with a dishwasher, toaster, mini-fridge, microwave, stovetop, and full complement of plates/dishes/silverware/serving utensils) was off the master bedroom, separated by the bedroom door. Off of the kitchen was the living room area with a table for eating. The living room area also had a sofa, coffee table, and large TV, which allowed us to watch the World Cup games together in the evening. We found the apartment to be a great value, as it allowed us to eat breakfast in the hotel and easily bring back food for a quick lunch or dinner from the Pret around the corner. The second bedroom was off the living room, again separated by a door. There was plenty of space and privacy for all. We were up on the 4th floor and didn't notice any street noise.

The location was also excellent--just a few steps away from the Russell Square tube stop. It's also only about a 10-minute walk (with luggage) to Euston stop, which allows you to easily connect to Paddington and the Heathrow Express. The British Museum and British Library were also easy walking distance.

We happened to be staying at the Morton during their one year anniversary, and we were invited to a Tea Party to celebrate. The party was in the well-decorated, cozy lobby and we had a lovely time, feasting on tea, champagne, and finger foods. As a parting gift, we were given a bottle of wine. This little extra really took our stay to the next level. While this tea was free for guests due to the special occasion, they also have a regular afternoon tea service for a fee.

I only have two small areas that I think could be improved. First, the front desk staff seemed a little green--while everyone was friendly, the level of service and ability to answer questions about the area was limited. This may be because the lobby is on the garden level (one floor below the entrance of the building), so you don't walk past the front desk when coming or going from the hotel. This means that guests don't regularly interact with the front desk staff, perhaps lending to that more detached feeling. Despite the lobby's location, I still felt totally secure since a room key was necessary to operate the elevator/access the stairs. Second, our "king" bed was two beds pushed together. I think this is quite common in Europe, but the crack between the beds makes for a slightly less easy sleep (though the mattresses themselves were fairly comfortable) .

All in all, we had a wonderful stay, and I will DEFINITELY be staying at the Morton when we return to London.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor (rooms 42 and 43) and didn't experience any street noise. If traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    87
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
58
162
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This small 31 bed hotel has been newly renovated. It is well located, in Bloomsbury, just off Russell Square, and minutes from Russell Square tube and Euston station, so well suited for us tourists visiting London. We arrived at Euston, a 5 minute walk to the hotel, and from the hotel we took the tube into London, or walked. Leicester Square is a 15 to 20 minute walk.

The room on the fourth floor was very clean and well appointed, , with very comfortable bed, large TV, new roomy ensuite, and plenty of space for belongings. Would stay there again.
Simple Breakfasts are served in the basement in the sitting room.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed in the Morton Hotel on the 15th and 16th July room 25. What a gem of a hotel. Room was spacious, bed was very comfortable, tv with full sky tv not that had much time to watch, lovely shower and bathroom. I am a light sleeper room was overlooking side street where tube station comes out and noise was not an issue slept like a baby.
Breakfast was continental great choice and delicious well with the £7.50.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Travelled on my own to meet relatives from Australia who also stayed here felt totally safe as need key card to access hotel off street and dead bolts on room doors.
Russell square tube station is 1 minute walk great for getting around London.
Will definitely be going back and soon hopefully.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmcleods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I stayed on the third floor, which we heard was better due to street noise. We had no issues with that whatsovever- however the walls are pretty thin and you do often hear other doors open and close and the cleaning staff in the morning. The lift can be noisy as well, so I would recommend a room away from that.

The rooms were clean and very modern. It was so relaxing to come back to after a day of touring the city.

The location couldnt be beat for the price. We were a 2 minute walk away from a tube station and five minutes from the British musium.

Make sure you try he late's they were spectacular!

Room Tip: Higher floors are better that are not facing the street, and away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripaholick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Morton Hotel, June 15-19 in Room 31 before heading out to Devon for 3 nights. Upon our return to London we spent one additional night at the Morton before taking the Eurostar to Paris. This last night we were in Room 41. Both rooms were the "Bloomsbury Bedroom" and have been renovated to a high standard. They were immaculately clean, with all the amenities you would need, a wardrobe with hangars, safe, small fridge, great (free) WiFi, a large TV with lots of channels, and a large beautiful bathroom with walk in shower. Everything seemed very new, and although the rooms are small, they are designed well, and there was lots of space for us to walk around in our room without bumping into each other. We were not bothered at all by the street noise as mentioned by other reviewers, in fact we did not even seem to notice it at all, and we were situated at the front of the hotel with a view to the street and Russell Square. The beds were extremely comfortable and we slept well. It is about a 20 minute walk to Covent Garden from the hotel, and the Russell Square tube station was perfect for getting all around London seemingly in a few minutes! We attended a concert at the O2 arena on June 18, and even getting back to the hotel by tube took no more than an hour even with all the crowds departing the concert at the same time. We would caution against taking the tube to Russell Square from Heathrow if you have a lot of luggage, as on arrival at Russell Square you will have to walk your luggage up a number of steps before you get to the lifts - and the lifts can be very crowded at most times of the day. We did not take advantage of the breakfast at the hotel, but there is a Pret a Manger located across the street from the Russell Square Tube station which is a perfect spot for breakfast before starting your day. The staff were very efficient, checking us in and out quickly, and available if we required any assistance during our stay. If you are going to be visiting London soon, we would highly recommend the Morton Hotel. On our next visit to London, we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAK06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.. Beautiful room at rear, sky movies free which was godsend after long days sightseeing! Booked with the continental breakfast which had great choice. Small library and bar which was not expensive!! Location is excellent on corner next the Russell Square Underground and a five minute walk from British Museum.. Hop on off bus stop is across the road. Would definately recommend to anyone going to London to stay at the little gem of a hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pearljam8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights and loved it. We had a two bedroom apartment with a central living area that allowed us to gather in the evenings. There was also a little kitchenette, so two nights we stopped at a local grocery store on the way back from our day of sightseeing, and enjoyed cheese and bread and wine and hanging out together. It is a straight shot from Heathrow to the Russell Square underground station on the Picadilly Line, so really easy to get from the airport to the hotel, and then to anywhere in the city. Everyone was really nice and so accommodating! Twice we had electrical problems with outlets in the kitchen, and the staff was there immediately to fix it. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dottiebdae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#100 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#328 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#307 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#113 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morton Hotel

Property: Morton Hotel
Address: 2 Woburn Place, London WC1H 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Morton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morton hotel has 34 rooms all lovingly furnished with individual charm, to create a comfortable space with a relaxing ambience. Choose between our decorative twin/double bedrooms or our unique one and two bedroom apartments all comprising of sizeable en-suites with shower or bath tub, heated towel rails and under floor heating.All rooms are fitted with 42" flat screen TV and Sky, in room safe, air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi access, iPod docking station, telephone, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Rooms are serviced daily and our Reception is available 24 hours. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing