We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service not included” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of B.Y.O.C. West End - MOVED

B.Y.O.C. West End
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Service not included”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

"Service not included": a direct quote from the harpy who suffers to greet you at this establishment. I arrived from Scotland twenty minutes late for our booked slot after battling through unfamiliar London traffic and was quite astonished to get a telling off for not being completely prompt! Our group was there for a birthday party and the poor birthday girl got a dressing down for arriving early- apparently synchronised watches are a requirement for this bar.

The rest of the evening was very pleasant- the mixologist was much friendlier than his colleague and made us a lovely selection of cocktails.

Sure enough at the exact end of our booked slot we were shooed out by Miss Service-with-a-grimace although by this time the amount of booze we had drink made this exit completely hysterical.

This is a great concept but could do with a bigger space and some basic customer service training.

Helpful?
8 Thank 473HJM473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BYOC, Manager at B.Y.O.C. West End, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
We're aware that our response to this complaint is late. However we feel it's important to make a statement about the offensive language chosen by this guest in their complaint to describe a member of our team.

"Service not included": a direct quote from the harpy who suffers to greet you at this establishment"

We would like to state that regardless of how this guest feels about being informed of service charge not being included, it is completely unacceptable to use derogatory language such as 'Harpy' - whether regarding a team member of BYOC or anyone for that matter.

We do offer two hour sittings. If you are late for your booking you will have less time to drink at our establishment. It's in our hosts interest to inform you of your starting time and how much time you have left of your booking, especially if you are late. Two hours (or less) goes very quickly and most guests think they have longer than they realise.

Also, to complain about having to be asked to leave on time doesn't qualify as a complaint. Also, to complain about 'basic customer service' training being needed is not relevant if you feel it's acceptable to use abusive language on a daily basis. Especially on public sites such as Trip Advisor.

We regret to say that you are not welcome to drink in this establishment again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    11
    10
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bring your own bartender”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Was a great idea but the wait between cocktails was slow and with only one bartender and 6 tables full of people you really need 2. Cocktails made were very yummy and atmosphere was cool. Good to do once but wouldn't do again. £35/person spent and you get 4 cocktails in 2 hours.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank nursebridle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really special speak-easy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I would go as far as to say BYOC is my favourite bar in London. The concept is simple: disguised as a juice bar from the outside, you go inside and give the waitress the eyes and then she will pull back some velvet curtains and lead you downstairs into the cosy cellar / basement/ You bring some bottles of alcohol, as they do not have a licence to sell any. For a fee of £20 for 2 hours, they provide a bar person who comes around with their trolley of herbs, spices and syrups to mix you up as You tell them what you like (may it be a flavour or even a colour) and they will create the most unusual, yet tasty cocktails you could imagine. It is 1920s themed, and wonderful old music is played to add to the environment. You need to book very far in advance but it is well worth it.I have been twice now and each time has been special. I would recommend asking for a beetroot and rosemary concoction (mine was with vodka). Enjoy!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We visited on a Friday evening and were absolutely delighted, we will definitely be back. Our host for our 2 hour slot was Pete and he made some truly amazing cocktails. We took 4 spirits and a half bottle of Champagne with us and Pete made something with everything and all were great. The bar is tiny as stated only fits 18, there is an amazing use of space, with glasses hanging from the ceiling and every bit of space is utilized. Pete is a true genius with his creations, don't expect any of the servers to flare as there simply is not enough space for this. If you want a loud, brash night, please give BYOC a miss. It really is the most kooky find in London I have found to date.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 10661981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“CANNOT GIVE ENOUGH PRAISE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

WHERE TO BEGIN!

Myself and my fiancè came here on a cold, wet and miserable Saturday evening, for a prebooked session between 10pm and 12pm. It was our first time, and although we found it slightly difficult to find (it really is just a doorway to a juice bar but if you street view it before hand you will have no problem), boy are we glad we did!

We arrived slightly early and were told by a wonderfully kind and inviting host that we could come down to the cocktail area early, so after handing over our £20 each (incredible value for the service provided) we climbed down the almost vertical steps to what can only be described as a cocktail cave!

Stone walls lit up by candles and small wooden tables with seating for up to about 18 people, the room was perfectly intimate and made you feel as if you really were involved in something extremely secret and special.

We were shown to our seats, right next to the gentleman making the cocktails which gave us a great opportunity to have a peek at his trolley of wonders. Herbs, spices, juices, fruits. You name it, it was there. And I can defnitely vouch for the freshness after overhearing him telling the host from the juicebar upstairs that he was running low on orange juice, and within minutes she had returned with a bottle of freshly squeezed juice that has been made just minutes before.

We chose to bring whiskey, spiced rum and vodka and for the 2.5 hours we were there (the kindly allowed us to stay longer), we had approxiamtely 6 cocktail shakers made for us, each one being absolutely amazing and varying from cucumber and vodka to rosemary and lemon rum. I can honestly say that they were the best cocktails I have ever had.

But the main enjoyment of the evening was watching the pure art that was being demonstrated by the wonderful host and mixologist Ian. He was extremely friendly and explained everything he was doing and was an absolute pleasure to watch work. His passion was practically bursting out of him and it was definitely mirrored by the truly phenomenal drinks he made for us. I cannot praise him or his skill enough.

We had one of the best evenings of our lives and this was definitely down to the wonderful combination of great concept, amazing drinks and perfect delivery from a team of people who I cannot reccommend enough.

Cannot wait to go back!

Sara & Nils - Date visited 1.3.2014

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bowgen1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed B.Y.O.C. West End also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing