We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Base Camp September 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ely, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Base Camp September 2013”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

For our first trip to London we selected Bay Tree House B&B as our base camp and what a good decision that was! James was more than willing to answer all our questions prior to our arrival. Once we arrived he made sure we had all our basics in line and taught us the differences between dollars and pounds. Janice was always available to help us with our day plans and great us in the morning with a great cup of coffee! Never, never say no to her French toast!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dahn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    51
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
261
366
59
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

What can you say that has not been said. PERFECT HOSTESS AND HOST. Went more than out of their way to make your stay fun, comfortable, relaxing, informative...and delicious. That French toast was outstanding, fruit, goodies, hot breakfast..whatever you wanted and great coffee. Now I have to get a new coffeemaker. Comfortable bed, hot shower, parking space, close to tube direct to downtown London. GO.

Room Tip: There was no fitness center but I could not unclick it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Beau1Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My wife and I spent 9 days with Janice and James in late August/early September. The reviews are right on in terms of their hospitality and service. The french toast is out of this world as well as other items to start the day. Janice was our guide from day to day and their were no wasted minutes in terms of her guidance. We would return to London again and definitely stay at Bay Tree. Fortunately we will see them when they visit Florida later this year. Kudos to both of them. John & Deni

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Villagers-2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

When we decided we wanted to return to London, we knew it would only happen if we could stay with James and Janice. Luckily for us, they had an opening. When other reviewers say that visiting Bay Tree is like coming home or staying with friends, they are not exaggerating. We are grateful to have had the opportunity to stay with and get to know James and Janice. They are very special people and Bay Tree is a very special place.

James and Janice- thank you for your hospitality and friendship. We know we will meet again. John and Lorah

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ltm1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I arrived at 8 pm on a Thursday evening in September and were greeted with a cup of tea by Janice after a day of travel and James lugged our heavy bags upstairs. It seems that almost every time we walked in the door James or Janice was inquiring as to what we had seen that day and would we like a cup of coffee or tea (or wine, brandy, etc.).
Every morning, after making our choice of breakfast, Janice would get out the maps and ask where we were going that day and help with all of the travel arrangements. Their knowledge of London is amazing and they knew the answers to everything that we threw at them.
I absent mindedly forgot laundry detergent, and when I asked Janice where I could purchase some to launder clothes, she gave me a small bottle of liquid detergent and dryer sheets saying the man that owned the local laundry overcharged for soap. Janice also gave us extra plastic bags for the clothes because I wanted to buy more for the trip.
One of the highlights of the week was the amazing breakfasts that Janice would cook (hint, go for the French toast, it's wonderful) along with the lively conversation with James, Janice and the other guests. During our stay, we met folks from Belgium, Mexico via Dublin, Australia, South Korea and Japan at the Bay tree House. What a fantastic way to meet people from other countries!
James lined us up with Oyster cards for use on the tube and also made sure I got my "medicine" on time one afternoon while discussing politics. My wife enjoyed sampling all of the soap, shampoos, and lotions that were made available during our stay. My wife also requested an extra pillow and an electric fan.....no problem. Everything we asked of them, no problem.
When we left, Janice drove our heavy bags to the tube stop for us and hugged us as we said our goodbyes.
The only problem that I can think of is that this was our first stay in a B&B. There is no way that any future B&B that we stay in can live up the high standards that we received at the Bay Tree House.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank intrepidaviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We spent part of our summer holidays in London. Off course we stayed at the Bay Tree House with Janice and James, as we did last time. It was like coming home. We had the same room we had the first time and hooking up with Janice and James again was as if we had never left London two years ago. A truly great place to stay.
We enjoyed our breakfast as we did two years ago, especially the French toasts Janice cooks and the fresh fruit. They also provided us with bottles of water for our trips to the ‘heatwaved’ city.
Ideal is the nearby tube station Amos Grove on the Piccadilly Line. It takes only 30 minutes and you are standing on Piccadilly Circus.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Richard d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My daughter and I just arrived back in the States after staying at the Bay Tree House B&B for approximatley 9 days during our stay in London. James and janice are so extremely wonderful and made us feel so at home. The breakfasts were absolutely wonderfully delicious and their help in getting around London was a great help. The bedrooms were more tahn comfortable and sitting in the solarium was just divine. The location into London was so easy and convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 573 in London
527 reviews
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#12 of 573 in London
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#19 of 573 in London
124 reviews
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#21 of 573 in London
645 reviews
Kandara Guest House
#26 of 573 in London
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 59 Brookdale | New Southgate, London N11 1BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jasmine warmly welcomes you to Bay Tree House Bed and Breakfast. An award winning luxury B&B here in London at very affordable prices. All the rooms are newly redecorated keeping with the original "Old English style". With comfortable beds, T.V, and private bathrooms with outsized showers. The property boasts beautiful views of Arnos Park which has free tennis courts. Conveniently located in New Southgate, North London. The closest tube is Arnos Grove which is approximately a 5 minute walk. Central London is a 25-30 minute tube journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Tree House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree House Hotel London
Bay Tree House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing