We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quirky Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Qbic Hotel London City
Ranked #108 of 1,063 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Quirky Hotel”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel is exactly as they say - clean, sleek, cozy and small. It was a perfect end to our vacation. It was close to the tube, the bed was very comfy and the bathroom was nice and big. The hotel room due to size and the size of the bed almost made it quite romantic. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robynbirdy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Robynbirdy9,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear you were thrilled with your stay and would return back to Qbic Hotel London City.

We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Thank you,

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,698
    996
    195
    38
    20
See reviews for
316
1,349
170
684
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Pros
Clean, modern, quirky rooms
Great location for getting to city (close to tube station)
Very good value for money
Small but lovely downstairs area

Cons
Broken lift
Staff not the friendliest
Out of date crisps from the EXPENSIVE vending machine
Not the nicest area
No wardrobe or storage space

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessypep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Jessypep,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We are pleased to hear you liked our guest room, and were fond of the lounge.

Regarding the out of date crisps; I have already spoken to the Front Desk Department and they are investigating this currently.

Here at Qbic, we pride ourselves on the standards of product and service we provide, which makes it all the more disappointing to read that we have let ourselves down on this occasion. We receive so many positive comments on the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff that I am disappointed to read this.

We are in the process of implementing furniture into the guest rooms such as table, chair and wardrobe. This will happen in due course.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and my assurance that I have personally conveyed all your dissatisfaction to my team.

We do hope you will return to Qbic Hotel London City and give us another go.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paço de Arcos, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Close to center, excellent for short vacations.
I stayed with my girlfriend and the Hotel is excellent.
I've read that the rooms are small, but I don't know were people usually stay (maybe mansions) because the rooms are just big enough and very well decorated.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joao_D2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Joao_D2012,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and giving us a 5/5.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked the surrounding area.

We are excited to welcome you back to Qbic Hotel London City very soon.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has focussed on the essential and cut out the things not really needed. Bed, shower and breakfast are good very good. Staff is focussed on service but do not expect the regular reception or the regular hotel furniture. No complimentary tea and coffee in our room but a proper coffee machine and nice tea on every floor and downstairs in the "living", so what is there is good. I was on a business trip and missed a desk or table in my room. The alternative was to sit down stairs in the hotel living-room. So if you are up for a different experience book the QBIC if not book any regular hotel!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Bart v,

Thank you for your lovely comments.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the shower, breakfast and found the bed comfortable.

It's great that you were satisfied with our staff members, they do try their best to please all our guests.

We are in progress of getting new furniture in due course, this will consist of tables, chairs, and wardrobes.

We do hope to welcome you back to Qbic Hotel London City very soon.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed on business in a windowless room. Having staying in an apartment with no aircon and light curtains, last time I was in London, the idea of pitch black and aircon was really attractive. I wasn't dissappointed but the room itself was very dark unless you turned on all the lights this was fine but I really don't like to see bright light bulbs directly so wish the feature light was more muted.

There aren't many options to store clothing once your case in balanced on the but it's a functional budget room I guess. The bed is lovely and really comfy and by far the best bit of the room but the decor was individual and not to my taste with a couple of 5 ft high pictures of Princess Diana or Justin Bieber .... this made for an interesting skype call to my colleague in the morning. Also the base unit in the shower creaks quite a bit. The lock of soft furnishings and window did make the room very echoey!

What I was disappointed by was the breakfast, thought out the hotel and in the rooms there are posters boasting of the provenance of the ingredients. Locally sourced from specialty cheese makers and seasonal fruit jams together with images of fresh baguettes. The food provided however looked like someone had popped to Tesco metro over the road and bought in prepacked, pre sliced cheeses and breads and jams from a wholesaler. I don't mind so much but to give the impression that it's all about local then not be seems to go against the ethos of the place. I did ask about the provenance but was advised to e-mail, I did but no response which is a shame as well.

Nevertheless I will return.

Room Tip: A room without a window is great if you want a completely blacked out sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clutha_VR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Clutha_VR,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.

We are glad to hear you were pleased with the Smart Room (no window) and our comfortable bed, I will definitely pass on your feedback regarding the lighting, and base unit in the shower.

We are focusing on the furniture In the guest rooms and are looking to implement a table/chair and a wardrobe in due course.

Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. We are currently reviewing our breakfast.

All our breads are sourced from: Rinkoffs Bakery, London E1 3BS. We have changed from providing non sliced breads and baguettes for a couple of reasons: cleanliness of the breakfast area as well as speed of circulation by guests. If you feel that this is something that added to the breakfast experience, we would certainly be glad to look at reintroducing at least some un sliced breads.

We used to source our Jams and Cheeses from a local supplier, however this has currently stopped and we will be getting a new local supplier in due course.

We have introduced cold meats to our breakfast menu two weeks ago. We are sourcing this via a generic supplier "Brakes". They have assured us that both Ham and Turkey are British.

I can only apologize, for your experience and for us falling below your expectations.

I really do hope you will give Qbic another chance, we would love to have you back at our Hotel and have a fantastic experience.

Thank you once again.

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed at Qbic hotel for one night when traveling for work.
The location is very good, close walking distance to a metro station and quiet street.

My room was really big and the bed incredibily comfy! The room is really designed and surprizing.
The bathroom is the main issue. There is no space to leave your stuff and the rain shower is great ...except if you do not want to wet your hair.

The breakfast room is very nice, the breakfast is a good price £7.5 whereas the choice is limited (nothing hot).

Room Tip: Avoid no window rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cécile G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Cécile G,

Thank you for your positive comments.

Its fantastic that you had a great stay with us.

We are looking to make some changes to the bathroom in due course, however I will pass this feedback on to the relevant member of staff.

We are excited to welcome you back to Qbic very soon.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel has a number of odd, quirky design items in it. The rooms are far from basic as the website suggests. The room had a very functional but well designed and neat bath (shower) room with basin & toilet.

The bed was really comfortable; slept like a log. I do find it odd not being able to make my own coffee, but I guess with a bit of planning it isn't a problem. It nice to be able to choose whether you want breakfast or not.

Would I use this hotel again, within a heartbeat! Really recommend it

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Iain B,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback.

We are overly happy to hear your stay was a great experience.

We do love our mattresses and want our guests to love them as well, so we are pleased to know you had a perfect nights sleep.

We will see you again very soon.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#123 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#102 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
The Hide London
#59 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,625 reviews
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#87 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,238 reviews
Spitalfields
hub by Premier Inn Spitalfields, Brick Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qbic Hotel London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qbic Hotel London City

Property: Qbic Hotel London City
Address: 42, Adler Street, London E1 1EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Qbic Hotel London City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qbic Hotel London is a new concept design hotel... and the greenest hotel in London! Located close to bustling Brick Lane and the trendy bars, art galleries and boutiques of Shoreditch, Qbic offers an off-the-charts experience for urban explorers who are hungry for new and unique experiences. Green credentials, quirky style and sociability are the revolutionary values at the heart of Qbic, that set it apart from all other hotels. Our bedrooms are futuristic in design, featuring a unique, all-in-one, cube-shaped pod called 'Qbi', which includes the bed and the bathroom. The Qbi is sustainably built, features Super-King beds with ridiculously comfy organic handmade hypoallergenic mattresses, an integrated 32" LCD TV, reading/mood lighting, UK/EU and USB sockets, hairdryers, and a laptop safe. All our en-suite bathrooms have a powerful rain shower with water-saving technology, a steam-free mirror and luxurious organic toiletries. Bespoke, handmade furniture and locally sourced fixtures and fittings also add personality: no two of our quirky rooms are the same! Complimentary premium tea and coffee is offered on floors 1 to 4. Don't say we don't love you! At Qbic, a special attention is given to eco-friendly initiatives (such as solar panels on the roof, strong focus on all things recycling and energy-saving, organic toiletries, etc.) and to supporting the local community, while our calendar of monthly events in the hotel lounge feed our guests' creative hunger and attract the best of the local crowd too. Our in-house bar and restaurant offers great breakfast options for all tastes, as well as a modern all-day food & snacks menu, made from locally and sustainably sourced ingredients. Our free and super-fast Wi-Fi throughout the whole building makes the Qbic lobby the perfect place to eat, drink, work and/or socialise. Other amenities include #QbicRecommends - our very own curated insiders' guide to London, updated weekly and connecting our guests with the city's best events and most inspiring places - a private secure gated car park with electric car charging points, recycled bikes for our guests to borrow (to enjoy the full East London experience!), luggage storage, a 24-hour front desk and express check-in/out. By focussing on delivering exceptionally well on the essentials, plus a whole load of cool extras and none of the stuffy frills typical of the previous generation hotels, at Qbic we pride ourselves in offering an incredibly personal experience to our guests and great value for money. Come sleep with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Qbic Hotel London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing