We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location for a corporate film night”
Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
Ranked #18 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The Soho, like several of Firmdale's hotels has its own screening rooms in the basement and the smaller theatre with its cow-hide armchairs is just the right place to give guests a stunning night at the movies. We used it to screen Skyfall to an excited group of 35 or so and prior to the film we had used the adjoining Crimson Bar for suitably Bond-themed cocktails, food and an opportunity to mix and chat. Organisation before the event was efficient and professional. Attention and service on the night was exemplary. The result was a triumph - 35 very happy guests, well impressed and extremely happy. It also helps that above the screening rooms you have one of Soho's chicest hotels with enormous rooms, beds to sleep for a month in and a team that from reception to housekeeping could give so-called luxury hotels an hour long start and still beat them in a 100 metre dash! You really cannot fault any aspect of the attention Firmdale people give you whether you are there on your own, or like us with a group of 40 people in total.

And of course being in the middle of Soho, the hotel attracts all kinds of film and TV people - so it shouldn't have felt that spooky that next morning at breakfast one of the stars of Skyfall - Ralph Fiennes was sitting at the next table! Cool or what?

Just stop charging for wi-fi!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are large and comfortable, but higher floors give better views over the roofs of So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue-and-Steve-Ascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

868 - 874 of 1,496 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

what an amazing hotel, this has to be THE place to stay in London. Comfortable, stylish and so very quiet for being right in the middle of Soho. What makes this hotel is the staff, friendly, smiley, nothing too much trouble. There is a really relaxed vibe, so unlike other stuffy hotels in this price range. this will now be my hotel of choice for London trips.

Room Tip: Some of the 5th floor rooms have terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We booked a Junior Suite and were not disappointed. I have stayed at The Covent Garden Hotel in the past and kind of knew what to suspect but was still pleasantly suprised. I mentioned that it was my 50th birthday and they offered a bottle of Champagne in the lounge along with some pre dinner nibbles.
The room was large and extremly well apointed. We needed some extra space as I knew that friends would be dropping in and the added space was just what the doctor ordered. The only drawback was that the only view from the expansive windows was the building next door.
Breakfast was slighlty weired in that we had booked a weekend package that included the English Breakfast. The waiter on the first day said that if we wanted anything of the buffet table like cereal or pastries then that would be extra? The difference was only 2 pounds maybe it was lost in translation!
The location is perfect right in the heart of Soho. Lots of goings on and some great restos close by. I normally stay in Mayfair at The Connaught but in terms of style and value for money I would have to vote for Soho. Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We booked the queen room for our anniversary and when we arrived we were upgraded to one of Their self contained apartments, I did not know they had these as could not find them to book, it was great we had a huge bathroom, sofa, dining table and fully functioning kitchen with own exit to street, was bit noisy as night but the bed was so comfy and soft, the apartments are well worth a stay in

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlielouise1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Just stayed here with my husband, we had afternoon tea and stayed in a superior room - which is their most "basic". Our stay was absolutely wonderful. Room was beautiful and very spacious for a London hotel. Miller Harris toiletries smell divine. Hotel has the efficiency of service and facilities you would expect from a business hotel but without the bland corporate atmosphere. Seriously impressed by the friendliness and care taken by the staff to ensure you enjoy your stay. I couldn't recommend staying here more and the fact that it has some of London's finest restaurants and bars on its doorstep doesn't hurt either! Book here and enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The Soho Hotel is a great choice in London.
It's a modern and special hotel.
I booked a junior suite which was very spacious and clean. Both the room and the bathroom were tastefully decorated, modern and colorful. There were many colors, patterns and designs. It creates an eclectic but never vulgar or excessive style.
Also the common areas were good and I enjoyed the breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EgorVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I recently stayed at London's Soho Hotel and it was incredible. I am a devout Firmdale hotels fan, it all started with The Crosby Hotel in New York. Well, this is the original deal...the one that the Crosby was modelled after. Wonderful rooms, beautifully decorated (in true Kit Kemp style), warm service...all nestled in the heart of Soho. Rooms on 3rd floor or higher would be best for view and natural light. I highly recommend staying here, it's worth the extra pounds. A personal favourite was the Botero sculpture in the lobby. Thank you to the Soho team for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Go for 3rd floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#36 of 1,076 in London
2,293 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#15 of 1,076 in London
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,076 in London
820 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#16 of 1,076 in London
1,785 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,076 in London
2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £309 - £1,558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing