We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really horrible place”
Review of Belgrove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belgrove Hotel
Ranked #924 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I had the misfortune of staying at the Belgrove Hotel in Oct 2013. It's a real dump, only slightly better than using a sleeping bag and sleeping on the pavement somewhere outside King's Cross. I've been travelling around the world for 20 years and I have a clear sense of sub-standard accommodation, including in under-developed countries. I would put the Belgrove hotel amongst the three worst hotels where I stayed. What makes it worse is the fact that London is the capital of what is supposed to be a very developed country. I got a single room at the Belgrove hotel: extremely tiny, dusty, falling apart; the so-called private bathroom was so tiny that one can hardly enter in it; the room was next to the reception and therefore very noisy; the breakfast room was also very small; the so-called orange juice they served tasted like detergent... Seriously, if you look for a hotel in London, forget this horrendous place! Bernardo

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Recently stayed at the Belgrove Hotel with my sister while visiting london for 3nights and was very happy with our stay. Yes the hotel is looking alittle outdated and needs redecorating but if your looking for the ritz, this isnt it. It was clean and tidy, beds were comfy and made for us everyday, clean towels put in our rooms everyday too, staff were really friendly and the breakfast was a nice hot buffet selection.

Hotel room was pretty basic but it had what we needed..clean onsuite, tv, tea making facilities and clean and comfy beds. No trouble with noise either, we were out each day but were back in our rooms around 8pm and didnt have any issues or disturbances during the night...was nice and quiet.

Location was fantastic, right across the road from st pancras/kings x and a 2 minute walk to the tube station if that so we didnt have far to go on our days out.

Great price for a central located hotel, again location is great, about a 5min tube ride away from covent garden/piccadilly/leicester square.

The only thing i would ask for next time is a lower situated room. we got a twin room right on the top floor so was very tiring going up and down them everyday with luggage and bags etc.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a low level room, we got a twin room on the very top floor so was tiring going up and down t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teabelly83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Recently stayed at the Belgrove Hotel, as it was close to st pancras station, and a literal 1 min walk away from the tube. The staff were lovely and helpful, yes, the toilet/shower was a bit small but with a bit of maneuvering it is possible. Nice breakfast, and comfy beds and would stay again. if you're after something grand this isn't the place for you; however if its just somewhere to lay your head for a few days, then this is perfect.

Room Tip: if you have a lot of luggage, avoid the top floors as no lift is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fny1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

If you're in London and just need a place to sleep because you're otherwise planning on being out and about, this place will work for that. It's steps from the South Euston Road entrance to the King's Cross Underground station (just across the street from St. Pancras), so the transport links are outstanding.

Our room was pretty bare bones, but it was definitely worth what we paid for it. Don't book this hotel expecting lots of amenties, and you'll be fine.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the road. (Though we had a room facing the road, and I found that ea...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel was chosen for me, and you really do get what you pay for. The shower was a cupboard, and the beds were worst than hospital beds. Wifi was hit and miss. The room was noisy, I could hear the people in the room above me having intercourse. I could hear drunk people outside my window also. I recommend spending a tad extra and getting a different hotel if you wanna stay near Kings Cross.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel was clean but thats all it was, we believed that we had en suite but upon arrival found it was a shared bathroom. After paying £10 to upgrade to 'en suite' we found the shower was in a cupboard and the toilet in another cupboard which you couldn't sit on without your knees pressing against the wall, the plug sockets were dangerous and we didn't bother to stay for the breakfast we had paid for. Places such as these should not be allowed to advertise as hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Belgrove Hotel was a easy place to find being close to kings cross.
The place was run down and is in need of a overhaul.
We booked two rooms, both being en-suit, number 43,44 which was up two flights of stairs.
Not very good for my mum, as the carpets were worn and the banisters were loose in places.
We arrived at the rooms worn out from the climb, and saw holes in the outer external wall where the door handles and hinges had hit.
The room was small, but at least the linen and towels were clean.
The en-suit was very small and looked like it had been put together quickly, due to the toilet not being fastened to the floor.
Having been in London and had good weather, we returned back to the Belgrove and went to bed leaving the windows open for the draft.
This was a mistake as the main road was noisy , and there was a working area across the road working into the early hours.
The breakfast was ok but nothing special. Most of it was over cooked.
Would we stop again ?
Only if all the other B&B's in the area were full.
This could be a little gem, if only some money was spent on it

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#750 of 1,076 in London
576 reviews
Bloomsbury
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#872 of 1,076 in London
802 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#597 of 1,076 in London
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#265 of 1,076 in London
2,062 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#547 of 1,076 in London
947 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#306 of 1,076 in London
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belgrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrove Hotel

Address: 1-3 Belgrove Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #924 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £53 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Belgrove Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Belgrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing