We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a NIGHTMARE.......”
Review of Manson Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manson Place
Ranked #50 of 860 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This place is a NIGHTMARE.......”
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We booked this place because our apartment in London is under renovation. The first think we sensed (apart the smell of the mountain of garbage located next to the mansion entrance door) was the lack of trust to these people. The second think we found out was that the mansions are popular to Indian families. That means that the smell from spicy food is the scent of the house. The floors are thin like paper, and the doors are slamming by themselves as if the property is tilting. The cleaning ladies will leave the same hair that you saw the first day you arrive until you leave the place (the curly one's from the previous client)!
Overall, we had to lock everything everyday, we had to complain, strongly only ones, but nothing happened!! We would never write a review if our daily charge was not 230£ in South Ken.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Stelios40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
130Queensgate, Owner at Manson Place, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
We are extremely sorry to learn of disappointing stays at this property but would like to thank reviewers for their candid feedback. We are serious about offering quality accommodation and excellent service. We are therefore investigating these matters with the full intention of rectifying any shortcomings. Please be assured of our attention in this regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    29
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
71
17
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Stayed 10 years ago and alas property has been sold and badly converted to squash in max no of visitors. Thus while lounge and kitchen quite liveable tho cheaply equipped bedrooms are yeeuch.Master has double bed so tightly squeezed in cannot have sidetable and bedside light on one side cos then couldn't open cupboards. Hangers in cupboard all bent out of shape wires from dry cleaners. Sleep 3 bedroom has squeezed in 1 double and single like furniture showroom. Bedside lamp and sidetable sit in corner quite unuseable by any one. Master bedroom's shower cubicle seems to have been fashioned from ex space under stairwell. A home to fungi and not even a soap caddy. Separate bath along corridor took 15 mins to fill adequately.. Ridiculous tiny bin in kitchen where no provisions made for late arrivals .i.e tea bags, a little milk, coffee granules, sugar. Caretaker amazed and apparently annoyed when we wanted to store luggage as our airport departure later than 12pm checkout time. Even more annoyed when we asked to use toilet prior to our airport pickup. Sighing deeply, led us to loo in office not very clean or appealing. is this such an outlandish request? Maid service every 2 days - they were sweet when we met them. Want to stress our booking was for 7/8 Manson Place which cannot find on internet. Go to London fairly often and this is by far the worst place we've stayed in and never again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CapeTownMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

These apartments are NOTHING like the website portray. The service was ZERO, we had to wait outside the building and make 5 phone calls to get someone to hand the keys over (after we were assured we would met at the building after our 6am arrival from Australia !!), it was after 9.20am that we had anyone arrive.
Our apartment was filthy when we arrived, cleaners had to come and spend 3hrs cleaning while we waited AGAIN, (kitchen utensils were full of old burnt on food).
Lounge stuffing was hanging out of cushions making it extremely uncomfortable to sit on...after the second day we went out to coffee shops and the local library to sit comfortably for an hour or two.
The 'manager'/handy man didn't speak english and seemingly hadn't a clue what was supposed to happen with payments etc but, he explained VERY WELL when he wanted me to leave a $500 'SECURITY/CLEANING BOND' !!!!!!!!!!!!!! which I refused to do.
I am appalled that a company such as LOVING LONDON APARTMENTS can falsely advertise these apartments and get away with it !!...shocking isn't a strong enough word to describe the whole dealing with the company and I for one would NEVER RECOMMEND them to anyone I know or meet that is going to London.
I would have expected to pay the price we did for a 5star serviced establishment not a place that is badly in need of an upgrade as Manson Place apartments does and cleanliness that leaves a lot to be desired to say the least.

Location was great, just a short few minutes walk to South Kensington tube station and a pleasant 15 minute walk to Kensington High Street, there are quite a few nice restaurants around the area and a small Tesco just around the corner, pub and flower shop, and a very nice cupcake shop.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank theramble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Pluses:

Very roomy, good standard furniture, clean, well preserved, excellent location (lots of varied restaurants very near, tube station 4 minutes walk away, at the end of a cul de sac so very quiet), very nice and helpful manager (David).

Minuses:
The management requires a refundable "security deposit" of PS250 on arrival to cover any mishaps in the property (which coupled with a letter mentioning staining etc while the management does not go through the flat with you before you enter it to check anything pre existing, gave us some-ultimately unfounded- worries that we would have difficulty in getting our money back.
The rules regarding the servicing of the flat are quite strict (eg dont leave rubbish anywhere other than the kitchen even in bins etc).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CARTEMIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Stayed for a week in a 2 bedroom flat - We were traveling with 2 kids ages 5 and 7. Would definitely recommend it - That flat was very well set up with full washing machine, kitchen with everything you need, and the living areas are great. The on-site manager was also very helpful... Location is excellent - About 5 mins easy walk to South Kensington tube. Also very close to the V&A museum, Natural History Museum, Scient Museum, Harrods, plenty of shops.

There was a bit of noise from the flat above, and it was quite hot when we first arrived, but otherwise very good.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jax1157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We have just spent a month in this lovely 3 bedroomed apartment. Although there was no airconditioning the windows allow a tremendous draft through the apartment and we never felt that we needed airconditioning. The living area was nice and spacious and light.
At night it could get noisy but if one closes the windows and puts on the fan to get a other constant noise we found that the outdoor noises did not bother us anymore. It is hectic London after all.
There are two tubes within 3 - 5 min walk from the apartment. South Kensington station and Gloucester station. GREAT location.
Only negative is that we had 2 travellers in our party who are very sensitive to dust. They had a very difficult time with dust allergies and could not get near to the blankets or cushions without their eyes streaming. It seems that the carpets do not get thoroughly deep cleaned ever and the blankets need a good cleaning against the dust. If this could be rectified we would be back here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bugzPaarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Manson Place apartments are great if you are an independent traveller and don't need the help or hassle of staying in a hotel. We hired a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment on the 1st floor (with access to the balcony) for a week. It was serviced every second day. With grandma, one child and one teenager in tow the apartment was just big enough for the five of us, but much roomier and more comfortable than a hotel. Cable tv and free wifi was a bonus! We stayed during a very hot spell in July but friends have stayed in the same apartment in freezing January and also found it very comfortable. Great to have a working kitchen with washer / dryer. Plenty of restaurants and take away options nearby; enjoyed dinner at the gastro pub the Anglesea Arms. The location is very central but at the end of a dead-end street, so no through traffic. Near both South Kensington and Gloucester Road tubes - very handy from Heathrow as on the same line. We booked a night ahead as we arrived at 8 am after a 24 hour flight from Australia. Only drawback was Reception only open from 9 am - 9 pm but we checked out the great local coffee shops and then the apartment was ready for us at 9 am. Lots of great attractions and shopping in walking distance - Albert Hall, Kensington Palace, Natural History Museum, V&A, Harrods, Chelsea, Buckingham Palace and Hyde Park. Planning already for next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelwithkidsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
130 Queen's Gate
130 Queen's Gate
#436 of 1,069 in London
201 reviews
South Kensington
Adria Boutique Hotel
Adria Boutique Hotel
#526 of 1,069 in London
191 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Court Apartments
Ashburn Court Apartments
#668 of 1,069 in London
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#143 of 1,069 in London
631 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#147 of 1,069 in London
850 reviews
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manson Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manson Place

Property: Manson Place
Address: 7-8 Manson Place | South Kensington, London SW7 5LT, England (Formerly Manson Place Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 860 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manson Place 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, space, comfort, and a quiet location: Manson Place in South Kensington, offers 14 spacious Serviced Apartments in a prime central London location. Located in a quiet street away from the main roads, this neo-classical style London townhouse is a short walk from London's world famous trio of museums: The Natural History, The Science and the Victoria & Albert. Hyde Park, the Royal Palaces and South Kensington tube station. Also, within easy reach are the iconic shopping districts of busy Oxford Street and designer Knightsbridge with Harrods and Harvey Nichols department stores. Manson Place offers a choice of spacious One and Two Bedroom apartments, with Standard and Superior options, and for added comfort and luxury, a Three Bedroom Suite. All the apartments are east and west facing, designed to maximise light and include modern furnishings, quality audio-visual entertainment systems, and a fully fitted Kitchen. Daily housekeeping and a 24-Hour Concierge service is available for individual requests and additional security. Manson Place Serviced Apartments provide spacious, comfortable accommodation in a quiet and convenient central London location - ideal for business, leisure and extended stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manson Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manson Place Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing