We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than we expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belgrove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belgrove Hotel
Ranked #924 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I booked the hotel, then read the reviews! Was expecting what everyone here wrote. We were pleasantly surprised at our room. It was clean, there were no stains, and was perfect for what we were looking for and good value for what we paid. We had a train to catch to Paris at 8 am and this hotel was in the perfect location. Was just down the street from Saint Pancras train station and we were there in less than 10 minutes!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieN49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    88
    157
    83
    130
See reviews for
85
143
78
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Small rooms, tea stained walls, no light shades so bare bulb hanging from ceiling. Wallpaper hanging off walls in what's meant to be ensuite bathroom, which has old fashioned outside toilet which sounds awful when flushed and not clean in the bottom. Wardrobe sways when opened and dressing table rocks as it doesn't touch the floor on one side. Bed soft but ok it's clean, not enough pillows though. I guess what can you ask for it's cheap for location, ok for a couple of nights but no more than that. Access to upper floors via stairs, no lift so doesn't cater for anyone using a wheelchair or pushchair. Lots of noise from the streets at night time making it impossible to sleep. Staff very helpful and friendly, Buffett full English breakfast not too bad.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel is very basic, and both room and bathroom are very small, but decent. This wouldn't be a problem if the place weren't so noisy. No double gazing so noise from the street, from all the rooms surrounding ours, noise from inconsiderate guests and noise from slamming doors all the time. Once said that, location is great, a few steps from St Pancras and King's Cross, so very convenient for Eurostar.

Room Tip: Not facing the main street, if possible. Too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos_Gonzalez2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a stopover before travelling on the eurostar the next day, it's okay as a place to rest your head for a night, but I wouldn't recommend staying here for much more than that!

Check in was nice and easy, the staff are very friendly, I never came across one person that was rude. Check in and breakfast staff were very nice!

The place does have a bit of a dingy feel to it. I think it's the decoration in the hallways. As well as this, the room was very basic. With simple decoration, a small television and beds. We did have all the facilities of a bathroom (a sink in the room, basic shower ( which was actually quite nice) and a toilet. The beds were very comfortable, and it was reasonably clean, the towels had some stains on, but we didn't use those! My biggest gripe with the room was the toilet. The room it was in was far too small, with my knees literally touching the door when I sat on it. That wasn't great but it was manageable!

The best thing was the breakfast, I was shocked at the room it was in! As it's downstairs and looks like you're heading into a darkened cellar, but give it a chance! There's toast and a hot English breakfast with eggs, bacon, sausages etc. Very nice and the room is actually quite pleasant when the sun is shining in!

Overall I would say it is slightly under average. I would stay again If it was cheaper, but do think they overcharge for what you get as it's quite run down, but manageable if you're just there for the night!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank aliicee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

very close to King's Cross. I just needed one night stay and was arriving late, so this served the purpose. The Room seems to be clean. I was okay with the room size but the shower/bathroom was pretty small. nothing fancy, simple and kept to minimum for one night stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaeuncool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Close to King's cross, and St Pancras. That being said,these are the only things that I could come up with that would make me stay there again. It's not like I have great expectations or any thing, But this hotel is just not up to anyone's standards, as far as i'm concerned. It is a place to rest one's head, albeit hoping and praying that one does not walk away, with more than he arrived with if you catch my drift? The only thing adequate about this hotel and I am being kind, Breakfast!! This hotel had more of a boarding house feel than a hotel, I have never been to a boarding house but this would have been in my mind's eye, had I looked for one!! I won't go into the unpleasantry's of the whole thing, I don't have the time or inclination to put anything down, as I booked this hotel for the merit of it being close to what I needed. And thus take some responsibility myself for not taking a more sober look, before booking. But i am of the ilk to say to myself it could have been worse!! But I doubt it! And I will leave it at that.There are much better hotel's in the same area, and do yourself a favor pay a little more.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Upper Coomera, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

On my own , needed one night stay in a single room, great location quieter than I expected as I am a light sleeper , small room but comfortable really good value , clean , awesome cooked breakfast I would stay there again. Hot shower.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neilwill14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#539 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#738 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#517 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#366 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#244 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belgrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrove Hotel

Property: Belgrove Hotel
Address: 1-3 Belgrove Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #924 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Belgrove Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Belgrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing