We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booking and treatment upon arrival poor.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Pembury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pembury Hotel
Ranked #878 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Booking and treatment upon arrival poor.”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I had booked a family room for myself, my 16-year-old son and my 8-year-old son at this hotel and received confirmation via Email that we had booked a double bed and a single bed in a family room. Upon arrival, the receptionist informed us that we were booked into a double room as opposed to a family room. As we queried this, her manager interrupted and was adamant that there were no other rooms available, taking no responsibility for this problem but rather blaming the booking website. The manager was rude, unhelpful and took no responsibility. Also, he did not take into account that it would be very difficult and uncomfortable to fit us all into the double bed in the room to which we he ensured us we were entitled to. Eventually, the manager put us into another grotty, inadequate hotel nearby. The room appeared not to have been cleaned in an age and our entire experience with the hotels was quite awful. I would suggest that no one make a booking with the original hotel (the Pembury Hotel) since the customer service was some if the worst I have ever received.

Room Tip: Don't book a family room because that's not what you will get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    108
    123
    61
    61
See reviews for
47
148
30
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kotka, Finland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

It is quite hard to be objective when you are forced to move here because of the "problem" in the hotel originally booked. Let's, however, give them a change.

It was not so easy to find a reasonably priced hotel with good location in London when you want something more than a dormitory. I somehow managed and then found myself in here. This quite recently renovated hotel was clean and room in fourth floor was ok. The lift by the way rises only to third floor and the staircase is very narrow! Tiny room had private bathroom with decent water pressure. There were no air condition and no internet connection. Because of only one single lamp in whole room two person need to do everything by the same schedule. Some day we got two towels with a carpet for bathroom floor that was useful because the floor was flooding after shower - but most days only one towel was given.

Breakfast was included in the price but that was not very much: coffee or tea, juice, bread wit butter and one sort of cheese and one sort of ham with some cereals - nothing fresh, nothing warm, nothing to be mentioned.

Staff was not very friendly or helpful, they just did their job and that's it.

Hotel was located next to Finsbury Park housing big music festival just during this very weekend so the neighborhood was quite noisy and restless. And it was far far away from the heart of the city. Subway station was quite near to hotel but over 20 minutes to the centre was bit too much for me - especially when I originally booked hotel located in the centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel was nice. We arrived in London in the morning and were able to drop off our luggage at the hotel before going into the city. That was very convenient! We were on the ground floor and the room was nice. Private bathroom was small but nice. Breakfast had few choices but for free it helped save some money. Cafe was good. Only complaint we had was being on ground floor we didn't feel comfortable leaving window open while we were sleeping. No screen or guard. Other than that it was great and will definitely look it up on my next visit!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandyPaul23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Too thin walls. Had to listen to a prostitute doing her business all night and could even hear what they were saying. Slamming doors in the corridor echoing. I was infuriated at how much noise traveled. Didn't get any sleep. Very disappointing romantic stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just a 5min walk from Finsbury Park Stations, close to a Lidl, bakery and Tesco Express which is a plus. Hotel looked tidy and reasonably smart on arrival at reception where we were dealt with quickly. The room (not on the main road side)had the usual, though was lacking a reading/bed side light. A few scuff marks on the walls but as mentioned before the room was clean. Bathroom, though small was fine(proper sized shower), the problem I found was the shelf above the sink, as I wasn't able to reach into it fully. Some of the flooring creaked in the corridor, and I would have expected a mattress protector, unfortunately when we stayed the WiFi was only working in the cafe and reception. Breakfast suited me - cereal, toast, OJ and tea. All in all not too bad a place, though it was done through a deal so I would be reluctant to return if I was to pay full price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig13mcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The room was nice and clean. Very nice out door patio in front right across the street from the park. Inside reception and breakfast area/bar are very nice. Staff was very friendly and helpful. However, the included breakfast was not good. Toast, jam, ham, cheese and cereal. The coffee was awful. It would be much better if they would offer fresh fruit (even just apples and bananas), yogurt and eggs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We are a mature couple and have been travelling for 13 months.
This hotel was a real little gem.
It was close to a Metro station; there were plenty of buses up and down the road outside.
There was a lounge and little restaurant attached where hotel guests had a discount.
The whole place was quite clean.
The room was adequate and the bed quite comfortable.
The bathroom was very small but clean and functioned well.
We had no street noise.
The continental breakfast was really nice.
There was no WiFi in the rooms but plenty of signal downstairs in the lounge and restaurant areas.
The surrounding area has plenty of eateries and pubs and a laundry.
If we return to London again this is where we would stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
BEST WESTERN London Highbury
#517 of 1,088 in London
475 reviews
Queens Hotel
#666 of 1,088 in London
210 reviews
Five Kings Hotel
#874 of 1,088 in London
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Corner House Hotel
#739 of 1,088 in London
393 reviews
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#564 of 1,088 in London
525 reviews
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#271 of 1,088 in London
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembury Hotel

Property: Pembury Hotel
Address: 328 Seven Sisters Road | Finsbury Park, London N4 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #878 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pembury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its well known service and competitive prices combined with its location, 2 minutes walk from Finsbury Park Underground Station which connects directly to all major Central London's Underground Stations and also Heathrow Airport, makes this established hotel a firm favourite for regular business and leisure travellers, both locally and throughout Europe. The hotel is also only a 10-15 minute walk from Arsenal's Emirates Stadium. The rooms are decorated in a bright color scheme, the sizes of the rooms vary due to the nature of the building. All are comfortable and equipped with all the basic amenities to make your stay a memorable one. Single, Double and Triple Rooms are available. Guests can also kick-start their day with a continental breakfast served in the hotel's breakfast room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pembury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing