We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Belgrove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belgrove Hotel
Ranked #930 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I have stayed in budget hotels before in London and my expectations of this one was not high so did not expect too much. I was on a budget trip and location was key, granted location is very good as right opposite Kings Cross station. I was in room downstairs and could hear other guests walking above me, so very thin walls, room itself was very basic and cleanliness left a lot to be desired. I am always happy with budget accomodation but there is no excuse for lack of cleanliness, there was a hole in the bedspread and carpet was filthy. Breakfast was very basic in a dingy small room were you could hear everyones conversation. I'm a firm believer of you get what you pay for and I guess by London standards you dont get much for £60 per night, thank god it was just one night as I'm afraid I would have checked out early should I have booked for longer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

At first I thought this hotel was basic but clean but after the creepy receptionist kept trying to get me to have a drink with him and following me to my room I would never go near this hotel again. As a woman staying on my own I felt very vulnerable and hardly slept worried what he might do.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
2  Thank Nat950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

worst hotel ive ever stayed in . I left a day early , I was put in the lower floor which had the smell of sewers ,the tv picture didn't work ,I could hear trains rumbling under me till midnight . the bed was clean and the breakfast ok . I found the staff unfriendly . I have stayed in other places on this street and have been great . very dingy scruffy place

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This small family hotel is literally a stone's throw from King's Cross and St Pancras International Railway stations. It's therefore ideally placed for attracting the weary traveller. But it could do with getting it's act together.
I spent two nights in a single room: the bed was fine although I had to ask for the feather pillow to be exchanged for a foam one as requested at the time of booking. The room was small and the bathroom even smaller, so much so that I couldn't turn round in the shower. The toilet bowl also contained lots of limescale indicating that it hadn't been cleaned properly for a long time. Otherwise the room was very clean.
The furniture was ok although one of the cabinet drawers threatened to come apart.
The staff were all very pleasant and professional, responding promptly to any requests I made.
The basement breakfast room was pleasant and the main 'English' breakfast on offer was okay, if not spectacular. There wasn't much choice otherwise: white toast, cheap cornflakes, watered down orange juice. But the coffee was great.
I suppose you 'get what you pay for' and £120 for 2 nights can probably be classed as cheap in comparison with other London hotels. But I think all hotels are being greedy and charging far too much because they get away with it ( a case of take it or leave it) and this makes it easier for this hotel to charge so much for such comparatively poor facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The worst hotel was pre TA days so is spared a review, but the memory still lingers on as will this one.
The outside of this hotel is brightly painted and looks inviting, but as the saying goes you can't polish some unpleasant things. Inside the corridors ar dingy almost grubby looking. The receptionist was friendly, but the night porter disdainful every time he had to disturb himself to let you in - that's what you're paid for!!!
The room was awful. I am a reasonble person I don't expect 5* service when you only pay a 1* rate, but this reached a new low. I even bothered to attach photos I was that incensed about how appalling this place is.
Above a tube line as well so there was rumbling every few minutes until well gone midnight.
It's cheap and close to St Pancras. Spend an extra £25 and you might find somewhere much better than this.
AVOID IT!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neomanSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

The bedrooms are horrible. Instead of plugs there is extension leads full of paint. Bathrooms are shared and dirty, burst pipes in the bathrooms. Bedroom window don't shut so it's left wide open. Bedroom has damp and holes in the wall. Carpets are filthy, the reception staff are rude and give you false information. The tv in the room is tiny, doesn't work, no remotes, and the rooms smell like sewers. Isn't worth the money at all, it's a third world, not even a basic room. Absolutely disgusting! Wouldn't ever stay here again!
Breakfasts in the morning was freezing, not suitable for rats never mind humans! No lift, we stayed on the third floor so we had to carry a heavy case up 3 flights of stairs, with no help!! We are all women aswell! To use the showers you had to go out your room in a towel and 9/10 times other people in the hotel would see you. We had a faulty plug as we asked 3 times for it to be fixed..finally when it got fixed, the electrician was really dodgy didn't look qualified at all! The staff are rude and I would never ever return to this disgusting hotel again!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The bedrooms are horrible. Instead of plugs there is extension leads full of paint. Bathrooms are shared and dirty, burst pipes in the bathrooms. Bedroom window don't shut so it's left wide open. Bedroom has damp and holes in the wall. Carpets are filthy, the reception staff are rude and give you false information. The tv in the room is tiny, doesn't work, no remotes, and the rooms smell like sewers. Isn't worth the money at all, it's a third world, not even a basic room. Absolutely disgusting! Wouldn't ever stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#559 of 1,078 in London
944 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#755 of 1,078 in London
573 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#259 of 1,078 in London
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#871 of 1,078 in London
796 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#585 of 1,078 in London
1,006 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#302 of 1,078 in London
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belgrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrove Hotel

Address: 1-3 Belgrove Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #930 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range: £54 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Belgrove Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Belgrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing