We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't trust the hotel's website”
Review of Newham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newham Hotel
Ranked #945 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here last night, will not head back there again. The first room we were given was literally a cupboard with a bed and a wardrobe. The window looked out into the laundry room, we know exactly what make and model they use! The curtains didn't reach the end of the window but don't worry we were told, people hardly ever go in there!!!! No air what so ever, use the toilet and your knees would be in the shower. The tv mounted on the wall was actually at the side of the wardrobe so you couldn't see it from the bed. We asked for another room and were given one in the building next door. Very unfinished, strong smell of mould and a window above the door and no curtain, considering it was on the shared corridor, it gave no privacy. The other room we had booked was slightly better unless you wanted to flush the toilet, have a kettle of water handy for that job. The TV arial was hanging out of the back of the tv, very noisy. The hotel looks and smells as a place that needs a lot of money spending on it. The breakfast was just passable as long as you like very overdone eggs lefts on the side.Would not recommend anyone stays here!

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Rooms are nice but it is very expensive due to it's location their are a few hotels next to them a lot cheaper but this ones expensive. Nice rooms though, could be cheaper. I would go back here again if I had no other choice,

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbieessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Staffs were unfriendly especially the kitchen staffs. The management should see to the hotel corridors/ hallway because stinks, carpets too old needs replacement, Breakfast serves 7.am to 9.am tool early, is that delibrate for guest to miss breakfast? Hotel furnitures too old and breaking down.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotchocblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Booked five rooms as organised a family trip to london.. this hotel 'almost' ruined our trip. Turned up & the location was pretty grim! Very run down & an absolute dump. Staff were rude, no organisation, no one shown us to our rooms they jst asked for £10 deposit for each room, handed us keys & remote & let us get lost in the tunnels of doom otherwise known as creaky corridors. Room numbers were all over the place we needed a map! Room 8 was awful! Touched the walls & thought i was going to fall through them- they were soft with mould! Bad drainage problem the bathroom stunk, was unclean & small. Took one look at the bed & was glad i did not have a uv light, could see stains on sheets never mind the rest! Complained and requested to change rooms but they said they were full and only option was a building that was not even part of the hotel that stunk of weed, had single glazed windows & resembled a creepy hostel - must have been workers flats! We had no sleep because of the noisy busy road & had to share a bathroom but did not dare leave our room! Did not feel safe at all & was rudely awakened by a man on the phone (loudspeaker) speaking in a different language at 6am next door! Breakfast was poor and everybody got in each others way, cups & saucers were in one place, milk in another. Hardly any tables & the mushrooms looked anemic. DO NOT STAY HERE IT WAS THE WORST EXPERIENCE WE HAVE HAD ..at least we have learnt to pay more & stick to well known chains i.e travel lodge etc. The rooms were nothing like the pictures, very misleading, this place needs closing down to be honest!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lwill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I wouldn't be without Trip Advisor, but feel that over the last year or two, its integrity and accuracy are being eroded by people who give bad reviews to Hotels that really don't deserve them.

London is one of the most expensive cities in the world in which to stay, fact (!) and its difficult to book a decent room for less than £100 in the Centre. The Newham Hotel is based a few miles out in Forest Gate, 5 minutes walk to Forest Gate train station (trains to Stratford and Liverpool Street every 10 minutes most of the day) and 2 minutes walk from a bus stop with a 24 hour service (every 8 minutes during the night) from Central London (Oxford Circus, Bank, Tottenham Court Road).

The area is fine, a little run down in a couple of parts but we felt safe and were back in the early hours during one night. Reception is pleasant; we had a good, efficient welcome on arrival. Furniture is dated, bur rooms are clean and warm and to the person who said the heating was high (it was during our stay!), why on earth they couldn't turn the radiator down or ask for help doing that I have no idea! The room was adequately sized, certainly not the box room you often get with budget hotels and it was immaculately clean on the day of arrival and following its daily servicing.

The bar offers cheap drinks and breakfast was great. The quality of the cooked breakfast, particularly the bacon, was high. Staff were really polite, helpful and efficient.

If you want an immaculately presented bang up to date hotel in the Centre of London, then this is not the place for you - my advice would be to pay Central London prices.The floors slope a little, the furniture and decor in the rooms are a dated (though perfectly serviceable and the bathroom was quite new), but we paid £50 a night with breakfast and for this sort of price, this hotel is a great little find, magic! I get increasingly irritated with people not factoring in value for money compared with other establishments on Trip Advisor

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MG100_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here whilst working in London ,don't want to stay again .twin rooms very small,dirty mould and damp everywhere ,smells of damp , bathroom dirty full of mould plumbing terrible toilet constantly blocking until someone comes to unblock it with a mop or a plunger for the shower.unfortunatley there isn't a zero on the ratings because they would of had that score . Especially a for the young Asian man that dripped is heavely soiled mop that had been down the toilet
straight past my bed dripping all over the already dirty carpets.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pasconite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I would like to start by saying that this hotel was good value for money, especially considering how late we booked. I would have liked to have given a 3.5, as opposed to a 3, but alas I cannot!

We had three rooms, two of which were on the ground floor. One of these faced onto the main road and as we had the windows open, there was a lot of road noise, but we did sleep decently on the second night when we shut half the windows. The bathroom was spacious and the room was comfortable and clean. The second room was also a little noisy, but again we slept well, though it was a smaller room with a very small bathroom. The third room was upstairs and was more spacious again.

Some of the décor was a little run down and there was dust on top of the wardrobe, but the linen and bathrooms were clean and that was the important thing. The staff were very friendly and happy to help us, and we had an enjoyable stay. The free breakfast did include cooked options and while not the most adventurous or extensive of things, was also much appreciated.

I have been very lucky with other budget hotel stays, but provided you expect no frills and don't mind if things are a touch run down here and there on a cosmetic level, this hotel is good value and full of lovely people, which is to be much valued. They also have free parking, which is again much appreciated.

Overall, a good budget establishment, many thanks to all the staff =]

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Boston Manor Hotel
#763 of 1,076 in London
298 reviews
Viking Hotel
#772 of 1,076 in London
699 reviews
Hotel 65
#774 of 1,076 in London
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#625 of 1,076 in London
598 reviews
Venture Hostels
#710 of 1,076 in London
143 reviews
Forest View Hotel
#771 of 1,076 in London
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newham Hotel

Address: 349 Romford Road | Forest Gate, London E7 8AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #945 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £39 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Newham Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Newham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newham Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing