We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”
Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #18 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Having booked a Junior Suite through the hotel's website, we were looking forward to our brief stay at the Soho. We had called in advance to ask for a late checkout, which was helpfully granted without any argument.

But when we arrived, the receptionist cheerfully told us that we'd been upgraded. Also, as we were celebrating my birthday, we were handed some vouchers for Champagne at the hotel bar. While waiting for the room to be made ready, we went for a walk around the local streets, and borrowed some umbrellas from reception.

When we got back to the hotel, we were led to the room, which was actually an apartment. Two bedrooms, a kitchenette, two bathrooms, TVs all over the place, and enormous windows down one wall of the extremely long main room. It was fantastic. The photos don't do it justice.

Everything in the room and the communal areas of the hotel seemed to be spotless and fresh, including the comfortable ground-floor lounge, and stylish bar. Every staff member we encountered offered a friendly greeting and a smile, and wanted to know if there was anything they could do to help us enjoy our stay.

Some time around midnight, after spending the evening out and about, we called in to the hotel bar for our Champagnes, and it was bustling with life. Cocktails seemed popular, as did Champagne. It was a nice place to have a couple of drinks, though it was a bit of a culture shock after the last pub of the night, which was the (fairly) nearby Norman's Coach & Horses (Google it...)

The hotel is very well-located for the bars, pubs and theatres of Soho and Leicester Square, and a shortish walk from the Seven Dials and Covent Garden shopping areas. It's also only a couple of minutes form Oxford Street. You have a choice of tube stations, with Leicester Square and Piccadilly Circus both being 10 minutes' walk. Tucked away in a back-street, there was no noticeable noise outside the hotel, despite being in the middle of one of London's liveliest areas. So sleeping was a breeze.

Although we were very fortunate to get such a fantastic upgrade, the general feel of this hotel (tasteful, comfortable but sufficiently modern and fresh) means we'll almost certainly return to it next time we stay in London, albeit in a less spectacular room.

My only minor gripe is that in rooms costing up to £2000 a night, they still charge for internet access. It's surprising how many hotels still do this. In this age, it's a bit like charging to use the TV.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,038 - 1,044 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2011

I have stayed about 10 times now and just cannot see changing hotels because it is nearly perfect. The rooms are beautifully designed with plenty of storage, wifi, a good working desk, good bedside tables and a small table that works for room servie, tho just barely. Bathroom is large with a shower and tub and two sinks, lots of counter room.Housekeeping and room service is so quick and efficient, you better have your robe handy if you call!
I have always loved the two lounge rooms, with an honor bar and it is way quieter for guests than the bar. Sometimes though it can get too noisy with outside groups who take over large portions of the room.
The concierge service (headed by the wonderful Sandro) and front desk service is always next to perfect, getting information, tickets, getting your key, getting packages, and always remembering your name. I just won't change hotels as long as they keep this up!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicago60604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Love everything about this hotel! The lobby is cool and hip with great staff. We stayed one night and wish we would have booked a longer stay. We had five junior suites booked and they upgraded all of our rooms at check in, one soho suite, two apartments, two terrace suites. All of them were beyond our expectations, everyone employee was nice and helpful, the rooms were clean and well kept.

This hotel was in a great location for us. I could see its lack of street presence being an issue for some. The “Refuel Bar & Restaurant” were great, the food was well priced and truly great tasting! The bar was HUGE with the largest selection I have seen in such a long time… it was refreshing!

Book it!

Room Tip: Book a Junior Suite, and ask for an upgrade on check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burrowbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This was my third stay at the Soho Hotel and it is still a fabulous hotel for serivce, location and comfort. The rooms are beautifully decorated and have a lovely welcoming feel to them after a busy day in London. The service is always efficient and staff are consistently eager to please.

The rooms have not deteriorated at all in the 3 years I have been visiting, in fact, I would consider them to be one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in. The bathrooms are an excellent size with luxurious amentities.

the hotel has a funky appeal to it and the restaurant/bar area is usually always busy in the evenings with a great atmosphere, albiet, not the place for a quiet relaxing dinner.

I would highly recommend The Soho Hotel to any discerning traveller.

Room Tip: This is a great location in the centre of London. You are walking distance to many theatres and gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My husband wanted to stay in the middle of the city, so, based on previous reviews in TripAdvisor, he chose The Soho. It is certainly in the middle of Soho! We arrived at approximately 6:00pm on a Friday, so, the area was starting to liven up. But, it was great. We stayed at The Soho for a week and it was just lovely to come back to each day after walking miles around London. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the decor is fantastic, the bed linen is lovely and it was just terrific to have the room serviced twice a day. We would go out at night for dinner, to the theatre and always our room would have been serviced, towels replaced, all toiletries replenished, bottled water left when we returned. It was also very nice to have a lounge and a "library" where one can relax and help oneself to a drink by way of an honour system. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kezza49_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This is my second stay at the Soho Hotel and it was just as wonderful as my first.

-very good service, helpful and friendly
- interesting, comfortable interiors--public and rooms
-best hotel breakfast anywhere
-delicious healthy options
-wonderful beds/linens
-wonderful large bathroom with nice products
-as centrally soho as you can get, walk everywhere
-excellent spa--book ahead on weekends

Room Tip: Big weekend discounts for lovely rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gandaratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Stayed here a few times and always find the staff fantastic. Great restaurant and they were most obliging when we arrived back late from a show , we were still made to feel very welcome despite the fact the kitchen was about to close

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darreng422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#41 of 1,077 in London
2,392 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#23 of 1,077 in London
1,865 reviews
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#20 of 1,077 in London
644 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#14 of 1,077 in London
2,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £268 - £691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing