We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times”
Review of Troy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Troy Hotel
Ranked #596 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good times”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

First looks were very good standard of furnishings exelent. The cleaning of the room could be higher. The carpet could be re-fitted as it came away from the walls/doorway It could benefit
Better with a bar Queens way tube is just on the corner. And so are all the places for food
Overall a good time was had.

Room Tip: Chose room 101 it has air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    269
    144
    37
    28
See reviews for
75
242
68
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sesto San Giovanni, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel is pretty nice as well es the receptionist, a nice and gentle Italian girl who gave us many advices about the city.
As for the rooms, we stayed in single ones, very cleaned and well furnished: clean towels every day, soap and shampo/conditioner, boiler, mini fridge and safe, fan/radiator.
As for breakfast, quite satisfying: continental one with yogurt, bread, toasts, fruit, croissants (not fresh), butter, honey, jam, ham and cheese, orange juice, tea, hot chocolate, milk and coffee.
The location is really great: in front of Kensington Gardens, 5 minutes walk from the tube (Queensway and Bayswater). The Hotel's street is very quiet and silent, but the area around is full of every kind of restaurants and pubs, there is also a big shopping mall and many mini markets open till late at night. Moreover, the Tourist information office is just some steps away from the hotel. Not to forget free wi-fi in almost every pub!
I highly recommend Troy Hotel and I'm definetely going back there next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BareeAi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Good hotel for a solo traveller - stayed for 3 nights. The location is handy - walkable from Paddington, but close to 2 tube stops - Bayswater and Queensway, which was good for getting around. Very close to Hyde Park and many restaurants nearby. The room itself was adequate but the shower was very small (even for an average 5 ft 5 female). Unfortunately no air-conditioning in the basic rooms.

I really wanted to give a higher rating - particularly as 1 staff member was very nice and helpful after a rude restaurant encounter - but I just cannot deal with cockroaches - 2 cockroaches in 2 separate rooms that I moved to. The staff member on checkout was extremely blase about it just being summer, having open windows and the building next door not being clean...

Was good value for a London hotel, since I was travelling alone. But probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannelin137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Maalot Tarshikha, Israel
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stay 3 nights in this hotel, with 3 rooms.
There are huge differences between the rooms, some has air con but some hasn't. also the mini-fridge is very weak.
The location is great, 2 minutes walk to Queensway and Bayswater undergrounds (2 different lines), and to hydepark and kensington.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The staff is efficient, friendly and helpfull. Room is clean with comfortable bed, tv , air-con. tea and coffee making facilities. Set of toiletries in bathroom with hair dryer. Simple continental breakfast is served daily. Free use of computer complete with wi-fi is available.Very well located, close to tube stations like Queensbay and Bayswater, a few minutes stroll from Hyde Park. Shops and restaurants are all within 10 mins. walk. These are non smoking rooms in a quiet location. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 646Jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I only put average because it is not a "very good" hotel. It is good, well located, clean and has got what you need in the room. They keep your luggage for the day for free which is really nice. Check out time is later than some other places.
Now, the breakfast was borderline i.e. the choice was limited and of average quality and the afternoon receptionist (male, did not get his name) was less than welcoming, never got a hello or a smile out if him and he looked annoyed that I was asking questions about payments etc...As I'd booked the hotel through an external website I did have questions. I stayed in a single room.
The toilets would have been difficult to use had I been taller or fatter (knees touching the sink cabinet). I found the stay nice, I did not suffer from noise and the location is really good, only a few details to scrub up and it'll become a very good hotel. At the moment I feel it is slightly pricy for the quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 83Frenchy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Hotel was located in quiet area,only few min walking from underground -Noting Hill and Queensway.The room is small,but in London is usually that you will get small room,for this price i was pleased,breakfast also noting special but like i said before for that price-good.The most important-clean and bed comfort...quiet in nice area,where you are need just few minutes walking to first pizzeria or restaurant or shopping center with Tesco:)
I will come back to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cagalj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#497 of 1,067 in London
551 reviews
The Byron Hotel
#523 of 1,067 in London
870 reviews
Caring Hotel
#505 of 1,067 in London
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#490 of 1,067 in London
209 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#280 of 1,067 in London
1,600 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#427 of 1,067 in London
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troy Hotel

Property: Troy Hotel
Address: 68-70 Queensborough Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #596 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Troy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Troy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troy Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing