We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Qbic Hotel London City
Ranked #111 of 1,072 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 March 2014

What a great concept - provide the essentials, make them great and keep the price low. We stayed one night at Qbic in December 2013 and we enjoyed every second. The Qbic has an arty laid back feel. The facilities - check in, drinks etc. are self-service, but the exceptionally friendly staff are always on hand to help out. Tommy and Ayda were especially brilliant - professional, helpful and so friendly - making us feel very welcome and relaxed. On our next visit to London our choice of hotel will be an easy one!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,230)
There are newer reviews for Qbic Hotel London City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,491 - 2,497 of 3,230 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Perhaps You need to be modern essential and young spirit to appreciate this place. Certainly you will find the most nice people to welcome you in always a very essential way! No reception, no phone in the room. No good view, but all the rest very friendly

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Raffaella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We arrived early afternoon after a long train journey and were allocated our room straightaway. The room was easy to find and very modern. Large, comfortable bed with a TV built into the base. Wifi worked well. The bathroom was very bright and had a large walk in shower. Tea and coffee machines were easily found and greatly appreciated after walking round London during a tube strike! The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from Aldgate East tube station which was ideal when transferring from Kings Cross. Unluckily for us, the tube station was closed during the strike which meant lots of walking but it was easily accessed on our first and last day. The walls were a bit thin and you could hear others in the corridor and hear people flushing the toilets but overall we were very happy with the hotel and would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twentysomething09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The rooms are designed in a unique, original and comfortable style. The bed was comfortable, the room was spacious, the bath joyfully decorated. The stuff ready to offer all their help. The hotel is just 3 minutes away by foot from the Aldgate East tube station which is directly linked with Victoria Station and other central stations. Also near the business district of London. We took the breakfast (continental) just one morning in a beautiful designed environment and for the 7GBP we found it fair. Not a traditional English breakfast though.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergiu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I was looking forward to staying at this hotel, but it turned out to be the worst nights sleep I'd had in years.

The rooms are super modern and quirky, but that's about all the positives I have to say.

Issues:
- There is a night light near the bathroom, which is so bright it illuminates most of the room, so if you like sleeping in the dark this isn't for you.
- Paper thin walls - we were kept awake for most of the night as one of our neighbours snored and it could be clearly heard. Conversations could also be heard in the neighbouring rooms.
It's not a bad location (considering) but the road noise is pretty bad too, so if you're a light sleeper this isn't for you.
- The plastic mattress protector made you sweat in bed and it was really difficult to get comfortable.


They have put style before substance and missed many opportunities to create a great hotel.

In summary; if you like to sleep, this hotel isn't for you!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank chris100cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitrios N, General Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Chris,

Thank you very much for your review and please accept my apologies for the issues that you have experienced.

I am personally following up on each single one of them and would love to invite you back to demonstrate the progress made.

- I have spoken to our maintenance team and we will be looking at a solution on how we could darken the light that you are referring to.

- I think that this is the first time that someone complained about the noise transfer from the bedrooms next door. I will personally stay in the room that you were allocated and come up with a solution.

- I will revisit our mattress protectors and see if we could get a better feeling model.

If and when you have a chance please do contact me directly on dimitrios.neofitidis@qbichotels.com so I could invite you back and try to make up for your past experience.

Regards,

Dimitrios Neofitidis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

When I walked in the room, I thought, wow this is something different. Light airy room. Large bathroom with good shower. Fairly large bed. Modern design. Free wifi in room works and is fast. Comfy bed. Close to Aldgate East tube station.

However after staying there a few nights I discovered the following flaws:
- the bed has a board at the bottom stopping people from stretching their feet out.
- Its impossible to turn the airco off. It restarts after 5 mins or so and is automatically set to 18C. Kept me awake at night and left me with a very dry throat.
- The light switches on the bed post are annoying. I constantly found myself fumbling around pressing the wrong light in the darkness and getting a blinding bright reading light in my face rather than the mood lighting or LED.
- no wifi on the ground floor in the relaxing area / restaurant which I found odd.
- Vending machines accept credit cards, but remember to stop the transaction after purchasing one item otherwise 60 pounds credit is available on the machine for other people to use. Stoppping the transaction closes the credit and only charges what you bought.
- the notice in the lift said that tea and coffee was available on every floor... I couldn't find this on the 2nd floor only on the ground floor.
- there is no desk in the room to work on. I need this as a business traveller.
- All the power sockets are around the bed. Not practical.
- Finally, reception told me that the bedding was non-allergic with no feathers, but I found it to the contrary allergic. Don't often have this problem.
- no feedback from reception either about the airco or the bedding.

I'm afraid I wouldn't recommend this hotel based on the points above.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opentrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Although a resident of London, I had 5 friends coming to visit and needed somewhere central for us all to stay. This hotel was picked because it was close to the O2, it had great transport links and it was reasonably priced for a Saturday night.

First impressions was how arty the hotel decor was. There was definitely an emphasis on refurbishing old items and a good stance on energy conservation. The hotel seemed very inviting and I looked forward to seeing the rooms as we had done no research before staying there.

The rooms were modern, bright, full of amenities and very clean. I would go as far as saying that rooms were spotless. The beds were seriously comfortable and there were all manner of plugs, holders and iPod/iPhone/iPad ports, making these rooms very tech friendly! The showers were powerful, TVs excellent quality and I'm pretty sure there was free WiFi too. The only negative would be that there is very little privacy when it comes to the bathroom and if you were sharing with someone you weren't too close too, it could become a bit awkward (big window on the side of the bathroom and no lock). Also the bathrooms are very echoey and you could hear all 'noises' coming from them. The breakfast bags were a nice touch, even if there was nothing within them that I actually liked.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel, to anyone who is visiting London and wants a hotel that is central and not too expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#84 of 1,072 in London
3,367 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#95 of 1,072 in London
1,442 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#144 of 1,072 in London
710 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qbic Hotel London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qbic Hotel London City

Address: 42, Adler Street, London E1 1EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £74 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Qbic Hotel London City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qbic Hotel London is a new concept design hotel... and the greenest hotel in London! Located close to bustling Brick Lane and the trendy bars, art galleries and boutiques of Shoreditch, Qbic offers an off-the-charts experience for urban explorers who are hungry for new and unique experiences. Green credentials, quirky style and sociability are the revolutionary values at the heart of Qbic, that set it apart from all other hotels. Our bedrooms are futuristic in design, featuring a unique, all-in-one, cube-shaped pod called 'Qbi', which includes the bed and the bathroom. The Qbi is sustainably built, features Super-King beds with ridiculously comfy organic handmade hypoallergenic mattresses, an integrated 32" LCD TV, reading/mood lighting, UK/EU and USB sockets, hairdryers, and a laptop safe. All our en-suite bathrooms have a powerful rain shower with water-saving technology, a steam-free mirror and luxurious organic toiletries. Bespoke, handmade furniture and locally sourced fixtures and fittings also add personality: no two of our quirky rooms are the same! Complimentary premium tea and coffee is offered on floors 1 to 4. Don't say we don't love you! At Qbic, a special attention is given to eco-friendly initiatives (such as solar panels on the roof, strong focus on all things recycling and energy-saving, organic toiletries, etc.) and to supporting the local community, while our calendar of monthly events in the hotel lounge feed our guests' creative hunger and attract the best of the local crowd too. Our in-house bar and restaurant offers great breakfast options for all tastes, as well as a modern all-day food & snacks menu, made from locally and sustainably sourced ingredients. Our free and super-fast Wi-Fi throughout the whole building makes the Qbic lobby the perfect place to eat, drink, work and/or socialise. Other amenities include #QbicRecommends - our very own curated insiders' guide to London, updated weekly and connecting our guests with the city's best events and most inspiring places - a private secure gated car park with electric car charging points, recycled bikes for our guests to borrow (to enjoy the full East London experience!), luggage storage, a 24-hour front desk and express check-in/out. By focussing on delivering exceptionally well on the essentials, plus a whole load of cool extras and none of the stuffy frills typical of the previous generation hotels, at Qbic we pride ourselves in offering an incredibly personal experience to our guests and great value for money. Come sleep with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Qbic Hotel London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing