We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So quirky and quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Qbic Hotel London City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Qbic Hotel London City
Ranked #105 of 1,089 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“So quirky and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotels location is fantastic, it is about a 3/4 minute walk from Aldergate tube station and is less than a 10/15 minute walk from lots of landmarks and attractions. Tower hill is only one stop down the line.
The hotel itself is beyond cool and quirky, from the crate lights, communal area complete with floating head, the lamps made from hoses and guitars and inspirational quotes changed daily in the lifts. We stayed in a windowless room, it was small (better put as compact) but it had everything we needed.... Almost.... The only thing that would have made our stay in room 418 easier would have been a plug point on the opposite wall to the three points next to the bed.
When it came to using the hair dryer/straighteners near the mirror, or plugging in the iron, there was nowhere apart from the points at the side of the bed, this meant my partner had to set the ironing board up in the bathroom pod to have enough room.
Our hose lamp was connected to two wall switches, one marked as mood lighting, and this didn't seem to work the problem with this comes if one of you needs to get up in the dark and needs a light you wake the other up as the bulb is pretty bright.
The style of the room though was amazing, I loved the bright colours, the bed was so so comfy and I slept extremely soundly the two nights we stayed as the room was so dark and so quiet it was perfect.
The furniture was quirky, the corridor decoration was great, the coffee and the tea pigs selection (a personal highlight) was a great extra. The shower was great, the rainforest shower was perfect after a hot day in the city.
All the staff at the hotel were very polite, friendly and welcoming and always made the effort to greet us and make conversation. We were only given one room key upon check-in (which were able to do over an hour early which was really helpful) but it was no problem when we requested a second.
Our stay was enjoyable, for what we paid I feel we got value for money at £208 for 2 nights. I have recommend this to others who enjoy staying somewhere more interesting that your usual hotel.

Green Features: I liked seeing the energy used and the energy saved totals near the communal area!
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbowbirko87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear rainbowbirko87,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time at Qbic Hotel London City and appreciated our design.

We are pleased you were satisfied with our staff members and found them helpful.

We do look forward to seeing you again, very soon.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,591
    934
    180
    36
    20
See reviews for
294
1,259
164
647
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Unique hotel, very clean. It's great for a budget traveler. I stayed because I had won a 1 pound room. For me (side sleeper), the bed wasn't that comfortable. I could have used another pillow as well. I had a room on the ground floor, and it was noisy during the day. You could hear every car and person that passed by. I was a bit disappointed by that, as Qbic claims to have quiet rooms. I could also hear people passing in the hotel halls and noise above us as well. Nothing that kept us awake though (we are urban dwellers, and used to noise).

Overall, if I was looking for a budget place to stay, I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Jessica L,

Thank you for your kind review.

Congratulations on winning a £1 Room! We are glad to hear you had a good stay with us.

I do sincerely apologise regarding the noise, however when you are looking to come back and stay with us do let us know and we will do our best to allocate you a quiet room.

We are looking to add more pillows in the guest rooms, however this will happen in due course.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

me and my sister stayed a few days here and had a wonderful time. Despite there being a problem with our credit card we could easily pay in cash and the check-in was a breeze. We booked a 'smart' room (so a windowless small budget room) and it was very clean, fresh (despite having no window) with enough room to move around but still compact. Obviously if you planned to work and stay for longer periods just in your room, you might go a little stir crazy (especially with more than one person) but just to sleep and taking a small break before going out again, it was a great room.
Bed was comfy and clean (though i could've used a harder/bigger pillow) and the bathroom was gorgeous. Staff was friendly and helpful.
I thought the area was a little iffy, it was loud and I don't know I would've felt safe walking by myself, but it was very close to the station and a supermarket, with a variety of restaurants close by. I would stay here again and again and would definitely recommend it to friends/family.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuleika123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Zuleika123,

Thank you for your fantastic comments.

We are so happy to hear you had a great experience at Qbic and found our staff friendly and helpful.
Regarding the pillows, we will pass this feedback to the member of staff in charge.

We do have three room types:
Smart Room - no window
Cosy Room - standard double with a window
Fun Room - large double with a window

Do give our Cosy or Fun Rooms a go when you next visit us.

We look forward to seeing you return.

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I'll review this in parts:
1. LOCATION - Great location near Aldgate East tube. Lots of eateries nearby and the lovely Brick Lane vibe just around the corner.

2. HOTEL - (Room 307) We stayed in a "Fun" room which was large and spacious. Very comfy bed and excellent shower / bathroom. It was like staying in a hotel designed by IKEA. Quirky decor...... Big television and enough plug points. View from the window wasn't much to look out to but it was a base for relaxing. Free hot drinks that used Tea Pigs (nice upmarket tea!). The hotel provides it's own parking spaces which was a real bonus.

3. STAFF - Could not fault them. Though check in was at 3 they allowed us to the room at 2pm.
All the staff made our visit very special.

We will be making sure we stay again when in London!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear andrew r,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so thrilled you loved our hotel and the area.

We are excited to see you return.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great and unique hotel.... Loved staying here, great location and friendly staff.

We stayed in one of the larger rooms as we got upgraded for free, loads of space and although Justin Beiber was on our bed headboard the room was excellent!

Loved the free coffee facilities on each floor and although we didn't stay for breakfast the next day I did see a great selection of food in the morning.

Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Sarah M,

Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your time at Qbic and are looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

My work friend Holly and I stayed at Qbic Hotel on a Friday and Saturday night, the hotel was quirky and had great decor, the room was perfect with air conditioning, big power shower and the bathroom was clean and immaculate. The bed was huge (bigger than king) and has a massive TV at the end of the bed, it had a hose recycled into a lamp which was touch sensored. Tea and Coffee facilities on every single floor and the breakfast in the morning was delicious, this hotel i could not fault one single bit, i will recommend this place to anyone who fancys a night or two in London and i will definitely be returning in the future, nothing seemed to be too much bother.

Room Tip: we had the best executive room, FUN
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meganistheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear meganistheway,

Thank you for your lovely, positive comments.

We are really pleased to hear you had a great time at Qbic Hotel London City and would recommend us.

We are so excited to welcome you back.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I had won one of their rooms for one pound so, not wishing to pass on the opportunity, I decided to give the place a go.

The hotel is nearer to Aldgate East tube that you think, particularly if you choose the right exit when coming out of the station: head for the "Whitechapel Road (south)" exit and you can't go wrong. All you need to do then is walk through the small park...which, incidentally, *does* have a small "drinkers' corner" as pointed out by another reviewer, but they don't bother you. It's well-lit at night for anybody wondering about walking through it after dark.

Incidentally, if you're in the position where your next tube train will get you to Aldgate first (rather than Aldgate East) then get on that one; Algate and Aldgate East are one block away from each other so the extra walking distance is negligible.

"Quirky" is a word that has been used a lot with this hotel and I can see why. The rooms are, well, a little oddly decorated but they make a pleasant change from the identikit ones you'd get from some of the more well-known chains. The beds are big and comfortable and yes, the pillows are a tad on the small size. The bathrooms are equally as good with a well-sized "wet room" kind of set up for the shower.

Not having a designated reception does put you off at first - it's just a member of staff stood next to a PC - but the check-in process is swiftly dealt with and, I must say, any enquiry I had was superbly dealt with by the very friendly staff.

I was told that there was a coffee machine on every floor but I never found it!

I would willingly go back there again if paying full-rate...which is still reasonable for London.

And finally, the new Olympic Park and/or Westfield Stratford are just 20-25 minutes away on the no25 bus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlinski73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madiha R, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel London City, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Karlinski73,

Firstly congratulations on winning a £1 Room. We are so glad you stayed with us and had a great experience.

We are pleased with your feedback and excited you gave us a go.

When you next do come and stay with us, please do check with one of our staff members about the coffee machine on the guest room floors.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Madiha B Rizvi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#117 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
The Hide London
#55 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#99 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,532 reviews
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#85 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qbic Hotel London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qbic Hotel London City

Property: Qbic Hotel London City
Address: 42, Adler Street, London E1 1EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Qbic Hotel London City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qbic Hotel London is a new concept design hotel... and the greenest hotel in London! Located close to bustling Brick Lane and the trendy bars, art galleries and boutiques of Shoreditch, Qbic offers an off-the-charts experience for urban explorers who are hungry for new and unique experiences. Green credentials, quirky style and sociability are the revolutionary values at the heart of Qbic, that set it apart from all other hotels. Our bedrooms are futuristic in design, featuring a unique, all-in-one, cube-shaped pod called 'Qbi', which includes the bed and the bathroom. The Qbi is sustainably built, features Super-King beds with ridiculously comfy organic handmade hypoallergenic mattresses, an integrated 32" LCD TV, reading/mood lighting, UK/EU and USB sockets, hairdryers, and a laptop safe. All our en-suite bathrooms have a powerful rain shower with water-saving technology, a steam-free mirror and luxurious organic toiletries. Bespoke, handmade furniture and locally sourced fixtures and fittings also add personality: no two of our quirky rooms are the same! Complimentary premium tea and coffee is offered on floors 1 to 4. Don't say we don't love you! At Qbic, a special attention is given to eco-friendly initiatives (such as solar panels on the roof, strong focus on all things recycling and energy-saving, organic toiletries, etc.) and to supporting the local community, while our #QbicSessions - a calendar of monthly live events in the hotel lounge featuring the best of London's up-and-coming talent - feed our guests' creative hunger and attract the best of the local crowd too. Our in-house bar and restaurant offers great breakfast options for all tastes, as well as a modern all-day food & snacks menu, made from locally and sustainably sourced ingredients. Our free and super-fast Wi-Fi throughout the whole building makes the Qbic lobby the perfect place to eat, drink, work and/or socialise. Other amenities include #QbicRecommends - our very own curated insiders' guide to London, updated weekly and connecting our guests with the city's best events and most inspiring places - a private secure gated car park with electric car charging points, recycled bikes for our guests to borrow (to enjoy the full East London experience!), luggage storage, a 24-hour front desk and express check-in/out. By focussing on delivering exceptionally well on the essentials, plus a whole load of cool extras and none of the stuffy frills typical of the previous generation hotels, at Qbic we pride ourselves in offering an incredibly personal experience to our guests and great value for money. Come sleep with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Lastminute, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Qbic Hotel London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing