We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper little find”
Review of Proper - CLOSED

Proper
Price range: US$5 - US$19
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Description: A small cafe specialising in Great British Artisan Sausages and fine English Ciders. Serving Smallbatch coffee, speciality teas and Sponge cakes. We are open for morning coffee, lunch, afternoon teas and Pre-theatre sharing platters. Closed Sundays and Mondays.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Proper little find”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Popped in here with some friends before a theatre trip. I have to admit that the menu was a little complicated, but once it was explained we were well away! The only problem was that everything sounded so interesting that it was quite tricky to choose, but we managed. As we all chose the sharing platters, the food came on large boards and was simple, but excellent. I am not a fan of sausages, but even I was converted by the duck sausage. If you visit, try the Kent nettle cider - fantastic. Can't wait to take my husband next time we are in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jilliebee_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen F, Owner at Proper, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you. Glad you enjoyed it. We have changed the layout of the menu so hope it will be a bit easier to understand next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Charming little find in covent garden”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Lovely little cafe tucked away in covent garden, do some amazing gourmet sausages, changes daily, great selection of teas and coffees, would recommend this cafe

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great little find!”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I work in Covent Garden and its always so satisfying to find a new place to eat! I had a really nice experience here, choosing to share a platter with a friend. It was great to try an array of sausages and the mash, salad, Yorkshire that came with were all very tasty. The ambiance in the restaurant is lovely and the service was really personalised. I really enjoy a non-chain restaurant - especially when its a good! Reasonable pricing, great food!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hannah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Covent Garden”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This small restaurant specializes in delicious sausages.
We were not that hungry just looking for a snack so just had the sausage (pork and sundried tomato) in a yorkshire pudding with an onion ring. It was wonderful, simple food well done. We tried one of their beers, the IPA and it was also very good.
We will definitely go again and have one of their 5 sausages special platter to share. I want to try the chicken and blue cheese which the waitress said is one of her favorites.
It makes a real change from the usual chain restaurants that seem to populate convent garden nowadays. We will be back!! I wonder if we can buy some sausages to take home?

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful haven”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I'm agreeing with the other reviewers here. Real PROPER food. It takes a while to work out the menu but then we chose 2 tasting plates each of 5 sausages and all 4 of us got a plate of mash, crispy skins, couple of delish onion rings! Yorkshire pud, cute jug of onion gravy, and a pot of homemade relish - AND a portion of really good salad. Very good value. Cakes looked delicious too. Compared to the manic scene round the corner in the cafés in Covent Garden it was really tranquil.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PanhaggertyPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Proper also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing