We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value & Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Troy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Troy Hotel
Ranked #590 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Value & Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Booking a budget hotel can often be a gamble so I wasn't expecting too much of my one night stay at the Troy Hotel. However, I was pleasantly surprised!
Very nice staff from the receptionists to the breakfast waitress. Decent clean room and shower with toiletries. The breakfast was perfectly adequate, yogurts, cereals, croissants, toast etc.
I would certainly stay here again, it is very good value for money and just 3 mins walk from Queensway Tube station.
My only gripe - no hairdryer.

Room Tip: Go for the de-luxe option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2ManySh0es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    260
    139
    37
    27
See reviews for
74
233
65
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed 1 week in May. It is located very close to underground and opposite of Hyde park.
All was clean and the service was very helpful and friendly. Budget friendly hotel. The WiFi worked very well and the refrigerator was a nice surprise for a single room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatih J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I’m not the 5 star kind of guy so I chose this hotel as it met my budget as other hotels were pretty pricey at the time. It’s located in Bayswater close by to lots of restaurants, grocery stores, pharmacy and a couple of tube stations. It’s an excellent location, has Hyde Park close by and provides a decent room with a comfortable bed and amenities. It was a nice hotel that did the job for me and I have no complaints. The shower is pretty small but then so was the one in Rome and the one in Paris was 50% bigger which made if ‘spacious’ but still small. I’m not sure if that’s how it is in Europe. The hotel is located on a quiet road with the next road containing all the restaurants, shops etc. It’s pretty safe and there’s a variety of cuisines due to the ethnic nature of the neighbourhood. I’d be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waurn Ponds, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed 5 nights June 2014, in single room. Would not suit large person, toilet area small. All clean, service was wonderful and very helpful. 2 mins walk to Hyde Park close to everything, Queensway & Bayswater Tube station 5-10mins easy walk. Safe area to walk around in. Grocery stores and places to eat close by. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If need room to move request a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueC61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at here for 5 nights in a single budget room. It was fine for me, but if you are a large person you would not fit in the shower or toilet area. All was clean and the service was very helpful and friendly. There was a fan in the room that I used one night but no air conditioning. The breakfast was okay but nothing special. There is an elevator. Also the hairdryer is a regular one.shower gel and shampoo are supplied. The hotel is close to the bayswater and queensway tube stations.the area is safe and there are several small grocery stores near by. I would stay here again but a larger single room.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paristx49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

From other reviews expectations were low, but hotel was clean, room a decent size, bathroom great, staff helpful. Room was pretty warm tho, height of summer would be ott!! Fantastic location near tube & park. Would stay again :-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We decided to give this place a chance despite negative reviews, and really regretted it. The room (Deluxe double) was so small that if one person is sat at the dressing table, the other person has to climb over the bed to get to any other part of the room, as its so cluttered with furniture that serves no purpose. It was boiling hot all the time, unless you opened the window and put up with the noise from outside. The shower? Well you'll love it if you either like freezing or boiling water, there's no in between and it changes temp of its own accord. The man at reception was beyond rude. I asked him some advice about how far a certain attraction was, and without looking up from the computer screen he muttered "Depends what you mean by far. Walk there, get a tube or get a cab. I dunno" Wow helpful!! Then on the last day, the same receptionist watched us struggle to retrieve our bags from the luggage cupboard whilst rolling his eyes and sighing, as though he had much more important things to be doing! Don't bother letting the cleaners do your room, they don't empty the bins or make the bed, they, simply throw the heavy throw over the bed no matter what state it's in. Breakfast is toast and a bit of fruit, not terrible but the room you have it in is lifeless and depressing with not much light. I really am not fussy (despite my screen name!) but I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled into thinking 'deluxe room' means anything, it's actually their most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FussyBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#496 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Caring Hotel
#501 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
The Byron Hotel
#494 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#529 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#284 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#432 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troy Hotel

Property: Troy Hotel
Address: 68-70 Queensborough Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #590 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Troy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Troy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troy Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing