We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Manson Place apartments”
Review of Manson Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manson Place
Ranked #57 of 929 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I stayed at 7 -8 Manson Place in apartment 14 from January 6 until February 3 ,2013.
I had a most enjoyable stay ,thanks to the friendly manager David and his team of cleaners,who serviced the apt every second day.
The apt is comfortable and very conveniently situated in South Kensington ,just around the corner from the Old Brompton road with its multitude of restaurants and small supermarkets and an easy walk to the larger Waitrose at the Gloucester road tube station..
The apartment is to be refurnished soon and this will enhance its appeal .
I am happy to recommend this type of accomodation which is self catering but with cleaning service and change of linen and towels every second day. Robert from Sydney, Australia

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2012

Unlike some of the other reviews on Tripadvisor, we, as a family of 5 found the place, a welcome home with a central location rather posh locality right next to famous museums - A boon for the traveller. We were in Apartment No. 6 which is on the Ground Floor with a nice living room, decent kitchen and two bedrooms. The concierge David added a big personal touch by his constant presence. Alternate days cleaning by two smiling ladies with fresh linen. In fact, what more could we want other than a cosy, homely quiet place (Due to dead end street), all the amenities few minutes away. We had a regular visit to Christies auctions, also few minutes walk. South Kensington Tube Station was Ten minutes walking distance. So we must say we enjoyed our stay thanks to Manson Place Management and would love to be back there..

Room Tip: Please Choose Ground Floor being the most spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SABA0SARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We were very happy with our studio apartment. Coming back to a warm place at the end of a cold and rainy day out in London was just great. Initially I was a bit disappointed with the standard of the apartment, a bit tired with scuff marks on walls, etc, but overlooking that, and after settling in for a self catering week in London, with supermarkets nearby, it was fine. Location is fabulous, near South Kensington Station, which is also on the line to Heathrow if you need to catch a flight. You can walk to the Royal Albert Hall, the V&A museum, the Science Museum and Harrods, and the parks. As mentioned in another review, some guidance on regulating the central heating and oven would be good. The room was spacious, and having fresh towels and linen every second day, with a general clean up was nice. The manager was very helpful, and carried luggage downstairs for us, as there is no lift down to the studio. I would suggest a coat of paint might be in order and some pot plants in the small courtyard might brighten the apartment up. The apartment is in a quiet, safe area, and lots of restaurants nearby in South Kensington.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CSS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed in Flat 12 on the 3rd floor and had a comfortable stay in a reasonably well equipped apartment. This is an apartment block, not a 4 or 5 star hotel and expectations have to be tailored accordingly.
There is a secure entry system with a small lift to the upper floors. Keys to biulding and flat are provided.
Flat 12 consists of a small hall with living/dining room, kitchen, bathroom and one bedroom. On arrival the apartment was very much as advertised on the various websites where photos give a fair impression of size and decor. The flat is also equipped as described.
The kitchen and living room are equipped for someone looking to self-cater with good quality appliances. Instructions for the appliances are however in short supply and trial & error is required with oven and television/dvd. Instructions for the central heating would also be useful.
The bathroom is generally clean but there are signs of mould and the toilet seat is wooden and could do with being replaced with something more hygienic. Water pressure from the taps is not great (maybe because of drought restrictions) but there is very good power to the shower.
In the bedroom there is a comfortable bed with sheets and blanket (no duvet), and a good amount of storage space. The room safe in the wardrobe is rather small and could not take a laptop or SLR camera.
Cleaning and bedding/towel change was every other day as advertised with the cleaning being done to a very acceptable standard.
I had a comfortable stay in a flat that more than fulfilled my expectations. This is not a hotel and does not provide that level of service or facilities, but it does provide what it claims. For me that was more than good enough.

Room Tip: There are no 'views' but upper floor flats do at least have sunlight. Avoid the lower ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JayTeeScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Not as web site appears stay away... NIGHTMARE! The staff are uninformed and not helpful!!! This place is owned/managed by Maykenbel Properties. I would be cautious of their other properties as well.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
13  Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

These apartments are in a London property formerly leased by Morgan Stanley Dean Witter. The apartments are extremely well located, being 5-6 minutes from South Kensington Underground; 2 minutes from the Anslow Gardens bus stop (C1 bus to Harrods) and right in the middle of a very active neighborhood of young college students, young professionals, and long-term London residents. There are restaurants galore and just about any other service one may need. Two "express" groceries are within one block. The building is in good shape; showing its age, but not a dump. The values are incredible for the space vs. hotel rooms in the immediate area (it is right around the corner from the Kensington Hotel). Kitchens are well equipped; bathrooms spacious. Bedrooms mostly double beds or two singles. Some apartments have balconies or courtyards, a definite plus you never find in a London hotel. The lift does not go to the lower ground level, where there are two one bedroom apartments and one studio apartment. Can be a bit of a drag if you have a lot of luggage, or have difficulty with steps. Overall, these are very well priced units and have tons of space vs. hotels in London, have very good every other day maid service, and a very attentive on-site manager who is on duty from 9 am to 9 pm. Security is very high and the building is on a dead end street, lots of light.

Room Tip: Do not drive in London.....there is on-street parking, but only by permit. So driving to the apartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HETSCHHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We booked this place because our apartment in London is under renovation. The first think we sensed (apart the smell of the mountain of garbage located next to the mansion entrance door) was the lack of trust to these people. The second think we found out was that the mansions are popular to Indian families. That means that the smell from spicy food is the scent of the house. The floors are thin like paper, and the doors are slamming by themselves as if the property is tilting. The cleaning ladies will leave the same hair that you saw the first day you arrive until you leave the place (the curly one's from the previous client)!
Overall, we had to lock everything everyday, we had to complain, strongly only ones, but nothing happened!! We would never write a review if our daily charge was not 230£ in South Ken.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Stelios40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
130Queensgate, Owner at Manson Place, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

We are extremely sorry to learn of disappointing stays at this property but would like to thank reviewers for their candid feedback. We are serious about offering quality accommodation and excellent service. We are therefore investigating these matters with the full intention of rectifying any shortcomings. Please be assured of our attention in this regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Ashburn Court Apartments
Ashburn Court Apartments
#692 of 1,078 in London
38 reviews
Knightsbridge
Claverley Court Apartments
Claverley Court Apartments
#512 of 1,078 in London
60 reviews
South Kensington
130 Queen's Gate
130 Queen's Gate
#452 of 1,078 in London
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#30 of 1,078 in London
3,042 reviews
South Kensington
Cheval Harrington Court
Cheval Harrington Court
#5 of 929 in London
309 reviews
South Kensington
Cheval Gloucester Park
Cheval Gloucester Park
#2 of 929 in London
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manson Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manson Place

Address: 7-8 Manson Place | South Kensington, London SW7 5LT, England (Formerly Manson Place Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 929 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £221 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manson Place 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, space, comfort, and a quiet location: Manson Place in South Kensington, offers 14 spacious Serviced Apartments in a prime central London location. Located in a quiet street away from the main roads, this neo-classical style London townhouse is a short walk from London's world famous trio of museums: The Natural History, The Science and the Victoria & Albert. Hyde Park, the Royal Palaces and South Kensington tube station. Also, within easy reach are the iconic shopping districts of busy Oxford Street and designer Knightsbridge with Harrods and Harvey Nichols department stores. Manson Place offers a choice of spacious One and Two Bedroom apartments, with Standard and Superior options, and for added comfort and luxury, a Three Bedroom Suite. All the apartments are east and west facing, designed to maximise light and include modern furnishings, quality audio-visual entertainment systems, and a fully fitted Kitchen. Daily housekeeping and a 24-Hour Concierge service is available for individual requests and additional security. Manson Place Serviced Apartments provide spacious, comfortable accommodation in a quiet and convenient central London location - ideal for business, leisure and extended stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Manson Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manson Place Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing