We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, mediocre food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ostuni

Ostuni
Reserve with OpenTable
Ostuni is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,349 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Londons’ first Italian restaurant and bar dedicated to the regional cuisine of Puglia. Woodfired meat and fish, Antipasti, Pastas, Cocktails and Puglian wines
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced, mediocre food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

What a disappointment. The place looks great, but the food is pretty poor and ridiculously overpriced. You can make better pasta at home. The wine, served in thick chipped earthenware, is similarly overpriced, making for an evening of stodgy pasta and expensive wine. On the plus side, it's a pretty restaurant and the staff do their best to make your meal enjoyable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    71
    40
    22
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London NW6
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Three months of waiting for a table was worth it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We've lived in Queen's Park for 30 years and always cmplained of the dearth of good restaurants. Now the area is trendy and lots of eating places are opening up. We waited for three months to get a table at this restaurant and finally, they could fit us in last week. And boy! was the meal worth the wait.

This terrific Pugliese italian restaurant offers a sensational introduction to cooking from this region of italy. The fusion of tastes leaves you wanting more.

We went for lunch and as we walked in, a table of four had ordered pasta with fresh lobster. It was just being served and the smell was so enticing that we did the classic "Ooh! that smells yummy. We'll have the same please!"

We skipped starters but the waiter suggested a variety of breads to dip in a fragrant olive oil that is regional to Puglia. Wonderful!

The platter was eye wateringly large; full of fresh home made pasta, covered with a delicious smelling sauce, topped off with four Lobster halves.

The ambiance is buzzing. The staff are welcoming and friendly and our waiter could see that my husband was disabled and having a spot of trouble using his right hand, so he spent a good 20 minutes getting the meat out of the Lobster then filling our plates. I thought this was the kindest gesture ever. The portions are large, so go hungry to do the food justice. Im a small eater and left quite a lot of my pasta because I couldn't eat any more. The waiter suggest that I take home a doggy walk to eat for supper. Yes! of course I took up the offer. The left overs tasted just as delicious that night!

The dessert menu had some nice things on it but we opted out of that course simply because we couldn't manage to shove any more food into ourselves. The coffee is good and strong and would grow hairs on your chest. Too strong for me as Im a pleb who likes mild coffee with gallons of milk, but husband approved of his little cup of strong, black coffee.

Word of mouth has made this THE place to eat so if you get a chance to - and a table - take it. You won't regret the experience.

The bill came to £30 for two. I thought this was reasonable for the size of the portions.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doubledeeLondonNW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“nice friendly Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Queens Park has arrived as a great place to eat. Ostuni is a very nice friendly Italian restaurant, where you can eat in or outside. Set in a mews, parking is easy, which is a real bonus in London. The staff are polite friendly and very helpful, especially the front of house manger a real nice knowledgeable Italian. In addition the food is interesting and good but the menu is small and a little limited but there is something for everybody. Recommended, worth a visit

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank john69_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Queen Park's Little Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We have a leisurely family lunch outside on the terrace in the the Lonsdale Road street scene. I recommend this dining experience with friendly staf who give help and advice with the interesting menu which caters for all palates. The exstentive anti pasti is almost a main in its self and so be cautious not to over order. We ordered the diverse mains from meat to fish. The chops and the mixed meat grill which two ordered we prepared exactly as ordered and the fish which the other two have was fresh, tasty and delicious. They offered to fillet the sea bass if needed. The wine list is adequate and the range from low price house to better known labels is fine but not so cheap. They love children who feel most welcomed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent family lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a fantastic Sunday lunch at Ostuni. The food and service were all perfect. Our waiter Eric kept 3 generations of our family happy and entertained. The calamari with shreds of deep fried courgette was a massive crowd pleaser in particular. Service was, at our request, conducted at a relaxed pace. We felt looked after and very well fed by the time we left. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevinjbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ostuni also viewed

 

Been to Ostuni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing