We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“EXCEPTIONAL FLAT , GREAT LOCATION!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
London, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
rhernande...
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“EXCEPTIONAL FLAT , GREAT LOCATION!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I saw this flat online last year and decided to book it- you will not be disappointed!
It is easy to get to from Heathrow Airport.
The flat is a building with other offices- you might miss it but you find it.
The only caveat for some will be the curved stairs to the 3rd floor- may be hard with luggage to maneuver the stairs but not impossible.
The flat was had a great kitchen (I cooked a lot in it) and a view of the street from the veranda. Two bathrooms, and a nice bedroom.

To get the lay of the land- as you exit the apartment, turn right and the first street will be Marshalsea. Mint Park is right there- very nice part to do cardio and spend the morning there. Walk a bit further and you will get to Joe's Kitchen- a good restaurant with a pretty good cup of coffee. Breakfast is a good recommend here.
Across the street you have a really nice pub(Thurmans?), very enjoyable.
As you keep walking, you hit the high street. There is a Starbucks across the street along with a few Middle Eastern restaurants. The Borough tube station entrance is there as well. You can get anywhere in London (central or otherwise) in one transfer on in some instances no transfers. I highly recommend getting an Oyster Card unless your country has contactless payment chip cards in which case that will work as well.
There are several tube apps that will direct you to where you want to go.
Walking left out of the flat, there are restaurants, a barber, and an M&S on Southwark high street (turn left)- great store to get lost in with the abundance of food options the are available. It is a great place to pick the essentials for cooking- eggs, milk ,etc.
Borough Market, I believe this is one of the best open air markets in the world, is not far- it is a 10 minute walk or so , but I believe it is easier to the take the Borough tube to the London Bridge tube station and it is right around the corner from the tube station. The market is near the Southwark river bank. Lots of handmade food options from great homemade cheeses to pasta to baked goods.
As I said it is very easy to get to all your tourists destinations- Buckingham Palace, London Eye, Houses of Parliament, the Globe, National Theatre, Oxford Circus, etc.
I would also like to thank Rolf and the owner for making this a very pleasant stay. I have been to London several times, and I enjoyed this visit very much. I would not hesitate to book this flat again(in fact I probably will for the same time next year if it is available).
One last thing- highly would recommend an Uber to the airport- found it very affordable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Thank you ever so much for such an extensive and good review. Much appreciated - and we look forward to welcoming you again.
All the best,
Rolf
RESIDENCE APARTMENTS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cat F
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful apartment, Perfect size and location!”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The location is convenient to major attractions, London Bridge, Shakespears Globe Theater etc. and their local tube and train stations. The flat was very comfortable and roomy which was a big concern of mine having never been to London before. Knowing that air conditioning is not "standard" in most places as it is in the states, it actually wasn't bad. We were there on the hottest days, upper 80's and low 90's, but they had fans that helped tremendously. The final several days that we were there the temps dropped to a more "normal" range in the 60's and all was well. There is no elevator/ lift, so that may be a concern depending, but all in all, our stay was great and the apartment was gorgeous. The contacts were very helpful and accommodating as well. My daughter and I will definitely reserve this place again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
Many thanks for giving us such a good review.
I am glad to know that you had a nice stay.
All best wishes,Rolf
RESIDENCE APARTMENTS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ponpef
ponpef
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Huge, Wonderful Apartment in Great Neighborhood”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed just over a week and wished we could have stayed longer. The apartment is clean, sunny, huge and well appointed, with comfortable furniture, two bathrooms and a great kitchen. Step outside and you're a few blocks from the Southwark Bridge, the Tate Modern and The Globe. A short walk to Borough Market and the Tower Bridge. There are groceries nearby, and you're close to at least three tube stations. We spent our days walking in huge arcs around the city and ended a couple of them at The George, nearby, a pub once visited by Dickens and Shakespeare. (We had our best night at a closer pub across the street where we were welcomed by a bunch of guys who congratulated us for finding a "real" London pub.) Anyway, I heartily recommend this apartment, and find that even looking at the pictures makes me miss it like an old friend.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2017
Thank you for such a wonderful review.
Please do come back - any time !!!
Kind regards,
Rolf Skotnes
RESIDENCE APARTMENTS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewdwi...
Kelso, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great apartment in good location”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Friendly and efficient booking arrangements. Apartment in good condition and all facilities as advertised.
Apartment security good. Location excellent for accessing all parts of London.
Good variety of local amenities; shops, restaurants, etc.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Dear Mr. Wilson,
Thank you very much for your review, much appreciated.
Best,
Rolf Skotnes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dwonford
Ampthill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect location for many of the famous London attractions and sites. Transport links close by. Clean and tidy apartment with everything you need.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for your review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in this apartment.
Regards Rolf, RESIDENCE APARTMENTS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“So much space”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

After being on the road for 4 weeks it was such a delight to stay at one place for 7 nights.
As we were shown through the apartment it was very obvious that it was quite large which also included 2 bathrooms and a fully equipped kitchen plus an office area so we were very impressed with our choice of stay.
Also not far to the metro station and shops and an easy to walk to the Thames.
The only negatives being the lack of double glazing on the street facing windows and a few squeaky floor boards but apart from that everything else was great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The size of the apartment
Liked least: Noise from the street.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2017
Thank you for your good review.
Rolf
RESIDENCE APARTMENTS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“comfortable flat at great location”
Reviewed 28 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

location is great! 5 minutes walk to borough tube station, 10 Minutes walk to borough market, 10 minutes walk to southwark bridge, and Times riverside. flat is clean and comfortable with one bedroom, very nice kitchen, big sitting room, and two bath rooms. Flat is very secure, with locked door downstairs, and the front door is locked during night and weekend.
no elevator, if you have big luggage, it is difficult to carry it upstairs.
The windows facing to the street have no glass, only blind, so it is a bit noisy at night, the street is quiet, but you can still hear cars driving through the street, and fire fight trucks alarming. even if the bedroom is not facing the street.
The shower head of one bath room is leaking water, it had not been fixed until we left. so three of us were only using the other shower.
The door facing the street can't be locked, we had to use a chair to stop it opened by wind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Thank you to Rose B for a good review.
However, we do need to correct a couple of things. OF COURSE, all windows in the apartment have glass panes. Most windows in the UK are sash cord windows which can be pulled up and down. Unfortunately, one of the windows in the living room had been left open by the cleaner. As the blind was pulled down, she forgot to check it. It is a VERY simple operation to close the window as all you have to do is to pull up the blind and then pull up the window. London can get relatively cold in the winter so it is not possible to live in a flat which has no glass panes in the windows !!
The apartment has two bathrooms. Unfortunately, one of the showers started to leak 48 hours into their stay. A new shower was ordered immediatley from the manufacturer but this was not delivered until the morning of their departure date so we are very sorry about this inconvenience. The apartment is located on the second floor and from the living room there is a door leading out to the fire escape. To lock this door from the inside, the handle needs to be turned up. The written instructions in the apartment explains this ! There is also a free landline telephone - and we were only a call away if you had any questions.
Very good to hear that the flat was comfortable at a great locatioon.
Thank you and best wishes,
Rolf Skotnes
RESIDENCE APARTMENTS
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing