We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Qbic Hotel London City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Qbic Hotel London City
Ranked #105 of 1,089 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ho Chi Minh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Little gem with good bed and shower, for very reasonable prices. Located right next to Brick Lane and the metro close by (30 secs walking). Only remark could be that the bathroom doesn't have a door. So staying with 2 offers no privacy. But absolutely thumbs up for Qbic!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank pc_nerdje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,592
    934
    180
    36
    20
See reviews for
294
1,260
164
647
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed for only one night but I made a good choice. The hotel is not very attractive from the outside, but it's very nice inside. It's very peculiar, stylish and fun. I loved my room, the lights, the bed, the TV. Room and bathroom were clean, the bed comfortable. I slept well. The hotel is quiet and in a good location. Price is reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaLaforgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Ok , I am known for super detailed reviews. So here comes.

No of days in this hotel : 4 nights
Pricing : 80- 90 pounds a night

Lets start with the Good points :
1. Location
TRAINS
This hotel is just 2 mins walk from Aldgate East station ( note that its A,East NOT ALGATE station, totally different). Its very convenient.
PARK
Right opposite the hotel is a tiny park, named after Ali xxxx. It is an ok lit park that you will walk diagonally across to get to hotel. Nothing fishy or dangerous about it. BUT if its sunday night, you may be a little uncomfortable because of the mass of people picnic-ing there and obviously, it becomes a complete dumpster at the end of the night.

2. Surroundings
SUPERMARKETS
There are 3 Tescos around it. Two smaller express outlets and one huge Tesco Metro. The Tesco metro is just around the corner, you cant miss it. Buy all your groceries and fruits from there. This outlet has plenty of 1 pound offer foods and so its a steal to settle your quick dinner or lunch there. Microwave everything there or at the hotel lobby.
EATERIES
ok, I tell you guys, please listen up here. You will see a lot of middle east people around this area because that's their little Pakistan or little arab street. AND I TELL YOU ITS AWESOME!!!!!
I am Asian and I go crazy over the range of food you get around this hotel. Just walk toward Brick Lane and ask people for " PETTICOAT LANE MARKET". In this market during late breakfast to late lunch hour, you will see a crazy outpour of office people in their suits and they walk to this market for the most amazing pushcarts foods! There are Asian stir frys, middle eastern kebabs. And the portions are HUGE AND CHEAP. Seriously, please take a walk and explore the food there. Its only 5 mins walk away, just walk towards the subway and turn away from it just before hitting the subway, near to the universities. Don't know where, just ask. trust me I haven't seen so many smartly dressed men eat at stalls by the road for quite a while in London! ( ok maybe its just me! )

3. THE HOTEL
ok, here comes.
(a) Rooms are very comfortably sized. the whole concept is about everything into a cube. That is the bed, the bathroom behind it ( which means you will hear noise of action happening in the bathroom) and all the necessary switches like power sockets, lights and TV. Nothing is powered by wires on the walls. It is all within the cube. Awesome idea. Because everything is within reach while you are in bed. Sufficient areas for you to put a cup beside your pillows, or charge your phone by the bed side. I hate the fact that they have too little hangers in the room and they have this stupid stand ( suppose to be designer artistic crap) that holds your luggage and bag. And its completely useless. Its too tiny and it holds nothing. So be prepared that you might need to have your luggage on the floor or by the windows sills. Some rooms come with table and chairs. Read me : SOME ROOMS. so ask them for those if you will be cheesed off by the lack of luggage rack.

(B) Room Service is normal. They missed out twice on our housekeeping. You hang a bear at the door to say "stay away and do not disturb" at the door. But we didn't do that. We had to run down to the lobby with our dirty towels to get new ones. Best part? the service crew tried to locate the towels on the floor but couldn't find anything else like my hand towels and floor mats. Twice.

(C) Wifi very strong in rooms

(D) love the idea of not having cheap tea and coffee in the room. Its replaced by a premium WMF Germany coffee machine that churns out cappuccino and latte anytime. It is just near to the lifts. Take a walk, no big deal. oh but I do wonder those rooms that surround the machines if they are kept up all night because the entire level goes ourside their rooms to make coffee. So make sure you don't get those rooms near the machines.

(E) Breakfast is not part of package. They serve basic breakfast for 7.50 pounds at the lobby everyday. You get croissants , cheese and hams and sandwiches. Don't forget that your coffee, tea , juice and milk at the lobby is free all day to begin with even if you don't pay for breakfast. So I see no point. I walk to Tesco and buy my sandwiches for 2 pounds and go back and enjoy my coffee. If you wanna save money and get better sandwiches? that's just 1 min to Tesco.

( D) lobby has multiple vending machines for everything you need. Toothbrush sets , condoms , sanitary pads , snacks, sandwiches ( same as the ones they serve for breakkie) , bottled drinks etc.

*** NOTE SOMETHING HERE PLEASE**

In Qbic hotel , everything and I mean EVERYTHING from paying for hotel , to paying for breakfast or even paying just 2 pounds for a coke at the vending machine uses only CARDS. so please do yourself a favour and bring a card with the pin in your head. NO CASH at all. So beware!

Overall, I love the concept of this hotel.
Will definitely return if they remove that stupid useless designer luggage stand away . :) just give us a decent rack.

BAD POINTS?

Oh, and one more thing to point out. The managers on duty are always just nearby at the lobby café itself over a laptop. They should learn to smile alittle more especially when their charges are busy assisintg with customers checking in and needed them to just jump off their seats to help out. Especially the one in the morning/ afternoon shift. He doesn't smile, doesn't make eye contact with us when I followed his charge up to ask him a few questions. Lousy supervisor I say. His charges are a lot better and definitely worth recommending for good services. Shame on the supervisor / manager , especially the morning shift.

ok! pop me any questions if you have . afterall I spent 4 nights there!

Room Tip: high floors are better and high means level 4 because you will hear no poop flushing down the toilet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Singapoorean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

No reception. Just a couple of helpful staff at the computer. Rooms were bare with odds and sods masquerading as (cheap) art.

Comfy bed. Nowhere to hang your clothes. Might have been four stars if they'd cleaned the loo. Still for £69 in London what do you expect?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cricketdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

This place was great for the money. I am very fussy when choosing a hotel so was a bit worried when my husband booked a two night stay at Christmas. It was very basic but very clean and comfortable. Free coffee and tea when you wanted it (fresh bean coffee). Very comfortable bed indeed. Nice Sized TV at the end of the bed. Very friendly reception staff and cafe. I liked the idea of vending machines with food if you get a bit hungry at night. Only downside is the bathroom isn't too private but that didn't bother us. Also they could really benefit with some kind of bin in the room. A little far out from town but with the money we saved on the room we can't complain really. All in all a good stay for the cost but obviously not luxury.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saucysal2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here over a weekend for an event at the O2. Good location - 5 minutes from spitalfields market and 2 minutes from aldgate east or 15 minutes from Liverpool street. £12 a day parking in an enclosed car park.
Unfortunately our room was not up to standard:
1. Broken bed - the right hand side of the bed was like sleeping on a hill, not what you expect when posters in the lifts sell it as the comfiest bed in the world.
2. It would appear from 211 you can hear the whole building flush a toilet or have a shower in the middle of the night and it sounds like a taps been turned on.
I would have left a 3/5 review however there's a previous review here which points out the same problems we had with room 211. When I pointed this out to a manager he just said "we re working on it" you can't work on a broken bed you either get a new bed or don't give paying customers that room!
Will not be returning

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bovrilina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here on 14th-16th March. The hotel was quiet, and we didn't see many other guests. The area around the hotel is edgy and we didn't feel overly safe out and about.

The downstairs lounge is quirky, but there is no bar. The lobby hosts were neither friendly nor unfriendly. Our room was on the second floor. The corridor reminded me of a youth hostel and the room, whilst new, was plasticky and cheap. The skirting board was full of dust. The bed was big but only one pillow and we found some hairs on the white linen. The bathroom doesn't have a door and is right behind the bed. The rain shower was hot, but nothing exciting.

Overall, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Globtrotter83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#119 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
The Hide London
#55 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#101 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,532 reviews
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#87 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qbic Hotel London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qbic Hotel London City

Property: Qbic Hotel London City
Address: 42, Adler Street, London E1 1EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Qbic Hotel London City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qbic Hotel London is a new concept design hotel... and the greenest hotel in London! Located close to bustling Brick Lane and the trendy bars, art galleries and boutiques of Shoreditch, Qbic offers an off-the-charts experience for urban explorers who are hungry for new and unique experiences. Green credentials, quirky style and sociability are the revolutionary values at the heart of Qbic, that set it apart from all other hotels. Our bedrooms are futuristic in design, featuring a unique, all-in-one, cube-shaped pod called 'Qbi', which includes the bed and the bathroom. The Qbi is sustainably built, features Super-King beds with ridiculously comfy organic handmade hypoallergenic mattresses, an integrated 32" LCD TV, reading/mood lighting, UK/EU and USB sockets, hairdryers, and a laptop safe. All our en-suite bathrooms have a powerful rain shower with water-saving technology, a steam-free mirror and luxurious organic toiletries. Bespoke, handmade furniture and locally sourced fixtures and fittings also add personality: no two of our quirky rooms are the same! Complimentary premium tea and coffee is offered on floors 1 to 4. Don't say we don't love you! At Qbic, a special attention is given to eco-friendly initiatives (such as solar panels on the roof, strong focus on all things recycling and energy-saving, organic toiletries, etc.) and to supporting the local community, while our #QbicSessions - a calendar of monthly live events in the hotel lounge featuring the best of London's up-and-coming talent - feed our guests' creative hunger and attract the best of the local crowd too. Our in-house bar and restaurant offers great breakfast options for all tastes, as well as a modern all-day food & snacks menu, made from locally and sustainably sourced ingredients. Our free and super-fast Wi-Fi throughout the whole building makes the Qbic lobby the perfect place to eat, drink, work and/or socialise. Other amenities include #QbicRecommends - our very own curated insiders' guide to London, updated weekly and connecting our guests with the city's best events and most inspiring places - a private secure gated car park with electric car charging points, recycled bikes for our guests to borrow (to enjoy the full East London experience!), luggage storage, a 24-hour front desk and express check-in/out. By focussing on delivering exceptionally well on the essentials, plus a whole load of cool extras and none of the stuffy frills typical of the previous generation hotels, at Qbic we pride ourselves in offering an incredibly personal experience to our guests and great value for money. Come sleep with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Qbic Hotel London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing