We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay at the Soho”
Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #20 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“excellent stay at the Soho”
Reviewed 2 January 2008

We stayed for 3 nights at the Soho based on its rating on this website. We had a great time. We had a deluxe room which was very nice, very spacious and was very well finished . We were only on the first floor over reception but sound proofing was good. We had a 3 day
weekend package which reduced the rate by £65 a night and included breakfast which was one of the best I have had.

The bar and restaurant are nicely done and the staff couldn't do enough for you.

There was a small gym which we used a couple of times. There are also a couple of lounges which again are very comfortable.

Its in a very good location off Dean Street and had a great mixed crowd of people in it at all times.

Its not cheap but it is just what you want from a city hotel and is well worth top spot

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LeedsAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,237
    191
    31
    9
    9
See reviews for
203
709
88
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2007

In the past 6 months, I have stayed at the Soho an average of 15 days per month, so I'm virtually a resident of the hotel. Because I am away from home so much, consistency of cleanliness and service are very important to me.

The Soho is in impeccable shape; the physical plant is well-maintained. As wonderful as the facilities are however it's the staff that really makes the hotel stand out. From top to bottom, the Soho staff is gracious, attentive, expedient and down-to-earth.

My only reluctance to wholeheartedly recommend this hotel is my worry of over competition for a room.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank briane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2007

This hotel is definately the best place to stay in if you visit London and you need to be located in the heart of the city but in a quiete corner.

The rooms are lovely decorated with beautiful marble bathroom, stunning shower and comfortable bath tub.

First calss toiletry line and plus two small bottles of relaxing or energizing organic oils to be used according the time of the day or your mood.

Rooms are very spacious, which is a big plus for London, immaculated decor and lovely smell.

The communal areas are beautiful too, even the library or the living room provide a cosy atmosphere yet elegance and relaxing with an attentive service by the smiling waiters who don't invade your privacy but still ready when you need something.

To be definately underlined is the staff at the reception.
A young and professional team is at your entire disposal for
all your requests, from dinner reservation to the tickets's concert nothing is too much trubles.

One Sunday night I needed a taxi which was almost impossible to find, one gentleman from the reception took me to the main street awaiting with me taxi without leaving me alone in the middle of the street, even if the area is very safe, what a style.
He probably get a cold the day after ;-)
Before that I was standing at the reception awaiting for the cab and I have assisted to a very imbarassing situation about a drunk american, let say, lady complaining and screening like mad about the delay of the taxi, the way the same gentleman managed this pathetic women was very professional.well done.

I travel quite a lot and is not easy to me to find a lovely place like this, with an good balancing between the service, the location the decor and the human touch.

well done.

AC

  • Liked — RvV
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank londonsoonagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2007

Terrific spot in central/w. london wit ha great bar and a cinema in the hotel!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank sfjimmy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2007

What a great hotel!
We have stayed twice at the sister hotel, Covent Garden Hotel, and loved it.
This time we wanted to try something else,
and we were not disappointed.
From the minute we entered the reception we felt very well looked after.
The room was very nice, roomy and clean.
The breakfast is awesome, and the bar is really good.
And we find it very convenient with the drawing room and the honesty bar concept.
The hotel is located in the middle of Soho,
walking distance to almost everything.
Theatres, shopping, lots of great small restaurants around.

We will definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KirDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2007

Perfect reception, very nice rooms, extremely well appointed, beautiful bathroom, great shower, excellent TV, perfect size, cozy and interesting. Nice loby, excellent breakfast, nice atmosphere, lovely restaurant - food not that great but fine in room service, friendly and efficient staff, a great experience.

  • Liked — the staff makes you feel like you are at home
  • Disliked — the price of internet access !
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OlivierReykjavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2007

I've stayed, at this hotel, several times and have stayed at a number of Firmdale properties -- this is, by far, their best.

Great public spaces; smart decor; great service and the restaurant was fantastic. Love how they provide the NYTimes (folio size and double sided).

  • Liked — they always remember my name
  • Disliked — friday & saturday nights; the area can get shady.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gcosta58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,069 in London
2,216 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#17 of 1,069 in London
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#40 of 1,069 in London
889 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#8 of 1,069 in London
794 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
2,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Property: The Soho Hotel
Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing