We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Comfortable Hostel, Cheerful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Horse & Stables Hostel
Ranked #119 of 930 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is the sister hostel to the Walrus Hostel, which is about 100 metres away and already has good reviews on TripAdvisor. Both are very central in London, within easy walking distance of Waterloo Station and the Houses of Parliament. The Horse & Stables opened officially in January 2014, but there were a couple of “soft openings” before that. I stayed over Christmas & New Year. It has fabulous new electric showers, so there is no danger of running out of hot water in the middle of your shower, as in some London hostels! The toilets are also new. The beds have memory foam mattresses and are very comfortable. Lambeth North tube station is across the road. Like the Walrus, this hostel has a bar downstairs with a great atmosphere; the differences are that the Walrus does not cook food, but has a kitchen so that you can; whereas the Horse & Stables does not have a kitchen, but the bar serves good quality hot food. I recommend the chicken pie. The staff are fabulously helpful and always seem to be happy. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are at the back and on a high floor. The food in the bar is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trimsite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

The staff were super friendly and helpfull! Very clean and a great American/English themed Pub/Restaurant down stairs.
Right in central London close to main transport routes and night buses.
Will definitely be back! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katharine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed at the horse and stable at the start of November. We stayed in the 16 bed dorm which was really spacious. The bathrooms were so clean and the showers were amazing. One of the best things about the hostel was the staff. They are all so accommodating and helpful. The location can't be beaten, right beside Lambeth north station and just minutes walk from loads of tourist attractions like South bank, the London eye and The Tate. Will look forward to staying here again :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciarabailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

just how absolutely amazing this place was during my stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. They new the area and were willing to take the time to circle different places on the city map that i may enjoy seeing during my trip. The rooms have ample space so i didn't feel like i was directly on top of other people when i needed to move around and the bathrooms were a breath of fresh air compared to quite a few i've seen during my travels. The bar and restaraunt is quite lively and brings in a diverse crowd. You can enjoy a beer with office workers or hostelers and the staff always keep a friendly vibe. As for the food, it was gorgeous. American classics with a slight twist and great English pub food as well. This place has all the makings of greatness and it's not hard to see why when you realize they own the award winning Walrus Hostel just down the street (where you get a discount for staying at the horse!) All in all i can't stop gushing about the place and i hope my travels return me here sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickey-stabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

It's so refreshing to meet such lovely and genuinely welcoming people especially in a cheap hostel that's walking distance from all things fun in London.

It all seems newly developed so the rooms are comfy and clean...and warm! Breakfast is generous and the staff are quick to answer any questions you have and bend over backwards to help you.
Thoroughly recommend and can't wait to go back!
Oh! Also the hot dogs are amazing and so cheap!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had a great time at this hostel. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, we felt safe and we were very close to the action in the city. Take advantage of the free earplugs if you can. The area is loud since you are right downtown. The only thing lacking was a communal space for hostel-stayers.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

With close association from the near by award winning Walrus Bar and Hostel, one can see the close resemblance between the two hostels. The staff is shared or inherited from the Walrus and that speaks for itself. Being new the bedrooms and bathrooms are new and improved. The bedrooms feature themed names and ample space to move freely. I was honored to stay in the Underground Room, complete with a mural of the Underground, chairs and tables, fireplace (I'm not sure if it was functional), and bright red linens. This hostel is connected to a restaurant with good food at a discount rate. The location to central London is awesome and it is nearly across the street from the Lambeth Underground station (1station away from the Waterloo Underground and National Rail station.

This is a must stay indeed.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if the hostel has a kitchen. I checked in on a Sunday before Christmas and the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
The Walrus Hostel
#40 of 930 in London
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#27 of 930 in London
630 reviews
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#145 of 930 in London
293 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#62 of 930 in London
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse & Stables Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse & Stables Hostel

Address: 124 Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 930 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £17 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six newly renovated dorm style bedrooms, with shared bathroom facilities situated over two floors. Above full bar and restaurant. From the people who brought you the award winning Walrus Hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Horse & Stables Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing