We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot nicer than expected. Detailed review”
Review of Blue Bells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Bells Hotel
Ranked #883 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My 4 friends and I stayed at this hotel for 4 days and 3 nights. After reading all the awful reviews we were so scared of what we will find once we got there and we even considered cancelling our booking. To our surprise, the room was actually really nice.
We stayed in the room B3 in the floor below the reception. There were 3 single beds and 1 double. Although it was on the basement, the room was spatious and bright, it had 3 big and beautiful windows. The beds were comfortable and clean. The furniture and carpet were outdated but oh well, they served their purpose. You had a frigde in the room, too. The bathroom was our biggest suprise, you could tell it had been refurbished not long ago. It was spacious and clean as well. There was a big towel for each person in the room
There was a heater to heat the whole room, and let me say it was enough. After an hour the room was completely nice and warm. Yes, you can feel the subway sometimes but unlike some of the reviews here, it's not that annoying and no, it doesnt feel like an earthquake, just a slight vibration that doesn't prevent you from doing anything, not even sleep. We had no problem whatsoever to sleep at night.
Every morning after we left to go sightseeing, the stuff would go in the room and make our beds, put more tea and coffee and clean around, not thoroughly though.
Wifi signal was a bit weak in the room, but still usable. The signal was perfect in the dining room.
The dining room, or living room was really nice, it had comfortable armchairs, chairs and some benches. There was a computer that you could use anytime, also a microwave. The breakfast was not assorted but quantity was good. There were two types of cereal, toasts with jam and butter, milk, coffee and juice. You could eat and drink as much as you wanted. And if you want to eat something else, you can always bring in your own food to the room.
The staff was quite nice, especially the reception staff. They would answer our questions with their biggest smiles.
The location of the hotel can't be any better. Notting Hill it's a beautiful and calm neighborhood. It's a five-ten minute walk to the subway station, bus stops, restaurants, gift shops and the local grocery store.
To sum up, we would aboslutely recommend this hotel if you're on a budget and you don't want to spend ages getting to places on public transportation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noemi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

The room is good and clean, location is nice as well! There are some shop and restaurants near it.
But the stuff was not friendly, didnt looked at us and just finished check-in and urged to leave.
I guess he might be busy and couldn't care the guests.....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shellytigerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

For the price and location, you can't beat Blue Bells Hotel. The hotel is clean, well maintained and the perfect place to be while in London. You're away from the traffic and noise and close to the Underground. You might consider eating breakfast elsewhere, but in a pinch, what they offer will sustain life for several hours.

Room Tip: On the first floor, there is a very large room with 3 or 4 beds and can easily accommodate a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDiamant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Were very happy with the hotel. Our room was large and spacious, except maybe the bathroom was small. The staff were very helpful and polite. The first day we had problem to connect to the internet but the problem was solved
almost immediately. The location of the hotel was very good. Very close to tube and portobello market. I felt the tube passes when you were in the room but us did not bother us that feeling.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baspos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

1. Got there at 3.30pm (check-in was at 2.00pm) to find our room wasn't ready...
2. The room was tiny and was certainly a small double bed.
3. Only given one cup with tea and coffee in room.
4. 24 hr reception?... got in just after mignight and we had to wake the night staff up after 15 mins of ringing random bells and shouting!
5. "Full" Contiential breakfast.... this consisted of toast, cornflakes, weetabix, orange, tea and coffee. Thats it.
6. The photos on booking.com are not of this hotel.
7. No safe locks on windows, wardrobe had no handle and no lamps.
8. Warmish shower...

Need I say more? Its ok for ppl not bothered about the above but you can pay a little more and find somewhere a lot better.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank fluffybops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have stayed in hotels all over the world, and was looking for an inexpensive place for myself and my two young sons. Well, this should be named the Blue Hells Hotel - it is awful. The only worse place I've stayed was in Washington DC where there were bullet holes and brown, very troubling stains on the carpet.
We were in the basement with the tube blasting through the room every few minutes. Nothing. It was beyond shabby, and we were greeted by a staffer who was sleeping on a mattress behind the front counter, who was entirely unsympathetic to our concerns about our sleeping arrangements (understandably, given where he was sleeping).
I couldn't tell you the names of many of the hotels I have stayed in, but this one I will NEVER forget, unfortunately.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank travlnggrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Room size (with 2 twin beds) was ok, L-shaped. Not large but ok. Not sure about their rooms with 1 bed, they may be very small. As it was a middle room the view was to a brick wall but the window at least opened to the outside. The furniture is out of shape and mismatched - a missing drawer on a stand, a propped up closet. Bed was ok. Bathroom with tub was good.

Flat-screen TV works well but locked down by the hotel so you can't use your own computer with HDMI cable to watch your own movies - you can however copy a movie to a USB keychain and plug it into the TV to play it.

The breakfast was just cereal/milk and coffee, one of the weakest breakfasts I've seen in Europe so far.

I was able to connect to their wifi but could not actually use the internet. It was either very slow or very overused and so I had to instead pay $7/day for the BT Wifi service available in the area which worked ok but got a bit slow at night.

The location is pretty good, about a 5-10 minute walk to the Notting Hill Gate underground.

Room Tip: Avoid middle rooms if you want a view, otherwise you'll be looking at a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreqntTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
#818 of 1,077 in London
505 reviews
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#424 of 1,077 in London
310 reviews
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#641 of 1,077 in London
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#432 of 1,077 in London
264 reviews
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#616 of 1,077 in London
473 reviews
Notting Hill
Reem Hotel
Reem Hotel
#595 of 1,077 in London
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bells Hotel

Address: 14 Pembridge Square, Notting Hill Gate, London W2 4EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #883 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £67 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Bells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Bells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bells London
Hotel Blue Bells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing