We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, amazing staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The London EDITION

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The London EDITION
Ranked #78 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, amazing staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel on New Years Eve and it was absolutely beautiful. the concierge were most helpful and all staff were polite and couldn't do enough to assist you.The hotel certainly added to what was a wonderful New Year

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    211
    53
    19
    14
See reviews for
119
379
60
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
279 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We actually live a few miles away and as our bathroom renovations had rendered the house a total mess we decided to splurge and stay a Saturday night.

Very impressive.

Great staff - friendly, very natural, asked what we were doing in the evening etc

Checkin was smooth - they add £100 onto your credit card to cover any expenses. I'm not this is strictly necessary but that's their policy - just an FYI.

Rooms (we had a deluxe in pale wood) was lovely - like a very modern ski-chalet. Brilliantly simple TV system with a lot of channels - about 80 - every news channel imaginable was catered for.
The neighbourhood is surprisingly quiet given it's proximity to Oxford Street/SoHo - we didn't hear a thing at night as (i) Berners Street is pretty quiet and (ii) the internal glazing is excellent.
The shower in the bathroom was superb - the bathroom is a tiled wet room but with a separate shower area at the end - very cool.
The bed could have been a little bigger but nothing to grunble about.
The mini-bar was very decadent and had the best nibbles I've seen in a hotel - the beer brewed fro the hotel is a great "drop".

My only critiscism was the quality of the food at breakfast - not the best (pastries very dry, black pudding barely cooked etc). The room itself is very grand in the classical/modern style and again, service was top notch.

A very good new hotel in London at reasonable prices - Stylish with great staff.

If I was visting London from out of town or overseas this part of town feels a lot more "normal" than Park Lane, Marble Arch etc whilst still being bang in the centre of all the action - and as such it would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coops9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We just love this hotel. Cool but still friendly, helpful staff and a wonderfully comfortable bedroom. The bar buzzes with a trendy after work crowd enjoying a cocktail or two, and the Berners Tavern is a delight. Great food, lovely staff and one of the most spectacular dining rooms in London. Well worth all the plaudits and the wait for a table - it's now become so popular it's become near impossible to book a table in the evenings.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadmans_Place
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel. From the friendly, helpful staff to the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in, everything about this hotel was well done. The restaurant transports you to a grand room in your personal mansion, don't miss the brioche french toast. The rooms are modern minimalist but with all the right accommodations to feel homey. Close to two tube stations, always a taxi out front. We can't wait to return.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed for a couple of nights over the Christmas period and was pleasantly surprised by what I thought would be a hotel perhaps achingly cool, which is not my style! I was wrong - the hotel is very cool, and has clearly attracted some well-heeled London Crowd types, without alienating other visitors and guests who just want to appreciate a well-done hotel, with excellent service.

The arrival experience is first-class: friendly and approachable doorstaff welcome you in, and the Front Desk team were equally welcoming and well informed about the hotel (not taken for granted given it had only been open for a few months in December 2013). The rooms were reasonably spacious by London standards and nicely furnished and designed - perhaps too dark for some people's tastes, but it was kind of to be expected. The Wireless internet worked well, although the portal pages were awkward to use on a smartphone where you need to enter your name and room number. The IPTV also worked well, although I was a little dissappointed that the iPhone TV control app wasn't working yet.

The Lobby Bar had a really friendly Italian Barkeep (Mixologist?) who was happy to chat about his various potions and mixtures on his bar and what he did with them. The Lobby Bar does get busy, and there is no guarantee that as a guest you will have a space to sit. The hotel is aware of this (we talked to them about it, out of curiosity) but there is no easy way to 'fix' this. The Lobby design is a comfortable mix of chairs and sofas with a pool table, which gives the feel of a laid back stately home in many ways. There is also the Punch Room, a smaller bar serving tradition punch cocktails - seating is limited, so it's best to book a table if you want to meet people there, which the hotel happily did for us. They have daily specials on the punch, as well as some traditional mixes that are always available - it was an interesting experience, but I didn't feel it was that well executed. The staff were friendly, but did not seem to have gelled, and there was an air of confusion in how they ran the place, which was a shame. I am sure this will improve with time.

The restaurant is the former brasserie of the Berners hotel, called The Berners Tavern, and I only ate breakfast there. Breakfast is a la carte rather than buffet, which was nice, and the food and presentation were very good. However, the decor, while unique, made me want some dark glasses - all the various paintings all over the walls was too much for me first thing in the morning after a long flight the day before! The kitchen was one of the quietest I have ever experienced - ok, it was breakfast service, but there were certainly no Kitchen Nightmares going on in there!

Overall, a fantastic stay. it's good to see Marriott doing something exciting with their Edition properties, and Autograph Collections - something away from their mainstay of JW's, Renaissance's and Marriott's. It feels fun, friendly and high-quality. This hotel hits the mark - good job, and one I would like to return to one day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This wonderful hotel has been opened in September 2013 and is centrally located 2 walking mins from Oxford Street and about 10 mins from Oxford Circus or Tottenham Court Road underground. It is nevertheless in a quiet residential street.

We were greeted in a very warm and friendly manner from the receptionist which made us feel immediately welcome and were very happy (for whatever reason) to be upgraded to the next room category (Superior room).
The room was a very good size for London and well appointed with a spacious bathroom including walk-in shower. The lighting is a bit gloomy for doing your make up, an illuminated make up mirror would be nice for the ladies. A free-standing make up mirror was discovered on the 2nd day under the wash basin.
The beds were very comfy with lots of different sized pillows and we enjoyed a good night's sleep. This might be different if you have neighbors next to you since the doors cannot be closed quietly. Mineral water was offered daily free of charge obviously in combination with the turn down service. The only thing my husband missed was a tea making facility. I did not.

Breakfast at Berners Tavern was a very pleasant experience. It is served at the table, individually selected from a menu and was very delicious. I always prefer a served breakfast rather than a buffet as it is much more relaxing and "peaceful".
Dinner at the Berners was also just as delightful and we were happy to get a table at short notice. As already mentioned by others, the Bar and the Restaurant at the hotel seem to be a "hot-spot" at the moment and were very busy in the evenings. In the afternoon it was easier to get a chair in front of the fireplace and to enjoy an afternoon drink.

All members of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and contributed positively to the "good vibes" in this hotel.

We had chosen the "Edition" for our 3 days stay because we had booked a show at the London Palladium which is within walking distance to the hotel. Overall we were very positively surprised and would categorize the Edition as one of the best hotels we stayed at in London within the last few years. Highly recommendable.

We cannot recommend the limousine service from Heathrow offered on the booking page of Marriot. The driver was 25 mins late, did not excuse himself and only greeted and acknowledged my husband ? In addition the parking fee and the London City Tax was to be paid in cash extra. London cab from the hotel to Heathrow was the same price and much more comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milo-tb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

If you like design and trendy location you can't miss this spot in London.
Nice and quite I suggest to book the restaurant very in advance. Otherwise drinks are a good alternative. Not extremely expensive. You are in London of course

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrZed07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#52 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Fitzrovia
Charlotte Street Hotel
Charlotte Street Hotel
#33 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#18 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#29 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,037 reviews
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#34 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London EDITION? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London EDITION

Property: The London EDITION
Address: 10 Berners Street, London W1T 3NP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The London EDITION 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The London EDITION brings together the integrity and character of a historic building with a simple, sophisticated design sensibility, creating a seamless blend of charisma and ease. With 173 rooms, a restaurant, two bars, meeting rooms and a buzzing lobby, the hotel offers a dynamic social hub where guests and visitors can work, relax, socialise and dine all under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The London EDITION reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing