We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Qbic Hotel London City
Ranked #109 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

I was booked into the hotel by my employers as my usual hotel was full. The hotel lobby was modern, contemporary and clean. I didn't like the vending machine arrangement for food...some of which you warm up yourself.
The bedroom was quirky but clean and comfortable. No hairdryer though.
All a bit odd but I can see younger clients may appreciate the strange eating arrangements.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shnuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,735
    1,017
    197
    39
    20
See reviews for
322
1,374
172
703
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
199 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed one night here in feb 2014 and hotel is super good designed. Good priced for London. Very hip and young looks that are quite inviting. I would call it "Berlin style" hotel in a very good way. The beds are really good and rooms were super clean. Lights are perfect in room and my first hotel experience in London with European plugs option as well. Bathrooms are also very clean and nice. Staff is nice and friendly.

Only thing that I would add is that breakfast is not worth it. They should also try to have a kitchen as there is not much around if you arrive late night. Another improvement would be to have a table in the rooms as there is not much space to put things without any table.

Overall nice and experience and would return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Loved the 'eco' room, so unique and quirky yet simple.
Our room was really spacious, the bed was comfortable, tv had a wide selection of channels. The bathroom was really clean and fresh with a funky modern look.
The overall presentation and service of the hotel was really good, the staff were friendly and approachable. The decor was modern and funky yet slightly modest.
The hotel was in a good location just a couple of minutes walk from Tesco Express and Aldgate East tube station. There is also a car park around the back which was £12 for the day and night, it was easy to drive to.
A good fun hotel yet customers are still taken seriously. Good value for money, would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a yard view room, but the view doesn't really make much difference as we never had time t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I'm just back from a 3 night trip to London with friends, and stayed in the Qbic. This hotel is only opened a couple of months and came recommended but it exceeded my expectations we loved it. Some have commented there was no staff around during their stay, we had help checking in at 11pm and throughout our stay, all the staff are so friendly and helpful. The decor is so funky but welcoming and the rooms plenty big for a short stay, yes no wardrobes but they supply you with hangers. The real plus is the beds which are so comfy and shower is amazing all the other reviewers will agree. The hotel itself is so quite on the corridors and the rooms are soundproof, we had a courtyard view which is really a street view and had a bit of noise on night 1 from revellers travelling home late. The complimentary tea/coffee/water is great, we would start and finish our day with a cuppa it was so relaxing in the reception area/kitchen to read or watch some TV or just chat but always people around. Algate East tube station is 2 mins walk and LIverpool St station 10 mins walk. We had a great stay, and wouldn't hestiate staying here again its a great spot, thanks Qbic.

Room Tip: Go for an interior room if you want a quite room - you don't need a view the room has enough col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I've stayed at this hotel at the beginning of December.

I was pleased to see that the hotel is actually closer to the Metro Station than what we could see on the map. It's actually only about 5 minutes walking distance if you find the right exit from the subway.

In front of the hotel there is a nice park.

Tesco is only 1 minute away.

There are a few places to eat nearby, including KFC. We had dinner one time at a turkish restaurant and it turned out to be great.

The hotel is new so everything is in good shape.

At the entrance, you will find out that there is no reception. You will do your own check in using a monitor. If you have troubles doing this, there is always someone around to help you. (usually at the restaurant on the right)

You will receive a card to open the room. It is also needed for the elevator and for the lightning system in the room.

The room has little furniture: a bed, a chair and a lamp. The bathroom is also quite simple, meaning you do not have a door for the shower.

What I did not enjoy is the fact that it was cold. I had left the heat on at maximum power the entire night and still it was so cold.

A nice surprise was the fact that you had free tea and coffee on the hallway. So I used those to get my body temperature back to the normal one :)

Another nice surprise was the bag of goodies you receive in the morning. It's not much, but the intention counts. You will find in the morning a paper bag with 2 bottles of juice, 2 apples and 2 cereal bars.

We were allowed to leave our luggage with them until later that day. We actually came back to get them at about 6-7 PM.

Also, I had ordered something on ebay previous to that trip and the seller shipped it to the hotel a few days before my arrival. They were kind enough to keep the envelope and give it to me after I checked in.

If you are travelling light, the entire concept will suit you just fine. We only stayed there for 1 night so it wasn't necessary for us to use all the clothing we had. But if you stay there for a longer period, you should know that there is no place where you can put the clothes. Except for the improvized chair where you can fit 2 jackets tops.

The area is nice, we actually walked to London Bridge. It's quite a safe area, you have all the office buildings close.

There is no swimming pool and I haven't tried the restaurant at all.

Overall, if it hadn't been for the cold in the room and the fact that the heating system wasn't doing such a great job, I would probably rate this hotel as excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otilia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Loved it. Our room was upgraded on arrival, super comfy super king sized bed, slept perfectly and great location. Fresh juice on a morning and fresh coffee all day long. Wonderfully quirky. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is a great little discovery which I only hit upon thanks to a rather generous offer via Secret Escapes. Must say I did feel somewhat smug when I paid only half price for our room….a real bargain! To be quite honest & the main reason for reviewing this hotel was that after the Qbic experience I would in the future most definitely be very happy paying full price. Location great close to the tube, nearby Brick Lane & about a 25 min leisurely stroll through the visually stimulating market with all it’s mish & mash of saleable offerings alongside colourful local characters will eventually lead you to the famous Columbia Road Flower Market. As for the Hotel funky arty with quite an urban edge…rooms are great & innovative…. very well thought through to accommodate all your needs….comfy beds & excellent shower. The staff were all fantabulous….each & every one of whom we had dealings with were attentive and nothing was too much trouble so will keep this short & sweet….if you would like to sample a different perspective of London yet still have close proximity to the West End most of us all know then this hotel is a real winner!

Room Tip: Make sure you grab a glass or cup as none in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginasbluesoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#126 of 1,067 in London
645 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#101 of 1,067 in London
1,357 reviews
Spitalfields
hub by Premier Inn Spitalfields, Brick Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#83 of 1,067 in London
3,267 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,067 in London
3,658 reviews
The Hide London
#58 of 1,067 in London
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qbic Hotel London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qbic Hotel London City

Property: Qbic Hotel London City
Address: 42, Adler Street, London E1 1EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Qbic Hotel London City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qbic Hotel London is a new concept design hotel... and the greenest hotel in London! Located close to bustling Brick Lane and the trendy bars, art galleries and boutiques of Shoreditch, Qbic offers an off-the-charts experience for urban explorers who are hungry for new and unique experiences. Green credentials, quirky style and sociability are the revolutionary values at the heart of Qbic, that set it apart from all other hotels. Our bedrooms are futuristic in design, featuring a unique, all-in-one, cube-shaped pod called 'Qbi', which includes the bed and the bathroom. The Qbi is sustainably built, features Super-King beds with ridiculously comfy organic handmade hypoallergenic mattresses, an integrated 32" LCD TV, reading/mood lighting, UK/EU and USB sockets, hairdryers, and a laptop safe. All our en-suite bathrooms have a powerful rain shower with water-saving technology, a steam-free mirror and luxurious organic toiletries. Bespoke, handmade furniture and locally sourced fixtures and fittings also add personality: no two of our quirky rooms are the same! Complimentary premium tea and coffee is offered on floors 1 to 4. Don't say we don't love you! At Qbic, a special attention is given to eco-friendly initiatives (such as solar panels on the roof, strong focus on all things recycling and energy-saving, organic toiletries, etc.) and to supporting the local community, while our calendar of monthly events in the hotel lounge feed our guests' creative hunger and attract the best of the local crowd too. Our in-house bar and restaurant offers great breakfast options for all tastes, as well as a modern all-day food & snacks menu, made from locally and sustainably sourced ingredients. Our free and super-fast Wi-Fi throughout the whole building makes the Qbic lobby the perfect place to eat, drink, work and/or socialise. Other amenities include #QbicRecommends - our very own curated insiders' guide to London, updated weekly and connecting our guests with the city's best events and most inspiring places - a private secure gated car park with electric car charging points, recycled bikes for our guests to borrow (to enjoy the full East London experience!), luggage storage, a 24-hour front desk and express check-in/out. By focussing on delivering exceptionally well on the essentials, plus a whole load of cool extras and none of the stuffy frills typical of the previous generation hotels, at Qbic we pride ourselves in offering an incredibly personal experience to our guests and great value for money. Come sleep with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Qbic Hotel London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing