We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb experience”
Review of The London EDITION

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
The London EDITION
Ranked #74 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We spent two nights at the new London Edition and the experience was fabulous. Great food at the Berners Tavern Restaurant; A+ for the accomodating staff; great location and great service. The atmosphere (a nice buzz) in the lobby is very lively and pleasant but not loud at all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,226)
There are newer reviews for The London EDITION
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 902 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary and it was not a let down. The hotel is fairly new and it shows. The place is clean and smart and attracts high end customers. The restaurant is slightly expensive but looks amazing, well worth the trip for that. We were looked after although I would say being a Marriott Gold member does not do you a lot of good here.
You can walk to the theatre, Soho and a number of other attractions to keep you occupied and there are 2 tube stops fairly close by.
One down side ... I left the aircon on all night at its lowest setting and it didnt do a lot apart from make a noise.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank beermatt31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent two nights at the new London Edition. The lifestyle concept of the Edition is great - it gives the atmosphere of a Club house. The interior design of the public area is just amazing with its opulent stucco. In contrast our room 232 was minimalist, what I personally liked a lot (only the cheap paint in the room did not match with the high quality concept).

The breakfast was delicious (I especially appreciated that the breakfast was à la carte and not buffet).

The staff in is very obliging and compared to other hotels in London outstanding.

The only thing what we unfortunately must criticize, is the professionalism of the Concierge (was a man with beard). In our opinion a concierge in a hotel of this category should be able to give recommedation about restaurants ect. and should not use Tripadvisor for this. Furthermore, we were simply asking to get a table for a typical British-Afternoon Tea. Somehow, he was not able (or in the mood) too organize this for us, as in his talked-down words "A table for this touristy-activity is hard to get during high season". Apart form this unprofessional comment, I finally did the reservation by myself and even got a table at the Ritz (there is no comment to add).

However, this event should not be the reason not recommending this hotel, as everything else was just fabulous!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fm113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great location very trendy and staff extremely friendly and nice. There is always a nice buzz in the lobby with lots of people in the bar creating a great atmosphere. The room was well furnished but quite small with a view directly onto the street. Bathroom was fairly large however

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank caribu75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Hotel has a great location- directly on Oxford Street and directly opposite to SoHo so you have immediate access to great shopping, dining and entertainment. The service at the hotel is impeccable, the staff extremely helpful and nice. The breakfast is held in the room that is actually Berners Tavern Restaurant later in the day. It is wonderful setting for a restaurant and the food was fantastic-best hotel breakfast I've ever had. (There is no buffet-everything is a la carte) I would recommend their healthy breakfast smoothies- divine.
What I did not like were the rooms. The one we had was really small- you didn't have enough space to open a large suitcase properly. Also the bathroom installations and plumbing were not up to the 5 star standard in my opinion-we could not find the plug for the hair dryer for example.
This is actually an older building that was renovated and refurbished -obviously they did not choose to make rooms bigger. Also our room did have dark wooden paneling up to the ceiling - what made it look even smaller. All in all, room decor not up to the standard in my opinion.
Still there was the usual great Marriott bed with great pillows.
I would definitely go there again although it is rather on the pricey side.

Room Tip: try to get bigger room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reggy_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Fantastic stay at the London Edition.

Having previously stayed at other Ian Schrager designed hotels I had high hopes and some expectations during the stay. ie stylish rooms/minimalistic bathrooms, good looking but iffy staff.

London Edition did not disappoint. Upon check in the front desk staff were very professional and efficient. Room was quickly assigned and we were shown to assigned room. However upon entry to the room we discovered it was dark and had a view of the emergency staircase. As we were staying for 5 days we called the front desk and asked if another room with a more open view was available. Five minutes later the front desk manager called back and advised another room was available and we were quickly moved and settled in.

New assigned room was same layout with gorgeous light coloured oak floors and walnut walls. Bathroom was same white tiles with rainshower and in my opinion too minimalistic as there is only one low shelf to put personal toilet bag and not enough hooks for towels for two guests.
The sleeping quarters are well designed, the king size bed/ pillows and duvet are extremely comfortable and luxurious. A huge 46” TV totally dominate the room and could be scaled down in size or hidden as it distracts from the beautifully designed room.

Location of hotel is great, just off Oxford Road but have major works on next building and roadworks on Oxford Street so during our stay it could be a bit of a construction site when approaching the hotel from the Oxford Street side. Nearby Tube stations (Oxford Circus or Tottenham Court Road) makes getting around the city easy.

The Berners Tavern restaurant associated with the hotel is a worthy place to have a special meal. The room is huge and cavernous and adorned with hundreds of paintings making it a fantastic place to spend a very enjoyable evening.

Special mention to Nina and Stephanie on the front desk for all their help and advice during our stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room with an open view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxSpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is the nicest hotel that I have ever stayed in. I felt a little out of my element with the doorman, bell hops and conceirge. Ever member of the staff was friendly and accomodating! The room was spacious and very clean! We enjoyed the lounge at the hotel and spent several evenings there after exploring London. The hotel is withing walking distance of SoHo were you will find many places to eat! There was no ice in the room but the person offering turn-down service went and got us some. I would stay here again without a doubt! Within walking distance of all the sights in London!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CM19852014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#60 of 1,072 in London
1,869 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#19 of 1,072 in London
1,488 reviews
Fitzrovia
Charlotte Street Hotel
Charlotte Street Hotel
#36 of 1,072 in London
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,072 in London
2,262 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,072 in London
3,288 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#6 of 1,072 in London
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The London EDITION? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London EDITION

Address: 10 Berners Street, London W1T 3NP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £274 - £845 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The London EDITION 5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The London EDITION brings together the integrity and character of a historic building with a simple, sophisticated design sensibility, creating a seamless blend of charisma and ease. With 173 rooms, a restaurant, two bars, meeting rooms and a buzzing lobby, the hotel offers a dynamic social hub where guests and visitors can work, relax, socialise and dine all under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Marriott, Agoda, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The London EDITION reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing