We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An entertaining hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Magic Cavern

The Magic Cavern
Ranked #214 of 343 Concerts & Shows in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: London's longest running magic and illusion show presented by Richard Leigh in the intimate and atmospheric Barons Court Theatre. Check the website for the performance schedule.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Essex UK
Level Contributor
312 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“An entertaining hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Well, this may not be the most sophisticated magic show, but it is a pleasant and entertaining hour. Great for children, as they are mostly chosen to participate. Yes, I worked out some of the tricks and worked out some of how the grand finale piece is done, but that does not detract from the entertainment. This show featured David Major and Mike (didn't catch the surname) as his 'warm-up'. Take the kids - they will love it.

Nice pub, too. And the loos are nicer than you would expect!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank malaita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    0
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value, a great night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

For such a limited amount of money this is a fantastic night out. Book early as it's a tiny venue which will sell out! Over an hour's worth of entertainment and real magic and a lot of audience participation, this show suits kids and adults. Highly recommended!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DarrenVidler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“He was no David Blaine! Very disappointed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

WENT on 27th Dec as Xmas treat for my fiance who loves magic. Reviews all said amazing well sorry but I have seen better magic at a Children's birthday party. The set is a tacky fibre glass dust ridden mock up of a cave with rickety seating. All the "tricks" I have seen many times before, some in my 5 year olds magic set from Argos. Even Tommy Cooper could perform better magic with humour. It was so dire we didn't even stay for a drink after all though the pub looked more entertaining than the show. A complete let down for my poor fiance. Under 8s May be amused but definitely not for grown ups!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy magic show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We went to the long-running, Sunday afternoon show which lasted 1h 15 min. We took a group of 8 year olds and the audience was half kids, half adults, squeezed into a tiny underground theatre under a pub in Baron's Court. It was a very good, close up magic show with lots of audience participation and amazing tricks - some standard card tricks (that were nevertheless super) and some that were totally unexpected and took our breath away. The magician (Richard Leigh) was very personable and entertaining. A very enjoyable event.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Magic Cavern also viewed

 

Been to The Magic Cavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing