We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay”
Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #21 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We had our second stay at the Soho over the New Years holiday and it was another great experience. (Feel free to check out my prior review from a few months back.)

We again booked a Junior Suite, this time requesting a room on a floor higher than 2. The hotel accommodated our request no problem and as a result we had more to look at out the windows.

As with the prior stay, the room was large with a sitting area with couch and chairs, a desk and a very large and comfortable bed. Of the 4 hotels we stayed at during this trip, the Soho’s bed won for comfort, hands down. Bath was again great with double sinks, separate tub and shower.

On this stay, we did make sure to get massages which were nice. However, the hotel really does not have a separate spa. The treatment rooms, although fully equipped, are just off the gym and were a bit noisier than we would have liked. It was also clear that the spa treatments are subcontracted out and the process was not as seamless as you might hope, though booking the appointment was extremely easy (handled by the Concierge).

The Concierge crew was also very helping in booking transportation which was important as one of the nights we were there was New Year’s Eve and certain road were restricted. The Concierge was very good about researching the issues and getting us where we wanted to go and back.

I won’t reiterate all of my prior detail about the design, etc.

In short, we had another great stay and highly recommend the Soho.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahInSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,196
    187
    31
    9
    9
See reviews for
190
690
87
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I tagged along with my husband on a business trip to London and stayed at the Soho Hotel for the first time (we had previously stayed at Firmdale's Knightsbridge Hotel). The service is ridiculously over the top accommodating - almost as notable as just how lovely the hotel itself is. We stayed in a deluxe junior suite the first two days and switched to a smaller room for the last 2 -- I would definitely stay spring for the suites -- the regular rooms are, ummm, petite (but still beautiful and functional). We were able to get 10% off from some design hotels discount, so it would be good to look into that before your trip. You can't beat the location. The room service is excellent. One of the warmest, most service-oriented hotels I have ever visited. I will certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kannm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Was in london over new years combing business with a little fun to hang out with some relatives and participate in some lively shenanigans and thought the soho looked very nice from their website.

Well the website does not do this place justice. Great staff, wonderful room (got a junior suite) which was very large and comfortable. Great bathroom with really nice water pressure.

The hotel is really clean, the staff eager and friendly and the bar/restaraunt area really, really lively.

It's not cheap but then again nothing in london is but you certainly don't feel as if you're over paying as the whole experience makes the price worth it.

My one complaint if you could call it that is that the bed is almost too comfortable. I found it really hard to get out of bed in the mornings and could have spent the entire day being a lazy slob just lounging but London is not the city for that.

Have one night in london coming up, and won't be staying at the soho for that quicky but for my next week long trip to London I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Just go for it and get the junior suite you won't be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramblinAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I stayed at the Soho for 5 nights during a business trip; office was about a 15 minute walk which was nice. While the room , a jr suite was very nice, clean and comfortable, there were a few things that bored me: not enough outlets to charge all of ones devices. I used the one at the desk for my iPad but had to awkwardly charge my bl'berry on the night stand which was very small and cluttered. Bathrooms were nice,esp the beautiful tub but that boring granite that's everywhere! For a designer hotel, they couldn't come up with something more attractive? But the main complaint - even tho there were 2 sinks which is nice, there was little if any space to put one's toiletries. And the magnifying mirror which I need because I'm nearsighted, was a tiny thing way down on the sink that you had to crouch to use. An afterthought no doubt. I had to go back and forth to the closet mirror so that I could see what I was doing. For $450 a night, this should not happen. But there were very nice features- the included breakfast was very good, healthy and full of options. The ability to open the windows of a hotel room is always a plus; service overall was friendly and attentive, the Refuel restaurant was good and I felt comfortable as a woman traveling alone, eating there. The decor in the sitting areas was a refreshing change but sometimes it seemed to be trying too hard and didn't always come together in a cohesive way. At least not for me. Having said all of that, I think I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noraknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This hotel is moments away from everything we wanted - Oxford street for shopping, covent garden markets for street artists, pubs and clubs and the west end for a show.

Every member of staff was warm and personable. We updraded to a delux junior suite and loved it's spacious feel and modern yet functional decor. The bed was huge and comfy.

Facilities here are wonderful. The bar/restaurant was an enjoyable place to be and buzzing with people and atmosphere. The guest library and lounge are also worth a visit for a little something on a rainy wintert day when you want to hide fron London's weather!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flashpacker001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I often stay at the Soho Hotel when I travel to London. The staff is so nice and helpful, all the rooms are exquisite and have different designs. The bar is often crowded and has a really good feel. The cocktails are amazing and the location is absolutly the best.
The only "downside" might be the breakfast that isn't as good as all the rest so you would expect great food but it's still pretty good.
I have been going for a few years and will continue on my numerous trips to London.
I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tissiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My wife booked us in overnight as a treat on my birthday.
We had the penthouse which was absolutely Amazing!!! Huge room and living space, which led out onto an equally huge private terrace.
I'm from London so dont tend to stay in hotels in town but, have nothign but good thinkgs to say about this place.
Breakfast in Bed was great as is the bar for evenign drinks.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clappo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#35 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#8 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Property: The Soho Hotel
Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#21 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing