We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere and people! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Horse & Stables Hostel
Ranked #120 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I loved my time here at the Horse! All the staff are lovely a shout out to Kat, Jess and Dean who were amazing, and know London. Not a classic Hostel but I kinda liked that, the English pub atmosphere is great :) The sister hostel down the road The Walrus is great to use if you want to cook yourself. Otherwise the food in the pub is tasty, my favorite was the pie :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Jasmine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Super friendly staff and a great location. The pub below has some pretty good food and a decent selection of beer, plus a pretty lively atmosphere. My wife and I stayed in the double room, and it was very clean and well equipped for a hostel. Our only complaint was that the doors leading up the stairs to the rooms are very loud when the bang closed! Sounds like a minor thing, but with the traffic coming up and down the stairs, it made it tough to sleep as you could feel the vibrations in the bed in addition to the sound. A doorstop or bumper on the doors would probably fix it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great place, great location, fantastic location. Will definitely look it up next time I'm travelling to London. It's pretty small with 6 or 8 rooms. Plenty of hot water in the showers. Great bar downstairs with 10% for residents. 1 minute walk from the Lambert North tube station and 10 minutes walk from Big Ben, Westminster etc....

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great staff, great location!! All staff was awesome, very friendly and helpful! Catarina is the best!! :D The building itself is a bit old, but it just adds personality to the hostel. Great conditions and extremely clean. The pub downstairs is a great way to meet and interact with new people and has great food :D Thank you very much for everything!! We will return FOR SURE :D

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta_Figueiredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have been in the horse and stables for over a month and a half and I would go back there every time I go back in London! It's very well situated 1 min from a tube (metro) station and 10 min walk from big ben!

You also receive discount in the pub downstairs and at the Walrus an other hostel very close! There is also a kitchen in the Walrus free to use for the people from the horse!!

The breakfest is the best I had while a was in London! Nothing spectacular put fresh fruits and real orange juice! It makes a difference!

The best part at The horse and stables, is the staff! Always ready to help, giving informations about what to see or not (tourist trap)!

Very nice hostel!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrismtl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Location was excellent. Staff was very accomodating. Room was clean. Shared bathrooms were kind of small. Main floor bar and grill were excellent. Continental breakfast (included with room) was good. This place is only half a block walk from the underground which was very convenient. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is my first experience in staying at hostels and it honestly felt like being home with the kind staff, great food, and we were even lucky to have great room mates! I will definitely be back!!

Everything was clean and everything is very secure. Overall great service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yarokinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.3 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#513 of 1,076 in London
541 reviews
0.0 mi away
Point A Hotel, London Westminster
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza London Waterloo
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#163 of 1,076 in London
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#453 of 1,076 in London
2,664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Waterloo
0.1 mi away
The Walrus Hostel
The Walrus Hostel
#36 of 908 in London
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horse & Stables Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horse & Stables Hostel

Address: 124 Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £16 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six newly renovated dorm style bedrooms, with shared bathroom facilities situated over two floors. Above full bar and restaurant. From the people who brought you the award winning Walrus Hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Horse & Stables Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing