We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Pappa Roti - CLOSED

Pappa Roti
Restaurant details
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I had my first pappa roti bun in Dhaka, and wanted to try one again here in London. I was not disappointed, same great taste, and this cafe offers greater selection of drinks. Fantastic buns, great toppings and flavours. I would recommend having it freshly baked, eat in, but even as take away they taste miles better than anything out there. Little gem!

Helpful?
Thank Naximov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    0
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slow”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Disappointing service. Waited more than half an hour for bun and drink to arrive as only 2 staff working at busy hours. Huge queue building inside the shop which makes for poor atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruthtrotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molde, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow! The buns!”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

A bit on the pricey side (normal for London I suppose) and the coffee and hot chocolate was ok, I just dropped by on my way back from the hotel...but the bun was one if the most incredible things I've ever tried! Crispy, soft, buttery, and perfect! The definition of NOM! Worth a trip on the tube just to try it

Helpful?
Thank Skathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesex
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Almost opposite Bayswater tube”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I picked this up from a food - blogger, the name not giving too much away !
All they do is this "bun " and tea and coffee.
They are famous for ' karnak ' tea, which l would love to try, but their coffee is so excellent , taking the trouble to go there, that's what l want .
The " bun" is pre-cooked, and ready at the back to drizzle with one of four toppings, and quickly heated.
It looks like half an old fashioned Easter Egg, buttery light sponge, with a crisp outside, which is then flavoured.
Totally unique !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roddy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What is in those BUNS????”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

I have no idea what the secret ingredient is that makes the sweet buns so tasty, but it drew me in every morning before I journeyed out into the city for my daily adventure. The staff was friendly and delighted to talk about the Malaysian treat that they made fresh, day and night, for patrons looking for a tasty quick treat eaten out of a bag, or a gooey dessert that finished off a meal. One bun with coffee in the morning or their tea was all I needed every day! We bought four of them to take with us when we left for France as a reminder of our time in London. Simply delish!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jettdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pappa Roti also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing