We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, clean and ticks the boxes”
Review of Pembury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pembury Hotel
Ranked #876 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Santa Maria, Cape Verde
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value, clean and ticks the boxes”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I needed an early start in London and decided to stay the night before. I did an online search and found the Pembury, near Finsbury Park tube station. The walk from the tube station was interesting and it did not look ,I've an ideal hotel location. However things stated to pick up a little as I approached the Pembury. It is opposite the park, although it was dusk when I arrived.

The concierge was friendly and I had a room on the lower ground flor. There has been a recent re-furb and although my room was small, it was clean and had modern fixtures and fittings. The noise was okay and I could control the room temperature.

I had a snack at the restaurant, panini and a glass of wine. Breakfast was included but didn't start until 7.30am and I had to leave before that time.

Staff were friendly and free wi-fi in reception area was easy to access. I got the room for £50, but they were changing from £80 and the hotel was full. Clean and inexpensive - good economy accommodation for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    108
    124
    63
    62
See reviews for
47
152
30
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

It's certainly not the Ritz or even it's fourth cousin but it cost £60 and is within 3 mins of the Tube. It isn't luxurious but on a random Monday night in November it was clean and good value. If it had cost £120 my views might have been different but it didn't. The WiFi was free also.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Caveat Viator C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Very noisy hotel because of the cheap wooden floors and the doors that SLAM you wake up very early in the morning you can hear through the walls because it is like cardboard. Disgraceful hotel this happens every morning.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pembur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

A great way to start the day furious. Room minuscule, noisy and freezing. Shower freezing. Parking crowded and only on double yellows. Breakfast horrible and served too late to be of any use to anyone who needs to work. Staff cretins.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nocebo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Pembury Hotel for 2 nights in November for a sightseeing weekend.
Once booked we were a little apprehensive as the trip advisor rating kept going down, however we had nothing to worry about!
The lady on reception upon our arrival was helpful when checking our bags into storage (we arrived before check in).
Once we'd checked in we found our double room adequate (room 107). The actual room was very clean with housekeeping and fresh towels everyday but was quite small, but for a sightseeing weekend in London all we really needed was a bed to sleep in as we didn't intend on being in the hotel too much. Tea & coffee making facilities were in the room, soap and shower gel was in the bathroom (which was larger than anticipated, although judging by other visitors photos I'm guessing this is a rarity!). The bed was perfectly comfortable, although the walls are a bit thin.
Although we'd booked the hotel with breakfast we didn't actually have any at the restaurant as only continental breakfast is available. (We did know this at the time of booking, but having stayed in some hotels in London with nowhere nearby to eat, we thought it best to include breakfast just incase). We chose instead to eat in a nearby cafe for a full English breakfast which was really good value with very friendly staff. (I'm not 100%, but I think it's called The Park Cafe & Restaurant)
The location of the hotel is perfect at only a short walk from Finsbury Park tube station (which is only 3 stops from Euston on the Victoria line-useful if you're travelling to London by train).
Overall a good experience for the price paid (especially for a hotel in London) and would recommend to others.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerB504202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Booked my boss and his wife in this hotel due to location. Pictures and writeup it seemed ok. Wish i hadn't lucky to still have a job.....early check in was a joke! Tried a week before. Day before and on the day.....no can do....bathroom....mould. Heating on or off no happy medium. No lifts. Cannot access carpark until checked in. Please ensure you go in 2's so someone can stay with car parked on double yellows. They didn't bother with restaurant as it was basically a coffee bar.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank randyfriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Best Western London Highbury
#536 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Queens Hotel
#646 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Five Kings Hotel
#841 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Corner House Hotel
#731 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#298 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#576 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembury Hotel

Property: Pembury Hotel
Address: 328 Seven Sisters Road | Finsbury Park, London N4 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #876 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pembury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its well known service and competitive prices combined with its location, 2 minutes walk from Finsbury Park Underground Station which connects directly to all major Central London's Underground Stations and also Heathrow Airport, makes this established hotel a firm favourite for regular business and leisure travellers, both locally and throughout Europe. The hotel is also only a 10-15 minute walk from Arsenal's Emirates Stadium. The rooms are decorated in a bright color scheme, the sizes of the rooms vary due to the nature of the building. All are comfortable and equipped with all the basic amenities to make your stay a memorable one. Single, Double and Triple Rooms are available. Guests can also kick-start their day with a continental breakfast served in the hotel's breakfast room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pembury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing