We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words can't begin to describe...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Horse & Stables Hostel
Ranked #111 of 862 Speciality Lodging in London
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Words can't begin to describe...”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

just how absolutely amazing this place was during my stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. They new the area and were willing to take the time to circle different places on the city map that i may enjoy seeing during my trip. The rooms have ample space so i didn't feel like i was directly on top of other people when i needed to move around and the bathrooms were a breath of fresh air compared to quite a few i've seen during my travels. The bar and restaraunt is quite lively and brings in a diverse crowd. You can enjoy a beer with office workers or hostelers and the staff always keep a friendly vibe. As for the food, it was gorgeous. American classics with a slight twist and great English pub food as well. This place has all the makings of greatness and it's not hard to see why when you realize they own the award winning Walrus Hostel just down the street (where you get a discount for staying at the horse!) All in all i can't stop gushing about the place and i hope my travels return me here sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickey-stabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    47
    25
    12
    8
See reviews for
7
34
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

It's so refreshing to meet such lovely and genuinely welcoming people especially in a cheap hostel that's walking distance from all things fun in London.

It all seems newly developed so the rooms are comfy and clean...and warm! Breakfast is generous and the staff are quick to answer any questions you have and bend over backwards to help you.
Thoroughly recommend and can't wait to go back!
Oh! Also the hot dogs are amazing and so cheap!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at this hostel. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, we felt safe and we were very close to the action in the city. Take advantage of the free earplugs if you can. The area is loud since you are right downtown. The only thing lacking was a communal space for hostel-stayers.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

With close association from the near by award winning Walrus Bar and Hostel, one can see the close resemblance between the two hostels. The staff is shared or inherited from the Walrus and that speaks for itself. Being new the bedrooms and bathrooms are new and improved. The bedrooms feature themed names and ample space to move freely. I was honored to stay in the Underground Room, complete with a mural of the Underground, chairs and tables, fireplace (I'm not sure if it was functional), and bright red linens. This hostel is connected to a restaurant with good food at a discount rate. The location to central London is awesome and it is nearly across the street from the Lambeth Underground station (1station away from the Waterloo Underground and National Rail station.

This is a must stay indeed.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if the hostel has a kitchen. I checked in on a Sunday before Christmas and the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed in the Horse & Stables at the beginning of November with a friend. We were two girls and stayed in the biggest dorm (I think) which had about 16 beds but they weren't all taken. The rooms are warm and clean, maybe a bit noisy from the underground line running adjacent but this didn't really bother us. The best part was the location, it's just south if the river, right beside Lambeth North and Waterloos stations, the London Eye and near enough the Tate - will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmcgnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Wellington Hotel
#498 of 1,068 in London
511 reviews
The Walrus Hostel
#40 of 862 in London
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#159 of 862 in London
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse & Stables Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse & Stables Hostel

Property: The Horse & Stables Hostel
Address: 124 Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 862 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six newly renovated dorm style bedrooms, with shared bathroom facilities situated over two floors. Above full bar and restaurant. From the people who brought you the award winning Walrus Hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Horse & Stables Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing