We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, light modern conversion”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
London, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
S D
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely, light modern conversion”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great warehouse conversion in an ideal location in Southwark. Up two flights of stairs is a well appointed modern apartment, with heaps of space and everything you could possibly need. The location, mintues from the wonderful Borough Market, Tate Modern, Millenium Bridge and St Paul's is great. Excellent public transport is very close and the management company is highly efficient and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space , light and location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BucKOne2
Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Top location, top place.”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed in this lovely apartment for just over a week at the beggiining of April 2015 and would not hesitate to recommend it to others. Yes the two flights up are a bit steep and if you have heavy luggage it could be a struggle...we were met at the apartment by a lovely fellow called Rodney who not only showed us the ropes but gallantly carried my quite heavy suitcase up for me. Bonus! Pluses: it's light, spacious and warm. The roominess was terrific. For a couple of days there were three of us in the apartment but the spaciousness and two bathrooms meant we never felt crowded. The double bed was comfortable - not fantastic - but ok and the trundle bed they set up for the extra bod was perfectly adequate. The couch in the lounge area was super comfy and long enough for two to sit on very comfortably ( there's also an Eames chair and footstool as well ) and the kitchen iwas terrific and well equipped. The location was perfect...five minutes walk to the fabulous Borough Market which was a highlight of our London stay....try The Gentlemens Barista Union just around the corner for excellent coffee and hot chocolate, Est.india the Restaruant next door for really delicious Indian, Tas for superb Turkish. The apartment is close to both Borough (4mins) and Southwark Tube (8 mins)and the excellent bus service the RV1 is just around the corner so access to virtually everywhere you'd want to visit is so, so simple. We easily walked to the Tate Modern ( the sixth floor restaurant has divine views and excellent food) the Tower and London Bridges, along the wonderful Thames, back and forth over the millennium Bridge and to St Paul's for evensong. This really is a superbly located and very comfortable place. The one minus was minor - the street the apartment is situated on is a major road so traffic noise in the morning and during the day in the front lounge and kitchen area can be loud...the back large bedroom is not affected by this at all and as we were out and about virtually all day it wasn't a major issue. One of the bathrooms has a bath and I have to say after a heavy day's footslog soaking in a lovely deep bath was another huge bonus. The owners have left really good notes with tips, suggestions, and instructions and everything worked wonderfully. We loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and spaciousness
Liked least: Traffic noise
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TractorJo...
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Location & Comfort”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in many homes around the world - and this apartment is one of the most functional, spacious, and well located spots.

Not for those with disabilities, however.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: LOcation
Liked least: No tea candles
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2016
Tractorjohn,
Many thanks for your review and we appreciate your comments.
Regards and best wishes,
Rolf.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kittykat5...
Coralville, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful warehouse reno unit that was very spacious with a great location.”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

First the two negatives. 1) Busy street with lots of truck traffic which was loud when you sat in the living room and worked at the desk area. It was a little quieter at night and the bedroom is at the back so no trouble sleeping. 2) The "couch" as the owners call it is really a VERY dated leather sectional comprised of 2 end pieces and an armless middle piece. The pieces eventually start to slide apart as you sit/sleep on it and that is after you manage to sit on a sofa that is only 10" off the floor. The positives were plenty! Great Location close to three train station and walking distance to London Bridge, The Shard, South Bank area, Borough Market etc., Fully equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances including a dishwasher, granite counter tops, and a freezer, two baths (master had double sinks & shower and was the location of the washer/dryer), VERY large bedroom with skylights and loads of closet space. There was central heating which was very comfortable, The owner met us when we arrived and gave us the tour of the place and also provided us with a book about local places to eat, bus info, and there were written instructions for every appliance in the apartment. We felt very safe as there is a locked gate from the street that you needed a code to access entry plus a secure lock (need key) to the stairs up to the unit with buzz in from the apt., and then another key entry and deadbolt lock once you reached the door of the unit. We would stay here again and would recommend it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of being at "home" instead of a sterile hotel room.
Liked least: Street noise and the couch which is a badly needed upgrade in the unit.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2014
Thank you for your nice review.
A new sofa was on order before your stay and this was delivered just a few days later.We have now put a photo of this on the site.
We are very pleased to receive so many excellent reviews for this apartment.
Sincerely, Rolf Skotnes
Residence Apartments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billandju...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment in good location”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Modern. spacious apartment with all the amenities one would use. The apartment was comfortable and light and attractively furnished. It is located in within easy walking distance of M&S simply food and Sainsbury in the opposite direction. London Bridge with the Borough Markets is a slightly longer walk away.
Transport in the area is good and easy to use. There are frequent buses which travel in Southwark street that will take tourists from Covent Garden to Tower Bridge via London Bridge and the London Eye. Borough and Southwark underground are within walking distance.
Enjoyed our stay in the apartment and the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was a very roomy cmfortable apartment
Liked least: Climbing two flights of stairs and dim lighting in the bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glow19201...
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location and service but air quality, cleanliness and comfort in furnishings seriously lacking”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Booking, instructions and car service were excellent for the Playhouse Ct. apt. The apt had good wifi and the location was close enough to the Tube train station, which we used every day. We enjoyed being close to Borough Market and some good places for breakfast. Though we didn't use it much, the kitchen should be appreciated by guests who enjoy cooking. The negatives included poor air quality, lack of cleanliness, and lack of comfortable furniture. There's no built-in air exhaust in the place, only heating, which we didn't need. The portable fans provided just blew air around. We weren't comfortable with idea of leaving terrace doors open all night given the city locale. The bathroom closest to bedroom was mildewed and the entire apt smelled of same. The mattress was thin and uncomfortable, and the pillows were stained (cases didn't seem fresh so we changed them and saw the pillows). The worn sofa and chair in the living/entertainment area should be replaced. I suppose we could all have different needs or standards for travel accommodation. My husband and I weren't expecting extreme luxury with a rental, but serious cleanliness is an absolute must with the number of travelers who go through a rental, regardless of other amenities. Frankly, I'm amazed that the daily rate has increased 20.00 since June. We can't recommend this apt to others under its current condition.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location; kitchen
Liked least: Poor air circulation (no exhaust fan); thin, uncomfortable mattress, stained pillows; mildew smell and black mildew spots on bricks in bath, mildew in shower; washing machine/dryer old and inefficient
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.We were very surprised with some of your comments as we have had dozens of reviews from clients who found this apartment ideal for their London stay.We contacted the cleaner who informed us that the apartment was cleaned for 3 hours before you arrived.Both bathrooms were shining and there was not a speck of dust or crumb anywhere.
We are not sure what you mean with poor air quality. As you knew in advance, the apartment has no air conditioning and if you found it too warm all you have to do is to open the windows.If you open the windows in the living room and bedroom the airflow through the apartment is pretty good and there is no need to open the terrace door.The kitchen does have an electric air exhaust and so does the main bathroom.The shower room has had a small amount of mildew in the past, no bigger than a 5 pence piece, and this was easily cleaned with neat bleach at the time.The bed is less than one year old and of a good quality. It has a firm sprung mattress and is covered with a mattress protector and a comforter.The retro leather sofa is supposed to be worn. That is the retro look! However,it offers low seating so we are seriously looking for a quality replacement.
I trust that our explanations are helpful for future travelers as this apartment is considered to be one of the best value for money in the area of short term rentals.
Sincerely Rolf Skotnes
RESIDENCE APARTMENTS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longrange...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location, but a bit tired”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Location was the standout. Less than 10 mins walk to Shakespeare's Globe, Borough Market, the Shard, and two Tube stations. Good supermarkets nearby, along with plentiful eat out options. It was great to have room to move, unlike a lot of poky London hotels going for similar (and higher) rates. That said, furnishings were 'tired' Nd none too comfy after a long day out.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing